• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

just got fios, and got problems

Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,009 (0.24/day)
Likes
65
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#1
whenever i try and play any counter strike:source server is says the latency is all of a sudden over 1000ms and will not connect even though in the main results pages it said 50ms or less. also when refreshing servers its goes very slow and brings few results.

what can i do??
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
375
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#2
not sure, i had fios for a while and at times had some crazy latency issues
 

Ehstii

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2007
Messages
607 (0.16/day)
Likes
33
Location
The Shore, New Jersey
System Name Betty
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz @ 3.16(weak i know, waiting on better HSF)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA69G-S3H AM2 690G HDMI
Cooling Standard heatsink
Memory A-DATA 2GB(2x1GB dual channel) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 7900GS 256MB
Storage 2x250GB Seagate SataII, 2x250GB Maxtor SataII, 1x120GB Maxtor SataII
Display(s) 22" Widescreen Acer LCD Flat Panel Monitor
Case AMS CF-6129BKS Black w/Silver bezel Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) OB
Power Supply Rosewill RP550-2-S ATX12V v2.01 550W Power Supply
Software Windows XP SP2, Adobe Master Collection CS3, WoW, COD4, Cubase LE, Office 2007, Bit Comet, & more...
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 4710
#3
stick with comcast, time warner, optimum, or whatever cable provided ISP is in your area.


you'll never have a problem, and on top of that, you'll have the fastest speeds available.:toast:
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.88/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#4
Not in my area. Fios pwns Comcast.

But as to the latency issues, my sister has Fios, and doesn't have any probs, so I don't know what the prob could be.

Maybe there's something about it over at Broadband Reports? Go there and see what you can dig up. http://www.dslreports.com/
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,211 (9.51/day)
Likes
13,701
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#5
asking the obvious, you arent downloading or uploading anything in the background, nor is anyone on your network? are you on wireless or wired?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
894 (0.24/day)
Likes
141
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#6
Verizon FIOS customer service/support is top notch (My experience and Consumer Reports reader survey confirms). I would suggest giving them a call. My brother has FIOS in Florida and it works great, well except the garbage ActionTec router that they provide (There is firmware bug that allows internet connectivity OR WPA but NOT both!).
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,009 (0.24/day)
Likes
65
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#7
Verizon FIOS customer service/support is top notch (My experience and Consumer Reports reader survey confirms). I would suggest giving them a call. My brother has FIOS in Florida and it works great, well except the garbage ActionTec router that they provide (There is firmware bug that allows internet connectivity OR WPA but NOT both!).
yeah the router does seem like a POS although it does give you ALOT of configuration options.

and the download speeds are phenomenal. i downloaded an Ubuntu ISO in 3 minutes :cool:

also i noticed some random DNS problems but it was probably because i was playing with the router settings and since it does a full reboot on every change it might have been waiting for DHCP on the WAN.

i think the main problem might be with the QoS engine built into the router i don't think there is a way to full disable it but i might be able to delete the entries to make it basically off.

-update-

i just removed all the DSCP settings for the QoS engine and I'm going to test not I'll post back in a bit.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,009 (0.24/day)
Likes
65
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#8
yep that was it, games connect on first or second try now. d/l speed its 2.3x faster than optimum and no sharing of bandwidth with neighbors!! :nutkick: