1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ivy Bridge-E Overclocking and Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by MetalRacer, Aug 31, 2013.

  1. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    359 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    If CPU-Z says 1.25 stock clocks/voltages at load, thats very high stock voltage , if it is stable at 1.295 then leave it on auto for LLC .

    If you plan going higher I would lower it to lower level as I posted before like LLC , but the voltage at load will go up w/o changing voltage value in bios because of LLC change so change one thing at time and note voltages . whatever you don't want higher voltage at load then idle with a manual voltage setting .

    PS: with such high VID voltage you are going to be limited on OC as you hit/need to much voltage .
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2014
    Paladone says thanks.
  2. Paladone

    Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    I should have noted that I have only attempted to adjust the CPU voltage and the CPU ratio, should I be changing anything else at this point?
     
  3. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    710 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    661
    Location:
    NYC
    Testing Low Volt 4930K h2o

    Good IMC

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    LN2

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    359 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    no , If you are sure your voltage was 1.25 at stock settings , bios set to defaults , then you probably don't need more than multiplier and vcore adjustments up to 4.2 or so .
    If you plan to go higher to like 4.5 then lower LCC a level or so and might need to raise CPU current level but that won't affect OC , it would just throttle down a multiplier if you hit the limit .

    If the 1.25v is right , your going to be very limited on OC headroom .
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  5. Paladone

    Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    After about 3-4 hours of tweeking, I seemed to have found stability at 4.4GHz, 1.39v. I ran P95 for 90 minutes and then ran a Firemark extreme and unigine valley test to check stability; all was good, no issues. Then, all of a sudden, the PC just randomly crashes, instantly shuts down and restarts, no given error message or anything. This was happening before, when I thought I had found stability. I believe that I need to change another setting, but I have limited overclocking experience and wouldn't know what. Maybe LLC or Current limit as you said?

    At this point, it's needless to say that i'm getting pretty fed up xD
     
  6. Paladone

    Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Nice OC, looks like you've got a good chip :)
     
  7. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    359 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    well judging by were you are starting from I am surprised you got it semi stable at 4.4 .
    now, is 1.39v the voltage shown in CPU-Z while prime95 is running , if so what is voltage you set in bios .

    This is important to help figure LLC amount .
    try this put LLC on level 3 and try 1.30 at 4.3 and note voltage while prime is running .

    Rebooting with nothing happening is a lot of time either PSU or not enough voltage at idle , but could be ram to .make sure system is stable at stock speeds first .

    If you were running offset voltage sometimes people have to use -xx values and this can cause issues at idle but your running manual voltage so that is not your issue (low voltage at idle).
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  8. Paladone

    Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    So I set LLC to level 3, CPU ratio to 4.3 and CPU voltage to 1.30.

    According to CPU-Z, at Idle, the voltage was 1.288, while at 100% load with P95, it alternated between 1.256 and 1.264.
     
  9. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    359 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    ok, do exactly the same, give me all three values but this time with LLC on Auto/level5 .

    As you can see your getting Vdroop with level 3 still . (around 0.024-028v worth )
    I am guessing we will see a Vdroop of => 0.030 on auto/level5 .
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014
    Paladone says thanks.
  10. Paladone

    Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Okay so at 4.3GHz, 1.30v with LLC at level 5: Idle voltage was 1.280v and 100% load alternated between 1.216v and 1.224v.
     
  11. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    359 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Ok, for sure you don't want auto/level5 .

    Now try same but with level2 , report same 1.30 in bios and what idle and load voltages .
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  12. Paladone

    Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    4.30GHz, 1.30v, LLC Level 2: Idle was 1.288v, 100% load was 1.280v and 1.288v.
     
  13. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    359 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Ok, thats about it then .
    try level2 , 1.35v 4.4ghz and see how that is . You can try and do more stability testing to make sure if 4.3 is stable , but I think your issue was to low a idle voltage to load, when load just starts .

