1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just bought...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mullered07, Mar 3, 2007.

  1. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Nope, P5B Deluxe is a rock solid mobo. It OC's REALLY well.

    Case is personal preference ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Gotta agree with Pinchy, P5B Deluxe is a great board.

    For the case, although I absolutely hate the looks, it's got some nice cooling potential. Looks like another good choice.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    yep, good board

    black is sexy :D

    You might want to consider covering the case in petrol and burning it though
    you could add dye to the chassis :roll: melted plastic is sexy :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah i like the black in the case. Would look good with red LED's
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    yup cant wait for the p5b to oc the shit outta this badboy e4300

    as for the case c'mon guys i was absolutly bladdered last night when i ordered it lol

    whenever i feel it looks crap, ill just get pissed again :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    make sure you get the latest bios on that board though ;)
    the older bios was giving me problems, nothing major though
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    cheers for the heads up raven, ill normally get the latest bios' anyway. only have to wait until wednesday now :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    You will b really happy with the P5B Dlx
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    hope so, cause i keep thinking of canceling my order and maybe getting a nice samsung 19" widescreen monitor :wtf:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    hmm...well i dont know how your current mobo is, but a 19" LCD from a 17" crt is nice :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    cuz what kind of ram do you have DDR2 ?? what speed is it ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    its in my specs dom ati, its corsair xms ddr2 675 5.5.5.15 i have it running at 600 3.3.3.9
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    but its the same Recommended Resolution: 1280 x 1024 on a 19" LCD as his 17" CRT
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    cuz how much of a OC are you going to want to get ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    He said a widescreen, so I'm assuming it's 1440x900.

    My opinion is get the mobo, skip on the monitor for now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    so???

    even a 17" lcd is better than a 17" CRT

    The CRT isnt actually 17" of viewing area due to screen curvature (unless you forked out some more cash on a flatscreen model)

    the lcd also neatens up your desk, generally meaning you sit further from your monitor, instead of being a foot away from it all the time.

    many people also find lcds alot less harsh on the eyes.

    a 19" would therefore be a definate pickup from an older 17"CRT
    lcds are generally also less of an eyesore.

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I'm still using a CRT. My take on it is that I'd rather spend money on parts that perform, rather than replace my monitor. Once I get my system's performance where I want it, then I'll buy a new lcd. Unless, of course, I come across one of those "once in a lifetime" deals on a killer widescreen lcd. You know, like a 24" 1920x1200 4ms for $200. lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    oh :laugh: just saw that

    the mobo would be my opinion also, I was going to get a monitor also but just ended up getting some Logitech X-540 70 watts 5.1 Speaker

    and you always can get a LCD later I know they look better but the mobo would be better now
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,105 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Id atually recommend the monitor UNLESS you really dont mind the CRT

    Reason:

    Youve already got a mobo that works perfectly fine...all a new mobo is really gonna do for yo is get u a better OC, which in reality wont mean much unless benchmarking. Think about it, whats the point of getting a "higher 3dmark score" or looking at "more FPS" if its on a CRT?

    See, my logic is that if you get the 19" LCD now, your whole comp will look/feel nicer. With ur rig, no game is gonna lag on max settings anytime soon, hence you dont need the extra OC. You can always get the mobo later (and mobo's depreciate more than monitors - so it would be cheaper sooner) and enjoy the 19" lcd for now.

    Just my two cents :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    or you could get both :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    lol already bought 2gb xms this week, cant afford both, damn you people why couldnt you make my mind up for me :shadedshu
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    because we are you

    WE SUCK

    :roll: lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,626 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well he already odered it and he can save and get a bigger LCD Wide Screen later


    oh yea mullered07 I just saw you wanted to get it to 3GHz ,well IDK if your going to use those MEM Tim cuz if you want 3GHz its going to have to be at 668Mhz
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    agreed, gotta pump the fsb and drop the timings
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)