• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Just set up Raid 0, a little help please

Joined
Apr 3, 2005
Messages
471 (0.09/day)
Likes
27
Location
Surrey, England
System Name The Beast
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 2x2Gb Gskill Ripjaw X @ 2133mhz 9-11-9-28 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb no unlock :-(
Storage 3x500Gb 1x80Gb
Display(s) LG W2486L 24" LED Backlit 1920x1080
Case Hiper custom Osiris mid tower
Power Supply Hi-power modular 900W
Software Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#1
Just got my Asus P5Q3 Deluxe back up and running and am gonna reinstall XP and also Vista for dual boot. Using Drive xpert on the mobo i've already got 2 40gig drives setup in raid0 then a 250gig drive by itself.
Now what would be the best way to utillize this setup? First time Raid user :eek:
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,575 (2.22/day)
Likes
1,759
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Corsair H80i V2
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga gtx 970 super clocked 4gb
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD
Case Cheaaap atx
Audio Device(s) Asus Rog FX S1220A
Power Supply Corsair CX550
Mouse Utech (I know) Venus laser
Keyboard Corsair K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
I would say split the 80gb raid 0 into 2 40's,one for system,one for documents.The 250 is for dump,games and whatever else.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (1.88/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#3
Just got my Asus P5Q3 Deluxe back up and running and am gonna reinstall XP and also Vista for dual boot. Using Drive xpert on the mobo i've already got 2 40gig drives setup in raid0 then a 250gig drive by itself.
Now what would be the best way to utillize this setup? First time Raid user :eek:
you dont want the OS on the Drive Expert Raid Controller. if your gonna do raid, it need to be done via the Intel raid controller.

The Drive Expert has too higher latency and it also says in the mobo's manual (at least it does for me) not to use the Drive Expert for an OS install.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,575 (2.22/day)
Likes
1,759
System Name Black to the Core MKV
Processor Amd Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Prime B350-plus
Cooling Corsair H80i V2
Memory 2x8gb G.Skill Flare X 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga gtx 970 super clocked 4gb
Storage Sandisk 256GB M2 ssd Boot and Seagate Barracuda 1TB Data
Display(s) Acer K272HL 27" 1080HD
Case Cheaaap atx
Audio Device(s) Asus Rog FX S1220A
Power Supply Corsair CX550
Mouse Utech (I know) Venus laser
Keyboard Corsair K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#4
Shit yes,can you switch the two drives to the intel controller?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36,525 (8.73/day)
Likes
18,802
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
Some bad news: 40 GB + 40 GB + 250 GB = 120 GB by RAID 0.

Don't make the 250 GB drive part of the array.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2005
Messages
471 (0.09/day)
Likes
27
Location
Surrey, England
System Name The Beast
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 2x2Gb Gskill Ripjaw X @ 2133mhz 9-11-9-28 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb no unlock :-(
Storage 3x500Gb 1x80Gb
Display(s) LG W2486L 24" LED Backlit 1920x1080
Case Hiper custom Osiris mid tower
Power Supply Hi-power modular 900W
Software Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#6
Should be able to. Nothing is on the drives yet. So would it be best to ditch raid and put each os on the separate 40gig drives then as you said use the 250gig for a dump?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36,525 (8.73/day)
Likes
18,802
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#7
I for one would use a 40 + 40 GB RAID array, with the 250GB left out, the 80 GB LB would boot Vista while XP sits on the 256GB drive.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2005
Messages
471 (0.09/day)
Likes
27
Location
Surrey, England
System Name The Beast
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 2x2Gb Gskill Ripjaw X @ 2133mhz 9-11-9-28 1T
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb no unlock :-(
Storage 3x500Gb 1x80Gb
Display(s) LG W2486L 24" LED Backlit 1920x1080
Case Hiper custom Osiris mid tower
Power Supply Hi-power modular 900W
Software Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#8
Ok, so install vista on the 40GB raid then xp on the 250GB. I'd prob partition up the 250 with xp on 1 partition and documents, games etc on another.
Oh and i guess i won't use drive xpert at all.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,918 (3.71/day)
Likes
5,224
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#9
I for one would use a 40 + 40 GB RAID array, with the 250GB left out, the 80 GB LB would boot Vista while XP sits on the 256GB drive.
Yeah, i just have horrible feeling though. there old drives and when one goes down his save game OS and all POOF gone as it will only take one HDD to fail. Running a raid 1 be better at least he be able to recover his stuff if a drive did fail.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,198 (1.26/day)
Likes
2,065
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard Gigabyte B450I Pro (replacing POS)
Cooling Custom EK loop for CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 - 3200
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 2080 TI
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Acer 38" Preditor
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 10 Pro
#10
I agree with Asrock on either No Raid or Raid 1 with those 40's. 40Gb's have come and gone sometime ago so age wise I wouldn't set them up in Raid 0. I'd say do what tigger recommended but I'm not sure what you are doing with XP and Vista. I would say put XP on one 40 and Vista on the other, then put your games, apps, doc, etc on the 250.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36,525 (8.73/day)
Likes
18,802
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#11
Yeah, i just have horrible feeling though. there old drives and when one goes down his save game OS and all POOF gone as it will only take one HDD to fail. Running a raid 1 be better at least he be able to recover his stuff if a drive did fail.
RAID 1 is wastage of space :)

