1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Its that time of year again - Vista now or stick with XP?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by FreedomEclipse, Nov 21, 2008.

?

Make Haste To.....

  1. Vista Home Premium

    39 vote(s)
    67.2%
  2. Nah - Stick With XP Pro

    9 vote(s)
    15.5%
  3. Wait For Windows7

    10 vote(s)
    17.2%
  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK
    Right maggots. ONE & ONLY rule of my post...... NO VISTA BASHING WILL BE TOLERATED If you have any negative thoughts please voice them in a suitable manner otherwise please keep them to yourselfs. thank you.

    ========

    Its that time of year again when the XP on my main rig is starting to yap like a wounded dog - with the usual random freezing & BSOD's now n again which is sadly started to affect my games. namely CoD5:W@w which seems to hate my rig with a passion even though i have more then enough power to run the game.

    with that in mind - I could either:

    A) save money & stick with XP
    B) go for a 32/64bit Vista Home Premium.
    C) screw both & wait for Windows7

    most the the apps/hardware i use already support or has vista support & also with the service packs Vista has really improved of the last 6-9months gone by. so there is really no reason for me to stick with XP or for that matter head over to Vista since all Vista offers is DX-10 which my graphics card supports.

    Ive already collected & built myself a Vista drivers & apps CD so that if i do decide to go vista i can have everything ready to go ASAP.

    Since Im no longer THAT worried about boot up times & Vista as most people say will 'speed up' once it commits all the programs u use regularly to memory.

    Im guessing Vista will work fine on my machine once it sorts itself out.


    what do you guys think?? will Vista be pretty nippy on my machine??

    awaiting your thoughts.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2008
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    If you can get Vista go for it. Its a lot faster than XP in my experiance. Windows 7 won't be out for another 2-4 years.. Knowing MS they will delay it all they can.

    Also I recommend going 32bit unless you plan on going 5gb+. Vista 32bit handles 4gb really well.
     
  3. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'll be playing around with a Windows 7 beta soon, hopefully. I'm running XP pro now, though I did use Vista 64 bit for a brief time. I liked it, but had some annoying driver issues that had me running back to XP.
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK
    well probably not 4Gb on the system im on now as PC3200 is pricey & its only value kits that are available - so theres not garuntee i can keep my overclock if i did pick up 'budget' ram.
    but i like the thought of having a 64bit O/S to 'futureproof' my next system build which will come sometime after Xmas maybe
     
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I've been using vista home premium x86 for nearly two years now,and would not go back to xp.So i say install vista.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Theres nothing that works better in a 64bit os that I know of. They make 64bit versions of some games but they don't run any better and some times worse in Crysis' case. I was hoping Windows 7 would be 64bit only but I guess its not..
     
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK
    well I have read on many posts & blogs that claim Vista 64bit is up to 16-20% faster then Vista 32bit & also that 64bit is generally more efficient. their the same price anyway so its not as if im losing money by going for a 64bit version
     
  8. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    I voted for 7. I installed it yesterday and :eek:. I was pretty impressed. It's the pre-beta 6801 build. All legit of course too. I learned that if you were part of the vista beta program, your Milestone/Beta/RC keys also work for the Windows 7 pre-releases.

    I luckily managed to dig out my unused vista beta key, put it in, and windows activated without any issues.

    I've gotta say it's pretty stable and fast, I love vista, but after trying 7, Vista can go and put its head in a bucket full of snakes, because 7 is my main OS now. :D

    So anyone whose got vista beta keys, try out 7 if you can grab yourself an ISO of it. And since it's using a legit serial, the ISO itself isn't actually warez. :)
     
  9. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    710
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Go ahead and upgrade to vista 64 bit....You get all your ram and dx 10 and its much faster than xp. I use to be a vista basher till i bought a laptop with it. I just went in and changed some of the stuff i didnt like and got it like i wanted it...Only problem ive had with vista was installing my x-fi sound card...and that was more creatives driver problem than vista.
     
