• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Issues with 7970 xfire and a single 7850 and 7950

Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#1
my system runs 790 xfire but I had issues couple of days ago with keyboard and the gpu. so far the keyboard issue has been fixed but the gpu issue has not been fixed, i first removed my drivers using uninstall a program and the driver cleaner pro and after a reboot i manually delete all other amd files and folders and registry. removed both gpu and reinstalled drkiver 13.1 and same thing happened, I did it again and installed 13.2 same thing. I went out to borrow a 7850 and a 7950 from friends of mine and the 7850 didn't work but the 7950 was working properly. I have yet to try with a nvidia gpu and with 12.11. after installing drivers and restarting pc, it keeps on saying a problem with directx 9.0 and saying that i have no drivers or I have no gpu in my system, which i'm running a 3930k so no way my monitor would open up (which i'm using now) if i had no gpu installed. oh and I can't seem to open ccc either.

edit: on device manager (i used to have this on my top pcie 3.0 but i put it at the 2nd vpcie 3.0) and I get a video controller (VGA)(Code 1) with the yellow icon and a unknown device (yellow icon)
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#2
edit: on device manager (i used to have this on my top pcie 3.0 but i put it at the 2nd vpcie 3.0) and I get a video controller (VGA)(Code 1) with the yellow icon and a unknown device (yellow icon)
try right clicking on the video card in device manager and select update driver. While I've never had your exact problem, doing that usually fixes whatever is wrong when I get those little yellow icons in device manager
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#3
edit: L=ol i didn't want to add more but to summarize it.

NO AMD Graphics Driver is installed or the AMD Driver is not functioning properly.
please install the amd driver appropriate to your AMD hardware.

so far I did made sure to separate both the 78xx and 79xx drivers and yes I doubled check, and yes i did redownloaded the amd 78xx driver and installed that, and then deleted it and redownloaded 79xx driver and installed it. same thing.

i uninstalled them on device manager. still getting same results installing drivers.


edit: actually i manually removed amd and ati files just now so i'm having a hard time trying to delete it on uninstall a program. how do i remove it there on the list?

edit: did a system restore so it will undo my uninstall on device manager but anyone else can help me?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#5
The 78** and 79** cards use the same driver, there is no specific driver for just the 78** cards or specific driver for just the 79** cards. Infact all AMD cards with fully updated drivers use the SAME driver. Did you atleast try what I suggested?
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#6
yes i click on browse but it didn't fix it and when I click look for online. it says it got a problem installing the drivers. I tried it with an older driver but still get the same results.

actually i'm doing the same thing

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502

on how I uninstall my drivers.

already got my directx updated too just a moment ago after deleting all drivers (currently got no drivers on my pc now)

Windows cannot start this hardware device because its configuration information (in the registry) is incomplete or damaged. (Code 19)
this is what I get on device manager.

tried removing the gpu earlier after uninstalling the gpu on device manager but after putting the gpu back it won't read it at all still get a yellow icon on other device (or is it supposed to be?) I can't remember if i installed the driver after that but I'll give it another try.

edit: if still no fix this coming weekend do you think I should take it up for warranty? well my 7970 I tried using either of them in singles same stuff happened.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#7
edit: edit: i tried switching to different pci-e 3.0 slots same thing happened on the 2nd one with code 1.

edit1: I uninstalled my amd drivers, removed them from registry, on safe boot driver sweeper. then ccleaner>shut down>removed gpu and put it to the 2nd pcie 3.0 slot> open pc, now installing 13.2>

then this appeared and I click OK

then after install i get error

device manager

ccc problem


of course this is done with a clean driver remove but sadly didn't work.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,589 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,825
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#8
There is a chance you've deleted some registry settings pertaining to DX or something other that the drivers require for the install.

Are you installing the NET framework Catalyst version? The previous 12.11's had the option for that.

Given how much you've been trying and deleting files, drivers and registry settings, I would suggest the Windows installation is possibly now missing files and this will cause a lot of issues.

If your PC is sparsely populated or your media etc is on a separate disc, I'd consider a fresh Windows install. But that's the last resort but 99.9% of the time should work.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#9
well I guess a fresh windows 7 installation is the last one I have in mind. I'll do it in a moment after eating, I'll let you guys know how things went about.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,293 (0.39/day)
Likes
570
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Asus X79 DELUXE
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB 2133 G skillz
Video Card(s) Asus 2 X 780TI DCII OC
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
#10
there is a chance you've deleted some registry settings pertaining to dx or something other that the drivers require for the install.

Are you installing the net framework catalyst version? The previous 12.11's had the option for that.

Given how much you've been trying and deleting files, drivers and registry settings, i would suggest the windows installation is possibly now missing files and this will cause a lot of issues.

If your pc is sparsely populated or your media etc is on a separate disc, i'd consider a fresh windows install. But that's the last resort but 99.9% of the time should work.

x2
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#11
yeah I guess I've really messed up the registry, sadly can't find my motherboard driver disk so i'm slowly downloading them one by one ahahahaha. and found my win7 ult disk now just need to wait for my mb driver to finish and do a fresh install hope this works. lol once it does I'll stick to one gpu driver and be done with it until I need to update it lo. I'll post here for the results and give thanks to everyone who tried to help ^_^.

edit: hey can one of you guys download this for me and upload?? i'm getting network error while downloading this Intel LAN Driver on msi website, and this too Realtek High Definition Audio Driver
http://www.msi.com/product/mb/X79A-GD65--8D-.html#/?div=Driver&os=Win7 64
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#12
lol just finished the format and installing and copying back all my files lol, that format fixed my problem XD

thank's everyone for all your help.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,589 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,825
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#13
Good to hear!

From now on you'll treat the registry with the terror and respect it deserves :laugh:
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2012
Messages
377 (0.18/day)
Likes
35
Location
Rizal, Philippines
System Name Poor Man's Build
Processor Intel i7 3960X 4.9Ghz Sandy Bridge E
Motherboard MSi X79A-GD65 8D
Cooling XSPC 240mm and 360MM (External) Rad
Memory 64Gb Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX770 SC ACX SLI (non water cooled yet)
Storage Intel 520 240GB SSD x2 /x2 WD Caviar Black 3TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache
Display(s) ASUS 27" 2560X1440 x3
Case Corsair 900D (upgraded from my lvl 10 gt and 600T)
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i 80PLUS Platinum
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (FPP)
#14
yeah I agree lol ahahahaha i might not even update any driver unless its too old or something starting today XD