1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Kaby Lake Es bios ?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Dvorski, May 19, 2017.

?

Will you get the Kabylake Es cpus?

  1. Yes

    2 vote(s)
    13.3%
  2. No

    13 vote(s)
    86.7%
  1. Dvorski New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I found kaby lake es called QKYN, QKYL and QKYP, , but what I dont know is if they work with the custom bios for skylake es procesors and I'm wondering if anyone here knows any bios moding site that has them for download or if the old bioses work with these ones ty in advance
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 20, 2017
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,416 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,129
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    ES processors are generally not as good as production ones so I wouldn't bother.

    I voted no.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,930 (5.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,114
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Maybe things have changed recently, but last time I had an ES processor, you didn't need any special BIOS. As long as the BIOS supports the production chip, it will support the ES version.

    You can get some really good deals on ES/QS processors. I've had a few and they've all been good. The only drawback I've has was slightly worse overclocking results, but only maybe a couple hundred MHz at most.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,416 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,129
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Interesting, I've based my advice on articles and forum posts saying they're it so great to buy. Not bought one myself and good to know that a decent deal can still be had.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2017
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,956 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,160
    just like ES GPUs, they are pretty much as raw as you can get.
     
    qubit says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Finland
    I remember the "good old times" when ES P4's were unlocked. But for me, I guess, if I'd get a cheap ES chip somewhere then why not.
     
  7. Toothless

    Toothless

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    4,851 (3.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Washington, USA
    Isn't it in a sense illegal to sell ES processors? In the interest of Intel/AMD of course.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,240 (10.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,211
    Do not post prices or websites that sell these.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Dvorski New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Why? Against the rules or?
     
  10. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Finland
    They aren't meant to consumers and they're kind of "stolen" property.
     
  11. Dvorski New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well I know that lol but can we still share info on the bios or is that against the rules as well?
     
  12. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Finland
    Dunno, let the moderators decide. :)
     
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,294 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,521
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    I use ES CPUs on Z270 on a daily basis, never needed any BIOS, in fact I haven't needed a BIOS for Intel ES CPUs ever (so say since 2600K days, since that when I started getting ES chips).
     
    newtekie1 and Toothless say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,416 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,129
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    I knew there was a catch to them. You'll never find me buying one if it's not 100% legit.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  15. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Finland
    I just don't get that how they can end up to consumers? Usually they are review samples etc., but do reviewers "lose" them or what?
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,930 (5.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,114
    Location:
    Indiana, USA

    Some reviewers sell them once they are done with them. Some sellers get them in bulk when they are sent to electronic recycling places and snag them to sell instead of recycling them like they are supposed to.

    I contacted Intel once when I bought one of my ES processors. They basically told me they don't care if people sell/buy ES processors once the product has been released on the market. They just don't want pre-release products getting out in the wild, and will go after those.
     
    9700 Pro says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,026
    Location:
    Finland
    Ah ok. So unless it's under NDA, they don't care, which is kinda logical. Thanks for answering. :toast:
     
  18. alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,505 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,293
    Some pre-built servers come with ES chips. Dell, HP, etc, they all sell servers with ES chips. They are orders by large firms, and they don't care whether they get ES.

    When new CPU or platform get released, these firms upgrade and the older ones are literally thrown out and get parted out. The ES CPUs are coming from those sources.
     
  19. Dvorski New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did you use skylake or Kaby Lake es procesor?
     
  20. yotano211

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    847 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    853
    I once had a i7 920xm ES and i7 3920xm ES cpu for 2 different laptops. The 920xm ran very hot, it was able to overclock to 3.0hgz only, most 920xm where able to do 3.3-3.6 easily. The 3920xm on the other hand overclocked much better than any production chip. That baby was able to hit 4.7ghz, my friend's 3920xm only hit 4.5 with a slightly higher voltage.
    These are all max speeds those processors were able to hit. The daily speeds were much lower than that. the 920xm at 2.8 and the 3020xm at 4.2ghz.

    ES processor can be both bad and good, it really depends on how late or early into the production the processor was made.
     
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,294 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,521
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    Both, actually, as well as 6950X ES and 4770K ES all running in my house right now, no special BIOSes required. It would make my job here on TPU very difficult if I did have to use special BIOS, since that is not what the end user gets, and as such, may not accurately reflect performance.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Dvorski New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    huh, are you willing to try out the kabylake es? =D
    I dont have alot of money so i dont wana try and fail
     
  23. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,481 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,113
    Location:
    Vinewood
    If you can get it and send it to him I'm sure Cadaveca is willing to test it for you...;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    16,294 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,521
    Location:
    Parkland County, Alberta
    Try? Like this one? (7350K ES, one you did not list)

    [​IMG]


    Personally, I would never buy an ES chip. I get these CPUs from Intel's partners so I can complete my motherboard and memory reviews here on TPU. I'm one of those people that are supposed to have this type of chip. I still have every one I was given.

    Intel's policy on ES CPU are pretty clear; they are not for sale, and you should never buy one. Intel has a page explaining their position on these CPUs:

    http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/processors/000005719.html

    As you can see by the bolded part, there are times when ES CPUs are given out under other circumstances. If you have one in a prebuilt PC, you should ask for a real CPU, that has a warranty. This is why I will not buy one, and recommend that you do not either; this CPU will have no warranty, and should it fail or not work, you do not really have any way to get a replacement in the proper fashion. That is why on the "grey market", these CPUs will be to be very "affordable". But to me, not having a warranty is not affordable.

    Do not buy.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Dvorski New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah like that one, did it work on a regular z270 mb? And ik it's not safe and it could be broken but the site that's selling them has a one month warranty and a full refund if it's broken or not working and it's like 30% of the price here In Croatia so I can't pass if I know they will work on a normal mb
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)