1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is Zalman Vf1000 SLI compatible

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Fumega, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. Fumega New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, I've recently bought two MSI NX8800Ultra-T2D768E-HD-OC (8800 Ultra overclocked). The problem is that one card reaches 95/98 ºC at ease.
    Now I want to install a decent cooler, like Zalman VF1000, the problem is that I don't know if this cooler is SLI compatible (I'm worried about those two heatpipes will interfere with the SLI bridge:[​IMG]
    But as the 8800 ultra as two SLI inputs, maybe one is cleared:
    [​IMG]
    What do you think? Can I install Zalman VF1000 without trouble on my sistem?
    Regards
     
  2. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,913 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,797
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    the sli input you are using now should clear just fine.
     
    Fumega says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,562 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    TX, USA
    think you might need a bigger case with better air flow what case do you have looks like those cards just fit lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Fumega New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, thanks for the fast response, by the way, do you think that with VF1000 I'll gain a noticeable performance vs the 8800 ultra stock cooler?
    Regards.
     
  5. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,944 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,737
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah dude the only reason the one card is reaching 100C is because it has less than 1CM clearance from the bottom of the case. Even if you got the VF1000, it would still be overheating. Get an Antec 900 or something.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,353 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,909
    What if he just put a hole in the bottom of his case under the bottom card to allow the draw to come from under the case to that card? A bit cheaper than buying a whole new case. Then just cover the hole with modders mesh or something along those lines!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,913 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,797
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    no, i don't think you will, at least not right now. if you cleaned up the wiring in that case or got a bigger case you would definitely see a difference in temps, or you could just go all out and watercool everything...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Fumega New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No, the card that is overheating is the top one, the one in the bottom the max is 75 even with minimum clearance, when it was on top the max was around 69 / 72 max
    I changed positions because before because the "hotter one" reached above 100 bottom :(
     
  9. cowie

    cowie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    133 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    new jersey usa
    as you can see a hard type sli connecter will not work,but a soft one will.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Nope, there isnt enough cable length there... You WILL have to buy a super long SLI bridge for SLI to work.
     
    Fumega says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. cowie

    cowie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    133 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    new jersey usa
    well this normal size soft one from a p5n works,it the hard one ya get from evga that wont work.
     
  12. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I just installed a VF1000 on a 8800GTX last week mate and to tell you the truth the results were not all that great... If I were you I would go for the thermalright HR03's... They completely out perform the competition... Including the Zalmans...

    here is a review for you.. check out the graphs..

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Thermalright/HR-03Plus/4.html


    I was a huge fan of the VF900 coolers from zalman. I bought about 6 of em over the years and they were great but this new cooler just doesn't cut it imo..

    Just make sure you buy a good quality 120mm fan for the HR03 and you will have no probs at all...


    Oh yeah... And clean up that case of yours... lol
     
  13. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    No look, the second card is LEANING. You are putting the PCB under stress by bending it, this may cause it to shear off.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,913 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,797
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    that's not an ultra, the ultra has another sli connector between that one and the bracket, so YES, it will fit.
     
    Fumega says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. cowie

    cowie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    133 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    new jersey usa
    yes sry,pic showed a gts.

    it might be leaning but it works, its also on a tech station.
    not enuff to sheer???? any thing
     
  16. Fumega New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, I know that Thermalright HR-03 plus is far better, the problem is that I think they don't fit in my case (because the Tuniq, the HR-03 on top with the fan would hit the Tuniq), and I'm really not sure if there is enough space to put an Hr-03 with a fan on the 2ºnd card, look at this pic --> [​IMG]
    I really don't see any space to put a fan there...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)