You'd rather not have RAID at all, use them in IDE mode. Remember: In RAID 1, 40 GB + 40 GB = 40 GB.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,918 (3.71/day)
Likes
5,224
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#12
RAID 1 is wastage of space :)

You'd rather not have RAID at all, use them in IDE mode. Remember: In RAID 1, 40 GB + 40 GB = 40 GB.
Umm ok.. I guess it's a matter of opinion.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,918 (3.71/day)
Likes
5,224
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#13
RAID 1 is wastage of space :)

You'd rather not have RAID at all, use them in IDE mode. Remember: In RAID 1, 40 GB + 40 GB = 40 GB.
Umm ok.. I guess it's a matter of opinion. i'd rather not have raid ?.. Who told you that ?.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36,525 (8.73/day)
Likes
18,802
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#14
Umm ok.. I guess it's a matter of opinion. i'd rather not have raid ?.. Who told you that ?.
Mr. Commonsense told me. In this case RAID 1 won't give him any performance increase, it's just mirroring data for fault tolerance, he loses half his space (that's already low (40 GB)), no need for that.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,918 (3.71/day)
Likes
5,224
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#15
Mr. Commonsense told me. In this case RAID 1 won't give him any performance increase, it's just mirroring data for fault tolerance, he loses half his space (that's already low (40 GB)), no need for that.
Umm he needs over 20GB for each OS ?. could he not install his apps to his larger drive ?. I see what you mean and i do agree to some degree but for me the OS drive normally contains more files that i need to be safe than any other drive\partition. Like save games \ MP saves \ some apps settings that i just drop in saves me loads of time setting up. But thats just what i would do and not everyone thinks of this data as important enough.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
36,525 (8.73/day)
Likes
18,802
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
#16
But still, 0% performance gain, 50% loss in storage space. 20GB for an OS? Even with all apps installed on another drive, he'll run out on space pretty soon.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,918 (3.71/day)
Likes
5,224
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX630 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#17
But still, 0% performance gain, 50% loss in storage space. 20GB for an OS? Even with all apps installed on another drive, he'll run out on space pretty soon.
With Vista probably pending on what version he's using and if he uses system restore. Then again there's the compatability folder which people are seeing at large sizes too.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (1.88/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#18
But still, 0% performance gain, 50% loss in storage space. 20GB for an OS? Even with all apps installed on another drive, he'll run out on space pretty soon.
Raid 1 isnt 0 performance gain. You get the same gain as Raid 0 for read speed, but no improvement in write speed. Though like you say, you still end up with only 40gb.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,188 (0.56/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TaichiTig
Processor 6800K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock X99 Taichi
Memory 32GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) 1060 3GB
Storage 1TB 960 Evo, 1TB 850 Evo, 7x 6TB X300 in DrivePool
Display(s) BenQ PD3200U + Samsung C32HG70
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Behringer UMC404HD, 2x JBL LSR308, Sennheiser HD558, Beyerdynamic DT-1350, Etyomic HF3
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Deck Legend
Software Win10
#19
Hey Ace, it depends on the specific models you have. What brand and models are the 40s and the 250? My answer will depend a lot on that.

If everything was equal and you wouldn't mind reinstalling your OSs in the event of a drive failure, I'd say RAID the 40s, partition them with Vista at the beginning of the array and then XP after that, installing programs closest to the beginning in order of their priority, and making sure to leave a few gigs free on each partition.

Then, regularly back up anything you don't want to lose to the 250, and use that for file storage. But again, it depends on the models!
 
Top