• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

issues with Boot Loader

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#1
before you read this (I'm totally new at this whole Dual Booting thing) so don't hammer on me.

hi there,

installed Windows 7 Build 7100. eh... works great and looks wonderful but i have a few issues here. i can't seem to boot into Windows 7 without setting my Windows 7 Install Files Partition to Active in the Disk Management within Vista. when i restart the Boot Manager comes up and i am able to boot into Windows 7. now if i wanted to boot back into Vista i would have to active the Partition within Windows 7 and restart. all i'm wanting is to be able to boot from Vista and Windows 7 from the Boot Manager without having any errors with Windows 7 while accepting to Boot. i get a missing /ntldr File...


i have downloaded easyBCD and VistaBootPRO. i find both programs are way similar and do the same jobs. with vistaBootPRO it show Windows 7 and the Windows 7 Install Files Partitions have no direct path to any boot file thus here's the problem/issue of not it letting me boot. what do i have config'ed wrong?

Image of the entry for Windows 7 and Windows 7 Install Partition under VistaBootPRO



Note: i have added both the Windows 7 and Windows 7 Install Files Entries.

Here's the Disk Management screen shot in Vista

 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#2
esaay bcd has a repair boot loader and other boot loader options, its saved me back when i removed my second hard drive
 

OmegaAI

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
368 (0.11/day)
Likes
28
Location
Stuff
System Name Ataechetta 2.0
Processor 3570k @ 4.5GHz 1.312 24/7
Motherboard Z77 Sabertooth
Cooling H100 w/ 2 shroud + UK3K (exhausting out)
Memory 16GB Patriot Viper Extreme 1600MHz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Asus HD6950 DCII w/ H50
Storage 60GB Force GT, 750x3 RAID5, 1TB, 2TB ext
Display(s) Acer G235H
Case CM 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Oboard.
Power Supply Seasonic X760
Software Windows 8 Pro
#3
Do this: Set your W7 drive as BOOT when you select it in BCD :D
 

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#4
advice didn't help...
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#5
i dont know what to offer other than using easy BCD, it has a repair function and you cna delete and recreate the bootloader

the installation disk might have a repair function on it like vista did
 

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#6
the installation disk might have a repair function on it like vista did
which disk are you referring to when you stated that? the Vista or Windows 7?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ASRockIQ

New Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
948 (0.29/day)
Likes
62
Location
Daphne, AL
System Name Watermark
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @3.3GHZ V1.4250
Motherboard ASRock A780GXE/128
Cooling XIGMATEK HDT-S963 | 4 Blue LED 120mm Fans 1 Regular 120mm
Memory G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) @850MHZ
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 1GB (@stock)
Storage 320GB OS | 160GB Storage
Display(s) ASUS VH236H 23" 1920x1080
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 590 (With Side Panel Window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 600W 12V Rail@44
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit Edition
#7
the Windows 7 Disk Repair FIXED IT! Yay...