• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Just a little doubt

El_Tucu

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Core 2 Duo E6750 2,66Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium WiFi/Ap
Cooling Air, 2x90mm coolers and 2x120mm coolers.
Memory 1Gbx2 DDR2 800Mhz Kingston ValueRam
Video Card(s) XFX Ge Force 8600 GT 512Mb DDR2
Storage Western Digital 500Gb WD5000AAKS
Audio Device(s) onboard HD Audio from Analog Devices
Power Supply 600W Generic Sentey PSU 12A in +12V
Software Windows XP Pro SP3
#1
Hi! Im new, so probably you answered this question before, have mercy with that and my bad english.

I've got this 8600GT, and isnt the best thing to play Assassins Creed or my future Clear Sky, so im planning to upgrade to a ATi 4850. But that isnt the point.

The point is that I like nVidia GPU acelerated physics.

So, i can plug a 4850 in my first PCIe 16x slot, plug the 8600 on the second PCIe 4x slot and install PhysiX driver? It depends on the GeForce nVidia drivers?

What should i do to get nVidia PhysiX on the 8600 and the ATi 4850 as main GPU to work perfectly?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#2
Theoretically yes. In practice it doesn't work out so well yet. I believe in vista it is as of yet impossible, in xp it's a bitch. This should however get better when official drivers are released, still beta atm. At least, that's what I've gathered. Please fill out full system specs in the user cp so we can better help you, and welcome to TPU.
 

El_Tucu

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Core 2 Duo E6750 2,66Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium WiFi/Ap
Cooling Air, 2x90mm coolers and 2x120mm coolers.
Memory 1Gbx2 DDR2 800Mhz Kingston ValueRam
Video Card(s) XFX Ge Force 8600 GT 512Mb DDR2
Storage Western Digital 500Gb WD5000AAKS
Audio Device(s) onboard HD Audio from Analog Devices
Power Supply 600W Generic Sentey PSU 12A in +12V
Software Windows XP Pro SP3
#3
Thanks!, i've actualized the specs in the CP.

Im going to buy a new PSU, because my current isn't powerfull enough.

I have the 177.98 beta and XP SP3 (i don't like Vista)
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#4
like Farlex said - in the future there is no reason why not.
 

El_Tucu

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Core 2 Duo E6750 2,66Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium WiFi/Ap
Cooling Air, 2x90mm coolers and 2x120mm coolers.
Memory 1Gbx2 DDR2 800Mhz Kingston ValueRam
Video Card(s) XFX Ge Force 8600 GT 512Mb DDR2
Storage Western Digital 500Gb WD5000AAKS
Audio Device(s) onboard HD Audio from Analog Devices
Power Supply 600W Generic Sentey PSU 12A in +12V
Software Windows XP Pro SP3
#5
So, i plug the 4850 and the 8600. Install Catalyst, then install PhysiX driver and select the 8600 as PPU? it doesn't need the GeForce drivers?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,631 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,356
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
Why not throw the money straight at nvidia? the GTX260+ is in your range, then just run the CUDA driver as well.

There is no monitor in your specs, so I assume you are gaming at 1280X1024!?!?
 

El_Tucu

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2008
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Core 2 Duo E6750 2,66Ghz
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium WiFi/Ap
Cooling Air, 2x90mm coolers and 2x120mm coolers.
Memory 1Gbx2 DDR2 800Mhz Kingston ValueRam
Video Card(s) XFX Ge Force 8600 GT 512Mb DDR2
Storage Western Digital 500Gb WD5000AAKS
Audio Device(s) onboard HD Audio from Analog Devices
Power Supply 600W Generic Sentey PSU 12A in +12V
Software Windows XP Pro SP3
#7
Sorry but in my country, the prices are badly up to date (the 260 is unaffordable) Example: Shappire ATi Radeon 4850 512Mb is U$S300, and a GeForce 260 is U$S450. Im gamming between 1024x768 and 1280x1024. Antialiasing isnt my priority, just "high" or "very high" settings ingame. Specifically i want Enhanced Full Dynamic Lighting on DX9 in Clear Sky, with mentioned resolutions.

Well, thanks to all of you. Im going to check prices here in my city and get a decision from there.

Bye.
 
Last edited by a moderator: