• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

It is worth upgrading to these specs

Joined
Sep 25, 2019
Messages
80 (0.16/day)
Processor Intel Core i5-3570k @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard ASRock z77 Fatal1ty Professional-M
Cooling Corsair Hydro H90
Memory 16gb G.Skill Ripjaws X Series DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) MSI Armour GTX 1070Ti
Storage Seagate Barracudo 500 gb HDD
Case Corsair Obsidian 350d
Power Supply Corsair TX750
If all you need to spend is $300, then that will be a quality upgrade for you. Will it knock anyone's socks off? Nope, but you'll certainly see improvement.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2019
Messages
300 (0.45/day)
Location
Denmark - Aarhus
System Name Iglo
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz OC to 4400 mhz (Ivy Brigde)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 9 Socket 1155 LGA
Cooling 240 mm water
Memory 16 gb 2600 mhz ddr3
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC2 GAMING
Storage Ssd ´s in raid.
Display(s) BenQ XL2420Z
Case corsair obsidian 650d
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-2300 THX-Certified 2.1 Speaker
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum 550w
Mouse G900
Keyboard Hyper x
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores Super-PI 1M Time : 9,265 sec CPU-Z scores Version 2017.1 (x64) S-T 395 M-T 1945
I would try to sell the intel stuff and get a new ryzen cpu.
Imo the best investement you can do for small bugdet.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,014 (2.85/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 3900X, 3600XT, 2700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite, B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool CPU+GPU soft-tubing loop (Laing D5 360mm+140mm), AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17, 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16, 16GB HyperX 2400CL14
Video Card(s) 2070S, 5700XT, Vega10
Storage 1TB WD S100G, 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro, 1TB MX500, 500GB Hynix 2242 bastard thing, 16TB of rust + backup
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA, Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE, Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5, Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series, Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W, Corsair RM550, and a 45W Lenovo DC power brick, I guess.
Mouse G303, MX Anywhere 2, Another MX Anywhere 2.
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown), Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
The 1050 Ti should utterly destroy the 710 in game performance. Honestly just sticking that in your current rig would probably go a long way. That Xeon is still a decent chip it looks like.
This is the thing to do. The old Ivy Bridge Xeon you have isn't a disaster for modern gaming, it's just being held back by the GT 710.
Just make sure the existing HP Delta 400W power supply has a 6-pin PCIe power connector you can use.

There's no point trying to make the i5-7500 work. You'd need a new motherboard, power supply, DDR4, and possibly CPU cooler and if you were going to spend money on all of that, you shouldn't be wasting it on a measly 4C/4T CPU. I would expect you can get a Ryzen 5 2600 and B450 board for less with newer interfaces and better performance with 6C/12T.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
3,624 (0.88/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC /4790 fold&WCG /2700x fold&WCG/2700x full time WCG
Processor 3900X stock/ 4790K 4.4/2x2700x stock
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Master X570/Maximus Hero/2xMSI X470 M7 AC
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D15/ 2xNH-U12S SE
Memory G Skill Trident Z F4-4000C18D-16GTZ 3800 CL 16 /8 GB Corsair Vengance/2x16 GB XSkill Flare CL14
Video Card(s) 2070 Super X MSI/2070 Z/2060 X MSI + 2060 Ventus MSI/GTX 970 MSI
Storage 1 TB SSD / 480 GB SSD/2x250 GB SSD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2518D/2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / none/Lian test bench/NZXT 500 crap
Power Supply AX 850/AX 860/AX 860i/AX 760
Software Dual boot/Win 7/Linux for AMD
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
This is the thing to do. The old Ivy Bridge Xeon you have isn't a disaster for modern gaming, it's just being held back by the GT 710.
Just make sure the existing HP Delta 400W power supply has a 6-pin PCIe power connector you can use.

There's no point trying to make the i5-7500 work. You'd need a new motherboard, power supply, DDR4, and possibly CPU cooler and if you were going to spend money on all of that, you shouldn't be wasting it on a measly 4C/4T CPU. I would expect you can get a Ryzen 5 2600 and B450 board for less with newer interfaces and better performance with 6C/12T.
I checked one of the stores that was in OPs list. Egypt has a very limited supply/few options of hardware. i9400 and the newer Ryzens plus a few of the older ones in the lower end of the specter. My (limited) experience with HP and similar PCs is that they have an absolute minimum of 12V outputs and for sure none extra that wasn't needed it the original PC. There is no way of testing a higher spec GPU in the current build I will assume since a 710 GT is purely powered from the PCIe. I agree that a B450 and 2600 would be a good starting point for a build that could be built on. I can bring a CPU on my next visit to Egypt but nothing bigger.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2019
Messages
32 (0.04/day)
This is the thing to do. The old Ivy Bridge Xeon you have isn't a disaster for modern gaming, it's just being held back by the GT 710.
Just make sure the existing HP Delta 400W power supply has a 6-pin PCIe power connector you can use.

