• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Kaspersky Update Quarantines Windows Explorer

Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#1
We all know that Windows Explorer can be a bit of a nuisance from time to time, but classifying it as malware is a little extreme. However, that’s just what an update for Kaspersky Lab’s antivirus did earlier this week, resulting in explorer.exe being quarantined or, in extreme cases, deleted. The update, which was released at around 7:00pm on Wednesday, was only active for about two hours before Kaspersky became aware of the issue and withdrew it to limit the damaged it caused. David Emm, a senior technology consultant at Kaspersky, gave the following statement:
This is classic false-alarm territory. We will check through our systems and see if we can tighten them up so we don't run into this problem in the future. No antivirus company, including ourselves, can say they have never had a false alarm [but], on all fronts, we do what we can to minimise any potential risk for our customers.
Fortunately only one corporate customer and a handful of home users have reported being affected by this problem.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Messages
528 (0.14/day)
Likes
13
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
System Name mAkS
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E0 E8400 @3.0Ghz (Acheived 4.4Ghz On Stock Cooling)
Motherboard Asus P5K-V (Dead :[ )
Cooling CPU + Front + Rear + Side
Memory XMS2 DHX TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX/800 BUS
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600 GT Overclocked
Storage Seagate Sata II 250 GB ++ 500 GB
Display(s) Hp 2009f 20-inch Wide-screen
Case Legend
Audio Device(s) Build-In 8 CHannel (Dell 5.1")
Power Supply CoolerMaster 460W eXtreme Power Plus
Software Many
Benchmark Scores E8400 hardware rank 94th on hwbot in wPrime :D
#2
I am affected to,, thats why I keep getting errors about explorer.exe, I will update as soon as possible, thanks for this info
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Good thing I ditched that crap years ago. I never liked Kaspersky, too many false alarms, system hangs, and huge amounts of system resources used.

Having false alarms is something that is in the nature of AV software, but alerting to explorer.exe is just ridiculous. Though I'm really not surprised it came from Kaspersky, they false alarmed on pretty much everything in the 2 years I used it.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,008 (0.25/day)
Likes
63
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#4
i was not affected at all kaspersky was off for a few days because of gaming, and i just forgot to turn it back on. :)
 

hacker111

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
332 (0.09/day)
Likes
1
Location
MA United States
#5
If only a handful of people were affected by this problem and there were no major issues..I would just forget it and move on..instead of wasting time
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
850 (0.22/day)
Likes
23
Location
USA
#6
He could have always come back with a whity responce like "We apoligize our software was doing its job. We will ask Microsoft to do theirs." : )
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.74/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#7
Good thing I ditched that crap years ago. I never liked Kaspersky, too many false alarms, system hangs, and huge amounts of system resources used.

Having false alarms is something that is in the nature of AV software, but alerting to explorer.exe is just ridiculous. Though I'm really not surprised it came from Kaspersky, they false alarmed on pretty much everything in the 2 years I used it.
You must had that "potentially dangerous software" tick on. Been using for a year now and not a single false alarm, no hangs ever and uses "massive" 1.5megs of memory :p

Didn't notice anything about this, but I boot so seldom that some updates aren't installed immidiately.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,544
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#8
You must had that "potentially dangerous software" tick on. Been using for a year now and not a single false alarm, no hangs ever and uses "massive" 1.5megs of memory :p

Didn't notice anything about this, but I boot so seldom that some updates aren't installed immidiately.
^ what he said. i ticked that damn thing on the first install and it was a freaking huge pain in the ass. with that OFF, the program is great, i never get alerts/popups.... and never any false alarms either. (i use KIS, the version with popup blockers + firewall included)
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#9
^ what he said. i ticked that damn thing on the first install and it was a freaking huge pain in the ass. with that OFF, the program is great, i never get alerts/popups.... and never any false alarms either. (i use KIS, the version with popup blockers + firewall included)
I agree. And KIS 6 & 7 loads to about 40MB total. Hardly a resource hog.