1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ISP Providers, cost and usage

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by kyle2020, Jul 6, 2009.

1. kyle2020 Guest

Alright guys, im 17 and my parents seem to assume that im earning £30,000 a week because not only are they now charging me for electricity usage, but are now wanting me to pay towards the internet.

Questions:

1. On average, how much bandwith do you believe you use a month? My dad wants to cut our package down from unlimited to a 40GB plan, im not sure how much online games chew through etc.

2. Do you pay towards (if your around my age / still at home) any of the houses bills? Bear in mind im a student in full time education.

3. If you do run your own internet plan, and your in the UK (suggestions for the US will simply be ignored because your stupid), please highlight the details of the plan? Cost, bandwith allowance, etc?

10 Year Member at TPU
  2. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

just tell him to switch to o2 you can get unlimited for £7.50 a month if anyone in your household has an o2 sim (contract or pay and go) even if you dont its only £12.50 a month and i can hit upwards of 80 gb a month sometimes, cant fault o2 at all typically broadband is around £15-£20 from most isp's these days :toast:

10 Year Member at TPU
  3. MoonPig

MoonPig

Thanks Received:
    Well, we're on Virgin Media at the moment. Pings are poor, capped easily and customer service is pathetic.... but... it's expensive...

Gunna be moving to Sky when they setup in my area soon, getting the Broadband + Phone + SkyTV package - It's DAMN cheap.

Personally, i use more than 40GB a month, and i wouldn't like to have a restriction, but thats just me.

I don't pay towards any bills, but i buy things for the house. Like i built the family a MediaCenter with my own money when the 42" 1080p arrived abit ago. Stuff like that, so it works out good.