• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just got an FX8300 Black edition today.

Status
Not open for further replies.

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,141 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
Supper excited today! I finally have the FX 8300!
Got to say really disappointed at the HSF they put with this CPU. tiny and very ineffective at cooling the CPU.
The CPU is awsome this is what I am able to get with stock cooling. Can't wait to get that after market cooler on it. Should be able to get 4.2Ghz and better. Need RAM now and LOTS of it. 4GB is NOT enough for anything!

Jesus just look at that 658C!!!
Is this thing cooking a pizza? WTF? Hey AMD did you guys test that cooler at 4.2GHz? Or was you just blown smoke up our azzez?
There is NO way this CPU can reach the stated Turbo speed of 4.2GHz on this stock cooler NO WAY AMD!

Sucks this Chip is FAST and I mean wow FAST!

I can hardly wait to UN-Lock this Black edition CPU.
There is something very wrong with cinabench it is only reading 4 of my cores? This sucks! WTH?! 4 cores 8 threads WTF?!!!

HOTHOTHOT.jpg
FX@3.77.jpg
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.36/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Supper excited today! I finally have the FX 8300!
Got to say really disappointed at the HSF they put with this CPU. tiny and very ineffective at cooling the CPU.
The CPU is awsome this is what I am able to get with stock cooling. Can't wait to get that after market cooler on it. Should be able to get 4.2Ghz and better. Need RAM now and LOTS of it. 4GB is NOT enough for anything!

Jesus just look at that 658C!!!
Is this thing cooking a pizza? WTF? Hey AMD did you guys test that cooler at 4.2GHz? Or was you just blown smoke up our azzez?
There is NO way this CPU can reach the stated Turbo speed of 4.2GHz on this stock cooler NO WAY AMD!

Sucks this Chip is FAST and I mean wow FAST!

I can hardly wait to UN-Lock this Black edition CPU.
There is something very wrong with cinabench it is only reading 4 of my cores? This sucks! WTH?! 4 cores 8 threads WTF?!!!

View attachment 96982View attachment 96985
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piledriver_(microarchitecture)
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,141 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.36/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok not sure what that was for but thanks?
Youve been out of the loop, read that for how FX parts are layed out, they are 4 module 8 core parts, in each module is 2 cores that share certain resources, on that these parts are CMT units too
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,141 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
Youve been out of the loop, read that for how FX parts are layed out, they are 4 module 8 core parts, in each module is 2 cores that share certain resources, on that these parts are CMT units too
I maybe out of the loop but 8 cores is 8 cores if you falsely say that you have 8 cores when you only have 4 real cores that is false advertising.
Now that said, Why does cinabench only see 4 cores? That is NOT right. That has nothing to do with the CPU architecture.
But I do thank you kind human.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.36/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,022 (3.87/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
For the price paid, that CPU is a good performer in spite of it's perceived shortcomings. With the 8cores+4FPUs module design AMD had something that was on par with what Intel had to offer at more than twice the price. With a proper cooler, it will even OC somewhat. While the following is only an example, it is a good indicator of the bang for buck you are getting.
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/compare.php?cmp[]=1825&cmp[]=1309&cmp[]=2340
The second and third CPU's are my lot before I sold the 5820k.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
494 (0.13/day)
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3200 C16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 5700 Stock Cooler
Storage PC- Crucial MX200 SSD + Intel Pro SSD 2500 + Crucial BX500 / Server- 12TB
Display(s) Dell P2417H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
I maybe out of the loop but 8 cores is 8 cores if you falsely say that you have 8 cores when you only have 4 real cores that is false advertising.
Being out of the loop from the FX series means you've kind of missed the part where the CPUs had 8 integer cores within 4 modules with 4 shared FPUs.