  10. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,053 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I'd never touch XP again on my main PC tbh. Vista is great, the only issue I have is I still have games with 16-bit installers and those don't work at all, but that's what virtual machines are for :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,251 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,203
    I dual boot XP and Vista Business X64 for about 8 months now, and I can honestly say I haven't booted into my XP partition in well over a month, and in the past 8 months have probably only booted into XP 5 times. I enjoy Vista, it isn't perfect, but neither was XP.

    However, in your situation, there probably isn't a whole lot of reason to move to Vista. I would say wait until your next build. When you get 4GB of RAM, then go with Vista x64, as x86 will not allow you to use all 4GB, but I wouldn't really worry about upgrading until you plan to get 4GB of RAM, which I assume is your new build.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  12. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    That statement is completely the opposite of what I've heard, and experienced. Crysis for me was faster in 64bit, and HL2, not many games I know, but still :D.

    In my opinion, 32bit is now pointless, 4GB RAM is fast becoming the standard as well as graphics cards with at least 512MB RAM if not 1GB so 32bit is obsolete.

    Drivers are generally a little more solid in 64 in my experience, as well as the OS feeling more stable over all.

    I wished MS would make 7 64bit only, but doesn't seem so. :( 64 needs to become the standard before those lazy companies realise they need to make more 64bit drivers. *glares at Native Instruments*
     
  13. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Just out of cuiosity, do your sound drivers work in 7?
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Vista may be better but XP x64 was a pos for me. I really would not install it again on my machine lol
     
  15. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    500 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    debian 64bit. or mepis if you need a user friendly OS.

    if you must stick with windows i would ride the XP train all the way to windows 7. (im forced to use vista at work. and at one point i was an XP user.)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    I don't think it was a case of it being 'more' creative's fault, I think it was creative's fault full stop. They need to sort out their driver team from what I hear. :D
     
  17. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Yep, they appear to be working flawlessly, actually better than they did in vista, but I think it might just be down to it being a newer driver set. :)

    In vista I never got the option to control the individual volume of all my speakers when in DDL over optical, but in 7 I can set the volume of them separately, this is over about 3 driver sets since I got my sound card until I moved to 7 anyway. :)
     
  18. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I switched my x-fail extreme music for an audigy 4 in vista,and its working fine.The x-fail was just fail.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,203 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    London,UK
    please try keep things on topic here people ;) im trying to buy a copy of vista not an XFi card
     
  20. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Do you know how Auzentech's X-FI Preludes work in Vista? I'm guessing they didn't use Creative's drivers and made their own? I really want one but can't bear to have the issues I've read about when using X-FI cards.
     
  21. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    :laugh: My advice is that if you've got a windows vista beta key, use that for 7, or try to scrounge a vista beta key and use 7, if not, wait until it goes to public/MSDN beta, then get all over it like a rash. :D
     
  22. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I have Vista x64 Eternity 2009 running since yesterday and it's very good.
    Still waiting for 4Gb ram but 2Gb will do just fine.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,441 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,923
    Location:
    US
    XP i don't know as i use XP X64 and it's been much better for me than Vista has been and still is any thing from rebooting, sleep mode, restarting gaming is better on XP X64 to me min frame rates much better.

    I've had more issue's with Vista over 6 month than i have ever with XP X64 with i origanly got for my 3800+ x2 setup years ago.. All though most of my issue's have been due to dual booting. But it's not been any were near as fast as XP x64 not in a single case for me.

    COH is one example were as XP X64 will get in the benchmarks a min of around 20-30FPS and Vista about 4FPS. And yes the profiles are the same

    At least get a 64bit version
     
  24. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    *cringes*

    I hope that's not one of those horrible hacked up, supposedly 'improved' version of vista? People really should steer clear of them and use a proper RTM/retail disc.
     
  25. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Depends on how pissed you'll be if you buy vista this Christmas and 7 is released next Christmas. If not that much, go for vista for sure. Besides, 7 will likely have problems at launch like every other windows iteration.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)