• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

issues with Boot Loader

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#1
before you read this (I'm totally new at this whole Dual Booting thing) so don't hammer on me.

hi there,

installed Windows 7 Build 7100. eh... works great and looks wonderful but i have a few issues here. i can't seem to boot into Windows 7 without setting my Windows 7 Install Files Partition to Active in the Disk Management within Vista. when i restart the Boot Manager comes up and i am able to boot into Windows 7. now if i wanted to boot back into Vista i would have to active the Partition within Windows 7 and restart. all i'm wanting is to be able to boot from Vista and Windows 7 from the Boot Manager without having any errors with Windows 7 while accepting to Boot. i get a missing /ntldr File...


i have downloaded easyBCD and VistaBootPRO. i find both programs are way similar and do the same jobs. with vistaBootPRO it show Windows 7 and the Windows 7 Install Files Partitions have no direct path to any boot file thus here's the problem/issue of not it letting me boot. what do i have config'ed wrong?

Image of the entry for Windows 7 and Windows 7 Install Partition under VistaBootPRO



Note: i have added both the Windows 7 and Windows 7 Install Files Entries.

Here's the Disk Management screen shot in Vista

 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#2
esaay bcd has a repair boot loader and other boot loader options, its saved me back when i removed my second hard drive
 

OmegaAI

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
28
Location
Stuff
System Name Ataechetta 2.0
Processor 3570k @ 4.5GHz 1.312 24/7
Motherboard Z77 Sabertooth
Cooling H100 w/ 2 shroud + UK3K (exhausting out)
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Extreme 1600MHz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Asus HD6950 DCII w/ H50
Storage 60GB Force GT, 750x3 RAID5, 1TB, 2TB ext
Display(s) Acer G235H
Case CM 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Oboard.
Power Supply Seasonic X760
Software Windows 8 Pro
#3
Do this: Set your W7 drive as BOOT when you select it in BCD :D
 

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#4
advice didn't help...
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.89/day)
Likes
720
#5
i dont know what to offer other than using easy BCD, it has a repair function and you cna delete and recreate the bootloader

the installation disk might have a repair function on it like vista did
 

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#6
the installation disk might have a repair function on it like vista did
which disk are you referring to when you stated that? the Vista or Windows 7?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#7
the Windows 7 Disk Repair FIXED IT! Yay...