There's no point trying to make the i5-7500 work. You'd need a new motherboard, power supply, DDR4, and possibly CPU cooler and if you were going to spend money on all of that, you shouldn't be wasting it on a measly 4C/4T CPU. I would expect you can get a Ryzen 5 2600 and B450 board for less with newer interfaces and better performance with 6C/12T.
Yes the PSU does have a 6 pin but I'm afraid it stil won't handle the 1050 ti
Because it's the higher model of them the Asus strix and this thing is a beast


I checked one of the stores that was in OPs list. Egypt has a very limited supply/few options of hardware. i9400 and the newer Ryzens plus a few of the older ones in the lower end of the specter. My (limited) experience with HP and similar PCs is that they have an absolute minimum of 12V outputs and for sure none extra that wasn't needed it the original PC. There is no way of testing a higher spec GPU in the current build I will assume since a 710 GT is purely powered from the PCIe. I agree that a B450 and 2600 would be a good starting point for a build that could be built on. I can bring a CPU on my next visit to Egypt but nothing bigger.

That is very true mate we never get to enjoy online deals even Black Friday stuff is bullshit and fake in Egypt fake deals, I once built an PC on Amazon that's cost 2000$ the shipping and customs were 1450$
So if you want to build a pc that cost 1000 u have to pay 2000 also when are you visiting? :D
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
19,301 (4.77/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
1050 ti
Because it's the higher model of them the Asus strix and this thing is a beast
The 1050 ti is a budget card with power use around 75w (and way better than that 710). Those with 6-pin are a bit more, but not by much. Between the xeon cpu (~80-100W) and this card that system isnt drawing more than 200W maxed out..less gaming. I wouldnt worry about the psu so long as the overwhelming majority of wattage on that psu is on the 12v rail.. the label on the side should say how many watts/amps are there.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2019
Messages
32 (0.04/day)
The 1050 ti is a budget card with power use around 75w (and way better than that 710). Those with 6-pin are a bit more, but not by much. Between the xeon cpu (~80-100W) and this card that system isnt drawing more than 200W maxed out..less gaming. I wouldnt worry about the psu so long as the overwhelming majority of wattage on that psu is on the 12v rail.. the label on the side should say how many watts/amps are there.
Maybe you can let me know if that will work
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20191113_041741.jpg
    IMG_20191113_041741.jpg
    4.9 MB · Views: 79
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
914 (0.88/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIII.5
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PLUS WiFi
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate, 5x Cryorig XF140 fans
Memory 2x16GB Team T-Force Dark Z DDR4-3600 C18 1.35V (running 3200MHz C16)
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1070 Gigabyte G1 Gaming
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 2x1TB Crucial MX500 (striped array), 4TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Monoprice 35" 3440x1440p 100Hz
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Maybe you can let me know if that will work
Looks like 216W on the 12v rail. Should be fine.

Though upgrading the PSU would still be a good idea if you can (no proprietary connectors on the motherboard).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
2,014 (2.85/day)
System Name Flavour of the month. I roll through hardware like it's not even mine (it often isn't).
Processor 3900X, 3600XT, 2700U
Motherboard Aorus X570 Elite, B550 DS3H
Cooling Alphacool CPU+GPU soft-tubing loop (Laing D5 360mm+140mm), AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 32GB Patriot 3600CL17, 32GB Corsair LPX 3200CL16, 16GB HyperX 2400CL14
Video Card(s) 2070S, 5700XT, Vega10
Storage 1TB WD S100G, 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro, 1TB MX500, 500GB Hynix 2242 bastard thing, 16TB of rust + backup
Display(s) Dell SG3220 165Hz VA, Samsung 65" Q9FN 120Hz VA
Case NZXT H440NE, Silverstone GD04 (almost nothing original left inside, thanks 3D printer!)
Audio Device(s) CA DacMagic+ with Presonus Eris E5, Yamaha RX-V683 with Q Acoustics 3000-series, Sony MDR-1A
Power Supply BeQuiet StraightPower E9 680W, Corsair RM550, and a 45W Lenovo DC power brick, I guess.
Mouse G303, MX Anywhere 2, Another MX Anywhere 2.
Keyboard CM QuickFire Stealth (Cherry MX Brown), Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
Software W10
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Yes the PSU does have a 6 pin but I'm afraid it stil won't handle the 1050 ti
Because it's the higher model of them the Asus strix and this thing is a beast
Is it this one?