There's still 8 "cores", but they're integer only, and organized into 4 modules. At the time software had a tough time recognizing the modules and consequently where to schedule threads for the highest efficiency, and reported the threads vs module counts incorrectly. It is right to say it is a 4 module / 8 thread design, as the CPU is a CMT (Clustered Multi Threading - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bulldozer_(microarchitecture)#CMT) design, vs SMT (Simultaneous Multi Threading), which is in Ryzen and what Intel calls Hyperthreading.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,676 (0.34/day)
Location
Oshkosh, WI
System Name ChoreBoy
Processor 8700k Delided
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 Master
Cooling 420mm Custom Loop
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 2x8GB @ 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 SC
Storage 1TB SX8200, 250GB 850 EVO, 250GB Barracuda
Display(s) Pixio PX329 and Dell E228WFP
Case Fractal R6
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply 1000w Corsair
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores A million on everything....
I had mine running at at 1.46v or so. 4.6Ghz.... I tortured that 8300. I think I had 1.55v set in BIOS for a boot or two, but as soon as I saw the LLC was bumping it to 1.62v under load I settled down a little. Needless to say, that chip started showing signs of death after about a year.
I replaced it with a 9590 I found on sale. I'm running it underclocked a bit now, sick of listening to that fan spin up.
They aren't bad chips.... If you live above the tree line.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,868 (8.28/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim (4.3GHz 1.2v/4.35 1.275v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz c14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
The FX series has a bad reputation for being power hungry, hot, and misleading on the core counts.

Also with that high a power draw dont forget to check your VRM temps, often you'll throttle CPU performance down despite it being 'cold' because the VRM's are the ones throttling you (and very few boards had temp sensors on those, so its time to risk your fingertips during heavy benchmark loads)
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,313 (4.07/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
I maybe out of the loop but 8 cores is 8 cores if you falsely say that you have 8 cores when you only have 4 real cores that is false advertising.
It has 8 cores , it's just a very different architecture from anything else. A floating point execution unit is shared between two cores among other things such as some fetch/decode stages. Fanboys with zero knowledge about these things started calling it a quad core processor so the confusion ensued.

It is right to say it is a 4 module / 8 thread design, as the CPU is a CMT (Clustered Multi Threading - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bulldozer_(microarchitecture)#CMT) design, vs SMT (Simultaneous Multi Threading), which is in Ryzen and what Intel calls Hyperthreading.
Neither CMT or SMT have a direct correlation to core count.

Modern software and operating systems do not care about how the CPU handles it's resources internally , it only sees X number of hardware threads and it uses them accordingly. Not to mention all these processors are superscalar and out-of-order meaning that the arrangement of their front end matters even less.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
2,061 (0.61/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Crucial P1 NVMe, ScanDisk Ultra 3D
Display(s) Dell - SE2717HR 27" IPS LED FHD FreeSync Monitor
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
Is the op being sarcastic in this thread??
 

cakehunter

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2017
Messages
27 (0.03/day)
System Name Main / Backup
Processor FX 8350 (ebay) / Athlon 64 x2 6400+ (ebay)
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA UD3 Revision 4.0 (ebay) / Abit KN9 (brother`s in law)
Cooling Stock Am3 heatsing with ziptied fan
Memory G.skill 2400 4GB x 2 TridentX (ebay) / 8GB Mix of G.skill and Corsair DDR2 800Mhz @ CAS 5 (ebay)
Video Card(s) XFX Nvidia 9800 GTX (ebay)
Storage WD Black 1 TB Sata 3 (retail)
Power Supply Corsair CXM 550W (retail)
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
7,929 (2.09/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 16Gb in two sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Samsung Nvme Pg981, silicon power 1Tb samsung 840 basic as a primocache drive for, WD2Tbgrn +3Tbgrn,
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync, LG 49" 4K 60hz ,Oculus
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Iksu force fx
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
It has 8 cores , it's just a very different architecture from anything else. A floating point execution unit is shared between two cores among other things such as some fetch/decode stages. Fanboys with zero knowledge about these things started calling it a quad core processor so the confusion ensued.



Neither CMT or SMT have a direct correlation to core count.

Modern software and operating systems do not care about how the CPU handles it's resources internally , it only sees X number of hardware threads and it uses them accordingly. Not to mention all these processors are superscalar and out-of-order meaning that the arrangement of their front end matters even less.
Im sure I remember arguing with trickson over just such a thing once lolz anyway make sure you have not accidentally disabled four cores because the bios options can easily set one core per module for a four core looking chip, i ran an 8350 as a dual core for a bit.

