1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just got a Corsair-620HX PSU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by happita, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,650 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    765
    I'm slowly getting parts for my new rig. I just got my power supply earlier today.

    I was going to test it out on my shitty rig in my sig, and I noticed that something wasn't right.

    The 20+4 pin power seemed a bit off. My motherboard atm accepts 20-pin. This isn't a problem.

    The problem is when I saw the pin arrangement on the 20+4, I was shocked. On the 20pin part, it seemed as though there is only 19 pins there (Pic shown) And I looked at my motherboard and it accepts the full 20pin. So I wasn't sure if I should test the PSU on this rig in fear that something bad might happen. So in a desperate attempt to keep this PSU and test it out, I'm going to order the rest of the remaining parts that I want to get tomorrow.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,650 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    765
    Forgot to add pic. DOH!
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2013
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,498 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    431
    It wont have any effect, your system will run fine, dont fret about it. Corsair makes some of the best PSU's and i really like their modular design, i got myself a 520w in another system havent had any problems with it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2008
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    I dont think they use the -5v pin anymore.I just got a corsair hx520,but never noticed if that same pin was empty.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,650 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    765
    I checked the power supply itself and I looked at the picture on newegg's site, and its the same exact pin that is empty. I'm confused as to why it isn't there and why they call it a 20+4 if the 20 isn't all there.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    Probs coz they still use the same atx type connector,it would mean changing all motherboards and supply to change it,which is impractical.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,405 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,082
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's perfectly fine. Do you really think Corsair would provide a picture to Newegg with a mission-critical flaw like that? Hell no. :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,650 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    765
    I guess I'm just overreacting, your right hat. I just want everything to work perfect. However, I already took out a small $500 loan to order my entire rig. So the order is inevitable now :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,405 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,082
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's the way to do it!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,661 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    745
    Thats a nice psu! You will enjoy it greatly...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)