As others have said, you'll be fine. It's a 75W card and the 6-pin is just to give the card more than 75W if it is overclocked, where it might consume up to 90-100W in total. Your 6-pin on the power supply shows that it's designed to handle cards up to 150W.

I have a few machines at home and the one I do the most gaming on is powered by an i7-3770K which, apart from the hyperthreading, is about the same as the Xeon V2 chip you have. I've paired it with an RX 5700XT and I'm still GPU-bottlenecked almost all of the time. Like you, I'm itching to upgrade it because it's so old, it only has slow DDR3, the motherboard is lacking NVMe ports and USB3, and I'm limited to PCIe 2.0 instead of PCIe 4.0 but in the real world none of that really matters for gaming, and being an under-the-TV console replacement, this thing gets used solely for internet, gaming, and watching videos.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2019
Messages
32 (0.04/day)
Is it this one?

As others have said, you'll be fine. It's a 75W card and the 6-pin is just to give the card more than 75W if it is overclocked, where it might consume up to 90-100W in total. Your 6-pin on the power supply shows that it's designed to handle cards up to 150W.

I have a few machines at home and the one I do the most gaming on is powered by an i7-3770K which, apart from the hyperthreading, is about the same as the Xeon V2 chip you have. I've paired it with an RX 5700XT and I'm still GPU-bottlenecked almost all of the time. Like you, I'm itching to upgrade it because it's so old, it only has slow DDR3, the motherboard is lacking NVMe ports and USB3, and I'm limited to PCIe 2.0 instead of PCIe 4.0 but in the real world none of that really matters for gaming, and being an under-the-TV console replacement, this thing gets used solely for internet, gaming, and watching videos.
Yes it's this one

Exactly mate I feel like this cpu can do a lot more
Not that's its any good but when I play CSGO I'm loading the map faster than my friend who has a ryzen 5 2600 like Everytime I connect in the server before any one idk
Well yes I will pair it with the 1050 ti and see what happens.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,938 (3.79/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
Graphics card makers avoid to max out the PCI-E slot and draw all 75W from it. So they add a 6-pin PCIE connector to split the power load.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,938 (3.79/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
He just calculated only one of the four 12v rails and missed the others...

Maybe you can let me know if that will work
xMidNight
You have 3 12v rails capable of 216W each and 1 rail of 150W but all 4 of them combined cannot exceed 400W.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
11,998 (4.34/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
So the question is what should i do it will cost me $309.63 to buy the CPU,GPU,PSU,MOTHERBOARD,CASE
My 2cents; It's a good deal. The CPU may only be 200mhz faster but the IPC improvement makes it worth it especially when you couple that with the ram and GPU upgrades. The 1050ti alone is an amazing upgrade from that GT710.

However, if nothing else upgrade your GPU. That is the single biggest problem you have for gaming on your system. And get a 1060-6GB it's only about $30 more and well worth it.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2019
Messages
32 (0.04/day)
He just calculated only one of the four 12v rails and missed the others...


xMidNight
You have 3 12v rails capable of 216W each and 1 rail of 150W but all 4 of them combined cannot exceed 400W.
Sorry I'm not any good at understanding what are u saying I just want to know if I plug the gpu in the pci and the 6 pin connector will I have any issues I don't wanna damage something.
My 2cents; It's a good deal. The CPU may only be 200mhz faster but the IPC improvement makes it worth it especially when you couple that with the ram and GPU upgrades. The 1050ti alone is an amazing upgrade from that GT710.

However, if nothing else upgrade your GPU. That is the single biggest problem you have for gaming on your system. And get a 1060-6GB it's only about $30 more and well worth it.
Yes I will pair the 1050 ti to with the Xeon processer it will be a good compention honestly I thought the worst gpu exists was the Intel integrated onboard but apparently there's GT 710
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
11,998 (4.34/day)
Location
USA
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Sorry I'm not any good at understanding what are u saying I just want to know if I plug the gpu in the pci and the 6 pin connector will I have any issues I don't wanna damage something.
With a 1050ti, you'll be fine. With that card your system shouldn't push that power supply beyond it's limits.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,938 (3.79/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F32
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2)
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (20H2)
Sorry I'm not any good at understanding what are u saying I just want to know if I plug the gpu in the pci and the 6 pin connector will I have any issues I don't wanna damage something.
You can do it...
The 1050TI as others said is a 70~80W card. You can even go with a 120~140W card without issues.
 
Top