• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Just bought new case, got new problems

Actinic

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Cooling Air, 3 fans (top, rear, front)
Memory 1GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX285
Case Antec Nine Hundred Two v3
Power Supply Corsair 650W
#1
I just purchased an Antec Nine Hundred Two V3 case today and have had a hell of a time getting everything in order to run my computer again.

I've never really built a computer before, the most experience I have is upgrading my GPU.


I booted my computer after getting everything hooked up and it loaded into Windows just fine until I went ahead and plugged my Mic and Headphones into the front I/O jacks. As soon as I did that the computer rebooted into a loop. I immediately shut the computer off, unplugged the headset and tried to start the computer again without success. The computer boots up and power is sustained, but I don't get any further than that. There is no signal, it seems, to my monitor from my video card (Nvidia GTX285) as nothing comes up on the monitor so I can't even tell if windows is loading.


Does anyone have some insight into how I can fix this or what happened? Is my computer now fried and unusable? It booted properly before I connected my headset.

Here's my hardware:
intel DQ965GF
Corsair hx650w PSU
Nvidia GTX285
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
#2
Just start over. Pull everything and hook it up outside the case. Keep any USB devices out during the troubleshooting time and then slowly return them.

Looping boots could be hdd trouble, could be a bad BIOS setting, could be power related(but not likely).

Can you boot into the BIOS with everything hookedup?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,198 (0.28/day)
Likes
130
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#3
Welcome friend, This is the start into getting to know your PC better.

The very first step you you should take at this point, is to take everything outside of the case and booted it up. this should clear any grounding problem.

Second, use start ruling out hardware by using only installing the bare BARE essentials required to start you PC:

-Use x1 stick of RAM
-x1 HDD
-x1 fan [for the CPU heatsink]
-Video card
-Power supply [of course..]
-Motherboard [of course..]

-if this works, then start adding the extra hardware, one by one and check if your PC boots every time you add a piece of hardware.

Assuming that all of this is connected and out of the case, start it and see if the problem keeps happening. If it does RESET the BIOS by taking out the little watch looking battery on the motherboard for 1min and then put it back [this is a guaranteed way to reset it]

-If the problem stops put everything back into the case SLOWLY and its wise to have a very good light source while doing this. If the problem persists, come back to us and well give you more directions.

PS
good luck bud :)
 

Actinic

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Cooling Air, 3 fans (top, rear, front)
Memory 1GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX285
Case Antec Nine Hundred Two v3
Power Supply Corsair 650W
#4
So far I have the optical drive hooked up, it works. The tray pops out and in when I push the button. All the fans are working. My HDD is spinning and reading.

The reset button doesn't seem to do anything, so I've left it unplugged.

The on-board GPU isn't sending a signal to my monitor, I have not yet tried my nvidia card.

I also haven't tried hooking up the HD Audio pins as I'm assuming that is what the original problem arose from, when I plugged my headset into the front jacks and my computer shut down.

The computer isn't looping, power is being sustained.


The last video card I had blew, and my on-board GPU worked just fine.

Any suggestions as to why I can't get it to work now? No, the nvidia card is not in the slot at all so it's not being overridden.
 

Actinic

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Cooling Air, 3 fans (top, rear, front)
Memory 1GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX285
Case Antec Nine Hundred Two v3
Power Supply Corsair 650W
#5
OKay so I tried plugging in my nvidia card and it doesn't seem to be working at all either. My best guess is that something on my motherboard that handles video is fried as neither my card nor on-board are functioning.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,202 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#6
Is there more than 1 PCIe x16 slot you can try the video card in perhaps? If so and it works, you have a bad PCIe slot.

Do you have a spare video card you can try by chance?
 

bokou

New Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2011
Messages
177 (0.07/day)
Likes
43
Location
Mississippi
System Name The Beast 2
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 OC'd: 3.9ghz
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaw DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6970
Storage WDl 7200rpm 500gb
Display(s) Acer 21" LCD, Westinghouse 21" LCD
Case Coolermaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) On-board 7.1 SupremeFX
Power Supply Xion 800w Modular
Software Windows 7, Steam, BFBC2, TF2, Adobe CS5
Benchmark Scores 20k+ on 3dMark06, will have to look at exact number
#7
do you hear any beeps or is it just coming on and not making a peep?
 

Actinic

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2011
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Cooling Air, 3 fans (top, rear, front)
Memory 1GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX285
Case Antec Nine Hundred Two v3
Power Supply Corsair 650W
#8
I do have a spare video card that I'm going to try. Right now I have a friend looking at how I set it up to see where something may have gone wrong. I'll try the other video card when I get my computer back.

@bokou: My computer has never made any beeps when I turn it on, I don't think I have a speaker on my motherboard for that. Just some LEDs. Not helpful at all, I know.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
754 (0.17/day)
Likes
67
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97i Plus
Cooling Antec Kuhler 620 + Gentle Typhoon 3000RPM
Memory A-DATA XPG V2 DDR3-2400 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Storage Samsung 850 Ev0 500GB
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 @100Hz
Case Silverstone SG13
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500LG
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not interested in benchmarks
#9
I do have a spare video card that I'm going to try. Right now I have a friend looking at how I set it up to see where something may have gone wrong. I'll try the other video card when I get my computer back.

@bokou: My computer has never made any beeps when I turn it on, I don't think I have a speaker on my motherboard for that. Just some LEDs. Not helpful at all, I know.
not every motherboard comes with the speaker onboard. you have to plug in the speaker included in the case. it seems antec doesn't include one, neither has my antec 300. i just ordered one from ebay.

about the power problem. i think something (probably the motherboard) is short circuiting with the case.

take a look at this troubleshooting guide. maybe it will help u.
http://goo.gl/DNLMk
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,628 (1.09/day)
Likes
938
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#10
did you take everything out of the case and try yet? it sounds like it might be a grounding issue or a short.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,046 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,658
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#11
Fill out your specs in your profile.

Your short happened when your plugged in your headphones in the front pannel? Sounds like you pluged the front sound plug into your USB header. Short on the MB...May be toast