• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Issue with HD7950 Crossfire

HadesHW

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi all, I hope I'm not "doubling" any thread, anyways I'd ask if any other user had my same problem.
I recently paired my HD7950 with a second one, drivers are ok but there's a problem with GPU-Z: once I finished playing or benching (3DMarks & stuff), then I execute GPU-Z, the PC totally freezes, with no chance of unlocking it, forcing me to reboot with the reboot button.
Is it a driver problem or a GPU-Z problem?
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.23/day)
Likes
26,177
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
#2
Start off with a clean install of the drivers, usually gets rid of a bunch of little weird bugs like that. After that, you can always reinstall GPUz, which I've had to do at least once, just recently in fact with my cards
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#3
Do you have any other monitoring program running in background alongside GPU-Z?
It happens to me when I open GPU-Z and I have MSI Afterburner in the background, it is caused by two programs trying to read the same sensors at the same time :)
 

HadesHW

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Thanks for the reply guys, anyways, I already clean-installed drivers with CCleaner and Driver Sweeper (or what is called), and there's no difference if Afterburner is active or not, the PC simply freezes, no matter what I do... :\
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.23/day)
Likes
26,177
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
#5
Disable ulps?
 

HadesHW

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Do you have any other monitoring program running in background alongside GPU-Z?
It happens to me when I open GPU-Z and I have MSI Afterburner in the background, it is caused by two programs trying to read the same sensors at the same time :)
Oh Radrok I just noticed, sono italiano anche io ;)
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,727 (4.23/day)
Likes
26,177
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
#8
You have the latest version of GPUz?
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
743 (0.32/day)
Likes
332
Location
At the Pub
System Name Kaby Doll
Processor i5 7600K W.C.
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic W.C.
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli W.C.
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#9
The same thing was happening to me with my dual 6950s flashed 70s.

It would just randomly freeze up. I had to completly reset.

Ive got no idea what the fault was but i swapped out my mainboard and the problem went away.

Must be some sort of compatibility issue.

I tried every in the latest text book all to no avail.

Good luck. Let me know if you find anything. ;)
 

HadesHW

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
I reinstalled gpuz and closed trixx, and im not having any problem, tomorrow ill check whats the responsible, thanks for ur help!!