• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Just Powered Up

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#51
Well one thing...I did have it connected correctly.....
Thank you

Im going to sleep.
Renee
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#52
Definitely subscribing to find out what's going on XD

Good luck getting your new computer working.

Here's a tip: take your time and thinking logically. do things one step at a time and double check everything is done properly.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,758 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,022
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#53
Sounds to me that it's one of 2 things that people have already mentioned....

1. Your seperate 8 pin CPU power cable is not plugged in, on newer boards this normally is situated near to the cpu socket in the corner of the board.

or

2. You have not connected the "on" button on your case to the correct jumper on the mainboard so that put simply, when you press the button no signal is telling your sytem to power up.

I appreciate you are experienced, we all I am sure make simple errors or ommissions when putting together a large amount of components.
 

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#54
Thank you,

I'm sure I've overlooked something. :(

Renee

"take your time and thinking logically. do things one step at a time and double check everything is done properly. "

I have been but... this is the first water cooling I've done. Things are "different" with water cooling and hardware is somewhat more advanced.
Renee
 
Last edited by a moderator:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#55
OK, so, full list of components, please.

I know board, and CPU, how about ram?

See, if the board was even partially booting, and there was a hardware problem, attaching the speaker would have pointed to the problem, assuming the speaker made some noise when you push the power button, either a single beep for complete POST, or multiple beeps for hardware error.

You are not getting even that far, seemingly.

It is time to take the motherboard out of the case, place it on the box it came in, and try booting with just a single stick of ram in, power supply connected, CPU and cooler mounted, and videocard. If this fails, it's time to consider talking to the retailer about getting the board replaced. hopefully you bought from a local store so you can take it there and have them test everything.

SneekyPeet gave the best advice...if there are no beeps at all form the speaker when you press the power button, something is quite wrong there.


Of course, you may want to try flipping the power button cable from the case over, so that the writing on it is facing the other direction. some switches only work if conencted with the right +/- orientation.
 

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#56
I do have a question. All of the boards were upside down. To have the board "bottom side up" is normal but to have the writing on the cards upside down does not seem normal although, Microcenter did not comment on that.

Renee
 

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#57
"Of course, you may want to try flipping the power button cable from the case over, so that the writing on it is facing the other direction. some switches only work if conencted with the right +/- orientation."

I didn't know that. Live and learn...
Renee
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,758 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,022
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#58
Renee, if you want to reply to a quote, all you need to do is press the "quote" button at the bottom right of the post. :D
 

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#59
I keep asking questions and they aren't answered.

What is the normal color for the level10 "on light"?

""Of course, you may want to try flipping the power button cable from the case over, so that the writing on it is facing the other direction. some switches only work if conencted with the right +/- orientation."

This has nothing to do with the orientation of the boards on the mother board. :)

Renee
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#60
Thank you,

I'm sure I've overlooked something. :(

Renee

"take your time and thinking logically. do things one step at a time and double check everything is done properly. "

I have been but... this is the first water cooling I've done. Things are "different" with water cooling and hardware is somewhat more advanced.
Renee
You're doing custom water cooling? Or did you buy a sealed prebuilt unit?

If it's prebuilt there is no difference between that and air cooling as far as setting up the machine. Same concept.

I'm a bit lost as to where you are in the process right now. Are you still having trouble getting the power switch hooked up properly? As far as I know it shouldn't matter where the positive and negative wire are plugged in. For power/reset it's irrelevant. It only matters for the HD activity light and such AFAIK.

I feel like you're still missing the proper jumpers on the mobo for power button, OR you don't have the PSU hooked up to the machine properly. Maybe take a picture of your current hardware config so we can tell you what to do?
 

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#61
I bought a Corsair H8 watercooling system. However, a water cooling system in a level 10 does add an order to how things are done.

The system is at Microcenter where I bought components. I took it there yesterday after I realized that resources gave me no meaningful ability to test.

I asked a question and you are saying it's irrelevant? It's relevant to me.

Again, to the best of my knowledge I do have the power hooked up. The GREEN Led on the board was ON.

Renee
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#62
I bought a Corsair H8 watercooling system. However, a water cooling system in a level 10 does add an order to how things are done.

The system is at Microcenter where I bought components. I took it there yesterday after I realized that resources gave me no meaningful ability to test.

I asked a question and you are saying it's irrelevant? It's relevant to me.

Again, to the best of my knowledge I do have the power hooked up. The GREEN Led on the board was ON.

Renee
There is no difference in the order of how the components go together when using a corsair LCS. It is installed just as an air cooler is.

