• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Java Socket Programming

Blitzr

Hello

I'm a computer science student and was wondering if anyone here has any experience, advice, or real world practical applications on Java socket programming, thread grouping, JVM mechanics, etc. How does a programmer go about determining thread priorities and daemon/non-daemon threads. Still attempting to adapt my thinking from C++ pointers to Java references. I'm fairly new to the java.net.* and java.io.* libraries so any advice is much appreciated.

Thank You.

Last edited:
System Name HP DL380 G5
Processor 2x Intel Xeon X5460 @3.16 Ghz
Motherboard HP DL 380
Cooling 6 60mm intake fans rated for 14k RPM max load
Memory 16GB of DDR2 667Mhz
Video Card(s) AMD XFX R7 360
Storage 3x 140GB 10K SAS JBOD
Display(s) 1x Hisense 42" TV
Case DL 380 G5
Audio Device(s) HDMI Out
Power Supply 2x 800w Proprietary PSUs
Mouse A cheap logitech wireless mouse
Keyboard Acer KU-0355
Software Windows 10!
Benchmark Scores Ill get around to em soon
Hello

I'm a computer science student and was wondering if anyone here has any experience, advice, or real world practical applications on Java socket programming, thread grouping, JVM mechanics, etc. How does a programmer go about determining thread priorities and daemon/non-daemon threads. Still attempting to adapt my thinking from C++ pointers to Java references. I'm fairly new to the java.net.* and java.io.* libraries so any advice is much appreciated.

Thank You.

No problem at all!

Java IO is a great tool. It's great if you're managing lots of data throughput, securely*, and reliably over a network, or between separate applications on your computer.

Sockets are an end to end connection. I like to think a pair of garden hoses that branch off from the main server to the connecting clients.