1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

just got this wd raptor but it doesnt seem right

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by regan1985, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,352 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,201
    umm "WD Caviar SE SATA II " thats not a raptor .. even though the title says so .. talk to the seller about what he is actually selling .. send your lawyers at him getting a wd raptor 150 gb out of him
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,867 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    yea thats definitely no raptor although if you read the bottom of the page the description says its not it says its a caviar
    "WD Caviar SE SATA II hard drives combine 300 MB/s transfer rate and 8 MB cache for high performance. These reliable drives are lightning fast, but they still deliver technologically advanced acoustics."
    so i guess he put raptor in the title just to get someone to bid on it like u did
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    yeh its ok he is selling a raptor so i will try and get that for the same price, i will send ebay a request for it as he didnt give the right title:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    w1zzard i need your help you normally know about these kind of things, my new sata2 drive isnt being picked up in windows?any idea why?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,352 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,201
    does the bios detect it? is the onboard sata controller enabled in the bios? if it is set to ahci you need to instlal its driver i think, in "ide" no driver needed
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    yeh its in bios, i have enabled the sata conroler and enabled ide rether then sata but it seems to pick it up at a scsi drive and doesnt set it as a drive :twitch:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    this is what it says in device manager??????
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,761 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    You need to initialize the disk, either with software from the manufacturer, or Computer Management > Disk Management.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,352 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,201
    oooh you got a brand new disk? go to computer management - storage, right click the disk and select initialize

    mm 500 gigs of pron storage
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,761 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    My post wasnt good enough for ya Wiz???? J/K :toast:
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    yup i wouldnt pay for that sucker at all, and theres no way your getting a 150gb raptor out of him for £70 :roll: id just tell him the title was totally wrong and agree to not complete the purchase but as a token of good jesture you will leave good feedback if he does

    "if it looks to good to be true IT IS" :wtf:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. peach1971

    peach1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Germany
    ... which is btw finally forbidden on eBay Europe from 2007/01/01 on.
    Damn old search results.. :twitch:
     
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,352 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,201
    sorry i didnt notice your post below the screenshot :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Dude I want 500 gigs of pure pr0n!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    lol sorry mad night out and have sorted out the disk in disk management! 4 some reson i 4got to make a partition! why i am i sooo slow sometimes!!! cheers people yeh i need to backup my porn along with a few avi films i have backed up:laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,802 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,063
    You're not even old enough dude... :slap:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)