    Also even though you might not get crash , check event viewer for WHEA errors .

    these can pop up like when running prime and generally can indicates low vcore .
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014
    Paladone says thanks.
  14. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,918 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,802
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    Bingo.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Paladone

    Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Awesome! Thanks for the help :) So if I am to push the OC further, Ie. above 4.5 (If that's even possible with this chip), would I still keep a LLC level of 2?
     
  16. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    359 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Yes, If you want to run only 4.2 then I would go back to level3 but for anything above stay on level2 .
    I was only guessing on 1.35 for 4.4 that is still high on avg but from looks your Vdroop on auto was 0.06-0.07 which is a lot .
    you might be able to do 1.3v at 4.4 your just going to have to test and check temps as your load voltage is now higher (less Vdroop ) .
    So go slowly and see how it goes .
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  17. Paladone

    Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    So i managed to stabilize 4.4Ghz at 1.335v, I then tried to stabilize 4.5; went from 1.335 all the way up to 1.49v with no luck, BSOD every time. I think maybe I've hit a wall a 4.4, which is unfortunate.1
     
  18. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    359 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Yes, you'll find there is a sweet spot when going up in ghz vs voltage . sounds like your hitting a wall .

    I would stay at 4.4 , you really don't want to go to much higher than 1.3v for 24/7 use (1.335v not to bad) .
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  19. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,382 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,273
    LLC at 5 should be lowest LLC / OFF on asrock. Probably should run LLC at 4 with more offset.

    With Ivy/sandy and air cooling I have been setting it to whatever I can get to at 1.25v. (usually 4.5-4.7 with my binned chips) Beyond that voltage theres little point for 24/7.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Paladone

    Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    My OC's are being really weird. When i was trying to OC my GPU's, my PC crashed, and then all of a sudden BSOD when I boot up. So I check my settings, everything is the same: 4.4GHz, 1.335v and LLC level 2. It would not boot up at all; BSOD on windows is loading. So I go back to 4.2 to test: 4.2GHz at 1.295v and it boots up. I then shut down and go back to 4.4GHz, 1.335v and it boots up fine with P95 running for 5 hours without any issues. I don''t understand why those settings will randomly not work after my PC crashes?
     
  21. Ed_1

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    359 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Its hard to say, I would do one thing at time , leave GPU alone at least a week so your sure your stable with CPU OC .
    Make profile in bios for each OC level you want (4.2, 4.4) .
    Sometimes the MB changes timings after a bad OC crash . you might have to reset bios in your case maybe changing to 4.2 did that .

    Run it at 4.4 for a least few days testing all the heavy load app you have . run prime for at least 8hrs , play BF3/4 for few hrs .

    You get picture, use system hard to make sure its ok and stable at that setting .

    After that then go to GPU , and with regard to 780ti I would only OC core a bit if at all, the memory bandwidth is plenty I don't think I would push that .
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  22. Paladone

    Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    I ran P95 for about 6 hours without any issues. I have also been playing some games/running benchmark tests. I honestly only overclocked the 780Ti's for benchmarking; it's not like they lack the power :p
     
  23. FireKillerGR

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    217 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    227
    Location:
    Athens,Greece
    Dont know if it has been mentioned before BUT on asrock and gigabyte (dont know about msi) pll override isnt working even if its enabled.
    Tried same chips on Gigabyte, Asrock and Asus.
    On GB and Asrock I got 4.3 max with 1.32v and on Asus I got 4.6 on 1.31v :)
    AFAIK only Asus and Evga tried and fixed this issue, so dont blame ur chips ;)
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  24. Paladone

    Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    510 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    That's good to know :D I was planning on upgrading my MB in the future and putting my ASrock in a different build anyway.

    EDIT: In my old build I had an Maximus V formula and I was able to get my 3770k up to 5GHz, fully stable, in about.... 15 minutes and I had absolutually no overclocking experience. I have spent countless hours trying to stabilize this 4930k xD
     
    FireKillerGR says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)