• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Just when you think MS is getting a little Smarter/Microsoft kills off autorun

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#1
Microsoft has always claimed that Autorun was safe, however not it admits that the amount of malware spreading through this feature has shot up. However Microsoft is still worried that disabling Autorun would make Windows too hard for non-technical users to operate. But that is not stopping it disabling Autorun in Windows 7, Windows Vista and Windows XP soon.
http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=13475&Itemid=1

:banghead: I for one LIKE being able to just plug in a USB device and it works.....just like millions of other users.
 
Last edited:

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#2
Another reason to skip 7. I want a new OS that doesn't suck kthxbye.
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.03/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#3
so your still gonna use Vista?
Delete a link pls:) they're the same
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#4
7 is just a retarded version of Vista. If MS got Vista right with the RC of the original we wouldn't be needing 7.
They're just releasing it because they messed up with Vista the first time. SP1 with all the updates is FAST. I run Vista on a semperon + 1gb of ram and it's as fast as XP.
Prebuilt OEM's just throw in so much bloatware and the original Vista was buggy and slow to begin with.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#5
I sense some serious butthurt in this thread. Does autorun really matter that much?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#6
I dont know, I dont really care much for Autorun, its not a deal breaker.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#7
I never really liked autorun, it tends to do things that I don't intend to do when I insert media.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#8
Exactly. Its lazy people that will say "OMFG windows 7 is teh suckz0ard, no autorun wtf wtf wtf!!!!111!11!111!!!!!"

Get over it, bloody hell, it takes me under a second to go into my computer, stop being daft.
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.03/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#9
I have a button on my keyboard that leads me right into my computer:)
 

Studabaker

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.35/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#10
:banghead: I for one LIKE being able to just plug in a USB device and it works.....just like millions of other users.
errmmmm... autorun does NOT affect that. autorun is a totally different thing, you'll still be able to plug in a USB device and have it just work. autorun is when there is an autorun.ini on a device that tells it to execute a certain program on the device. you'll still get the window that pops up with options of what to do when you insert media, it's a totally different thing.
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.03/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#11
and inf
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#12
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#14
Why would they disable autorun? Its already at a safe stage anyway, nothing can run as admin without UAC, and whenever I plug something in or stick in a disc it asks me what I want to do.

I call BS on this article, its Fud after all.
 

Polarman

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,626 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Rimouski
System Name Polar's Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II 975BE
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD65 (Bios 18.7)
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Led
Memory Gskill 8GB DDR3-1333 (8,8,8,21)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6870 Hawk
Storage WD Raptor 250 - WD RE4 500GB
Display(s) Samsung T240 (1920 X1200)
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 (Red)
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit + SP1
#15
I don't mind the Autorun feautre because at least you can decide what you want to run. I do mind software that puts crap in the Autorun. Exemple: Quicktime.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#16
Duxx, holy hell that is some amazing download you got, who is your ISP.

P.S. Sorry to hijack the thread on asking this :)

P.P.S. I want to install windows, I just need to put my other HDD in and go that route.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.79/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#17
Why would they disable autorun? Its already at a safe stage anyway, nothing can run as admin without UAC, and whenever I plug something in or stick in a disc it asks me what I want to do.

I call BS on this article, its Fud after all.
What about those that have UAC disabled?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#18

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.03/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#19
It makes me feel safe, but I don't know what coders get up to:p
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,201 (1.67/day)
Likes
982
System Name Phantom Skylake
Processor Intel i5 6600k @ 4.5GHZ w/ Corsair H80i CPU AiO w/Corsair 120mm SP120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus z170-A
Cooling 4x120mm Corsair SP120 RBG fans
Memory G.skill DDR4 3200MHz 2x4GB (Soon to be Corsair Vengeance RBG)
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Coming Soon
#20
It makes me feel safe, but I don't know what coders get up to:p
UAC is pointless. Your just as safe turning it off as you were without having it on XP.
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#21
Nice, one less feature I have to disable my self :) You'll never get autorun to be right with a USB memory filled with pictures, music and videos and other files. "Open Folder" option would work, unless you are readyboosting or going to boot of the stick.

Better just do it manually, at least there'll be one less click in near future (having to close autorun dialog). Oh and I have My Computer always open, if only they'd fix it not refreshing drive space automatically :)
 

h3llb3nd4

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
3,323 (1.03/day)
Likes
299
Location
Durban, South Africa
System Name My mobo is Laughing at me
Processor E7400
Motherboard P5KPL-E Bios flashed to 0601 (Piece of poo!!)
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120a
Memory GENERIC 2 GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) NONE!! Beat that!!
Storage 500GB SAMSUNG SATAII, 250GB SAMSUNG SATAII and o'l crappy 4gb maxtor
Display(s) ACER X223W Q
Case AEROCOOL ZERODEGREE (planning to mod)
Audio Device(s) REALTEK ONBOARD
Power Supply GIGABYTE 460W
Software Win 7 x86 build 7022
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1m 17.000 :(
#22
UAC is pointless. Your just as safe turning it off as you were without having it on XP.
Yeah, But I always leave it on:p

I think M$ should just have the option of opening the folder instead of letting us choose the programs.
 

mknawabi

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#23
I really don't understand how some are complaining about autorun being disabled. For USB drives, it will pop up a dialog asking you whether you want to view the folder or not. Is that seriously not good enough?

For CDs however, microsoft stated that they would still allow the autorun function to be listed as an option in the dialog.

Autorun is a pretty big security risk, and Microsoft is saving a lot of headaches from the IT crowd for this.
 

Studabaker

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
1,116 (0.35/day)
Likes
73
Location
Somewhere in the underground
System Name Built Entirely With Parts From CompUSA
Processor E7400 2.8 @ 3.6 [9.0*400/1.31v]
Motherboard Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Cooling Masscool 8WA741
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) BFG 9800GTX+OC; GTS250 BIOS
Storage 2x WD 250GB AAKS in RAID0!
Display(s) 19" I-Inc LCD @ 1440x900
Case Ultra X-Blaster Clear Side
Audio Device(s) Audigy with X-Fi drivers; Logitech X-540s
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software Vista 32-Bit
#24
Nice, one less feature I have to disable my self :) You'll never get autorun to be right with a USB memory filled with pictures, music and videos and other files. "Open Folder" option would work, unless you are readyboosting or going to boot of the stick.

Better just do it manually, at least there'll be one less click in near future (having to close autorun dialog). Oh and I have My Computer always open, if only they'd fix it not refreshing drive space automatically :)
Wow, some people did NOT read my post about how AutoRun is NOT AutoPlay. AutoPlay is what you are referring to and it is here to stay.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#25
AutoRun you set a program to run sutomticaly depending on the media type or file type

so you say vlc to automatically play any mpeg videos


autoplay is that the box that brings up a list of commands like view and a list of programs to run it on?