65 is hot , the best way to see T junction temps on FX chips is to install AMD Overdrive software ,its cpu section shows temp to t Junction speed correctly and all that you are interested in.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,868 (8.28/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim (4.3GHz 1.2v/4.35 1.275v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz c14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
"65°C is not really hot for an overclocked CPU."
Cpu-world says 65 degrees is the limit for FX 8350 - anybody has comment on this one?
pretty sure they thermal throttle around that range, depending on if its reading core temp or socket temp - 60-70C would be in the throttling range (and the VRMs can cause throttling as well, even if temps are lower... you need to run something like IBT and see if the scores drop between runs)

These are from when AMD were bad, they ran hot, but had a low heat ceiling.

edit: got the throttle temps from an OC thread on the webs
(FX-8120 < 61C, FX-8150 <61C, FX-6100 <70C, FX 4100 <71C)
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,313 (4.07/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
65c is still kind of reasonable for both core and socket temp. It's pretty much what I would expect from the stock cooler , I could easily hit 70c with the stock fan on my 6 core FX.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,313 (4.07/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
Problem is the throttling takes place based on the socket temp first or the VRMs. I suggest placing a fan over the VRM heatsink.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,192 (5.06/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
There is something very wrong with cinabench it is only reading 4 of my cores? This sucks! WTH?! 4 cores 8 threads WTF?!!!
There is a big argument in the industry over this. Some software reads each module in the processor as a core, and then each core in the module as a thread. Even Windows reads it as 4-cores and 8-threads, but Microsoft can't even be consistent with that, because they will read other Bulldozer based processors read in Windows as each core as a core. Some quad-core APUs, so 2 modules with 2 cores each, are read properly in Windows as 4-Cores. It's stupid, the number of FPUs does not determine the number of CPU Cores, no matter how much people want to claim it does.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,141 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
There is a big argument in the industry over this. Some software reads each module in the processor as a core, and then each core in the module as a thread. Even Windows reads it as 4-cores and 8-threads, but Microsoft can't even be consistent with that, because they will read other Bulldozer based processors read in Windows as each core as a core. Some quad-core APUs, so 2 modules with 2 cores each, are read properly in Windows as 4-Cores. It's stupid, the number of FPUs does not determine the number of CPU Cores, no matter how much people want to claim it does.
RIGHT! How the HELL is an FPU a CORE!
I hope that they can fix this. It SUCKS! 4 cores 8 threads makes no sense and I bet the score would be higher if they got things figured out.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.38/day)
pretty sure they thermal throttle around that range, depending on if its reading core temp or socket temp - 60-70C would be in the throttling range (and the VRMs can cause throttling as well, even if temps are lower... you need to run something like IBT and see if the scores drop between runs)

These are from when AMD were bad, they ran hot, but had a low heat ceiling.

edit: got the throttle temps from an OC thread on the webs
(FX-8120 < 61C, FX-8150 <61C, FX-6100 <70C, FX 4100 <71C)
There is NO WAY processors from this FX range thermal throttle at 65°C. It just wouldn't make ANY sense to throttle it so quickly. Usually threshold is 90-100°C, not 65.
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,141 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
So if this is truly NOT an 8 core CPU with only 4 cores and 4 FPU's then that my friends is FALSE addvertising and AMD should be sued for this!
I thought they were true 0cta core CPU's! How can it be a true octa core if it is not seen as one? Only Intel is seen as true core and AMD is FAKE?
So 4 cores 8 threads? Instead of 8 cores 8 threads?
Seems like false addvertising to me. I may just look into this! If they are pushing FAKE shit onto us and NOT true real stuff then WE the consumers have to act I am not into being DOOPED or ripped off!
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,313 (4.07/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
So if this is truly NOT an 8 core CPU with only 4 cores and 4 FPU's then that my friends is FALSE addvertising and AMD should be sued for this!
I thought they were true 0cta core CPU's! How can it be a true octa core if it is not seen as one? Only Intel is seen as true core and AMD is FAKE?
So 4 cores 8 threads? Instead of 8 cores 8 threads?
Seems like false addvertising to me. I may just look into this! If they are pushing FAKE shit onto us and NOT true real stuff then WE the consumers have to act I am not into being DOOPED or ripped off!
It has 8.

tumblr_inline_noy502nw7s1tr4drc_400.jpg


This how the module looks containing the two cores like :

b33tNAp.jpg
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,141 (1.25/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
So it is not a TRUE octa core, It really is just a Quad core that is broken up to look like it has 8 cores. 4 modules with 2 cores? Sounds like they split the "Cores" up into half cores and labeled it a fing 8 core!
Like lot splitting, split a lot into half and put 2 tiny homes on the lot made for one and call it a skinny! I think there could be a lawsuit if some one smart really took them to task!

I feel like this now!
:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

I am loving this CPU though it is fast! take a look at the CPU score! That is far better than the score passmark said I would get in there baseline score. 77** something.
passmarktest.jpg
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top