I am not calling your question irrelevant. You misread what I wrote. I was saying the orientation of the positive and negative jumpers for the power switch are not important on the motherboard header. That's all.

The green LED just means there is power going into the board. It doesn't mean the board is ON.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
879 (0.21/day)
Likes
333
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TT Water3.0 Riing edition
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Trident RGB R4000mhz
Video Card(s) TitanXpascal 12Gb
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/2Tb+3TbSeagate/1TBseagate/60GbForceGT/750gbHitachi Deskstar/500gbWD
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply 1200wThermaltake Toughpower
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
#63
renee, you were asked to post your full system specs...you didnt...

you were asked for a picture...you saw it fit at this point to let the community know they had let you down by not just following your orders... so no pic...

you cant be helped....
 
Last edited:
J

John Doe

Guest
#64
renee, you were asked to post your full system specs...you didnt...

you were asked for a picture...you saw it fit at this point to let the community know they had let you down by not just following your orders... so no pic...

you cant be helped....

good luck getting ripped by the boys down at micro center...
Come on, she was hit by a car. Please. Come to think of it.
 

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#65
And, it's all insured at Microcenter. I pay diagnostic fees and that it.

The full systen specs that are important are:

1 - Sandy Bridge Extreme
1- Antec 850 watt supply(High Current Pro)
1-OWC -Revo 248 GB drive
1 Sabertooth board
2-Panasonic DVDs

And that's it....

I'm still curious about the color of the level 10 power light. Is it red all the time?

I don't remember a request for a pic?

Renee
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
879 (0.21/day)
Likes
333
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TT Water3.0 Riing edition
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Trident RGB R4000mhz
Video Card(s) TitanXpascal 12Gb
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/2Tb+3TbSeagate/1TBseagate/60GbForceGT/750gbHitachi Deskstar/500gbWD
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply 1200wThermaltake Toughpower
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
#66
sorry, i thought you were willingly ignoring requests that are essential for problem solving...

best thing you can do now, is take a load of pics and post them up... if anythings configured incorrectly we will know then...
 

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#67
Given that I do not have a way to take pictures and that the computer is at the shop...
I think it'll be over when it's back and we'll find out what the problem was. I'm playing with my new Lenovo Extreme. Goodness, is it ever fast! And it won't be nearly as fast as the machine I'm waitimg for. The Lenovo does have a SSD but not one nearly as fast as the new system will have,

Renee
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
1,719 (0.75/day)
Likes
345
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Red Giant
Processor Intel Core i7-2600k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus P67 Sabertooth
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II 6950 2GB
Storage 960 GB Sandisk SSD
Display(s) 23" Dell S2316M
Case CoolerMaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB Silent
Software Windows 10 64 bit
#68
Subscribing to find out whats wrong.

Good luck getting your new monster up and running :)
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
879 (0.21/day)
Likes
333
Location
gangsterville kingdom
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TT Water3.0 Riing edition
Memory 16Gb G.Skill Trident RGB R4000mhz
Video Card(s) TitanXpascal 12Gb
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/2Tb+3TbSeagate/1TBseagate/60GbForceGT/750gbHitachi Deskstar/500gbWD
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply 1200wThermaltake Toughpower
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
#70
good luck with the new pc, i hope they sort it out quickly for you....:toast:
 

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#71
They did! There was nothing wrong. It was a board seating problem.

I am just getting ready to install Windows. I also have to get through a Revo SSD.

Thank you!
Renee
 

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#72
OK, I have problems installing Windows 7 on "the beast". Phase 1 of the installtion goes ok. Then it reboots and crashes almost immediately with a error of xc0000017. According to interpretation which I take with a grain of salt my registry is coorupted. Another thing to remember is that I have a OWC Revo3 disk in here. Thr proper Owc driver has been loaded to the new windows.

The hardware seems to be working ok, although i dont know much about the revo3 except that it's fast.

Renee
 
Last edited:

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#73
Here something important. I must first change thr Revo3 to be the primary boot device. Checking...
 

Renee

New Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#74
I've gottten it to reboot BUT I must set the system disk which I think I've done, however upon the reboot which went well.....it will no longer take any terminal input.

Renee
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#75
My advice is return all parts and buy a prebuilt machine...

All you need to do is read the manuals that came with your hardware and you will be set.

To set the boot device you must go into your BIOS menu at boot up. Generally you press "delete" or "F1" key to do this. The rest should be pretty self explanatory. If you don't know how to do this, you should probably buy a prebuilt system.