• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Keep 35 GB HDD Space Handy for Max Payne 3

How do you get the majority of games on your system?

  • I buy the physical game

    Votes: 18 24.3%
  • I use digital distribution

    Votes: 42 56.8%
  • I download it.. differently..

    Votes: 14 18.9%

  • Total voters
    74
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
Location
Bahrain
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard Asus P5QL-E
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 4GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX260
Storage 2x Seagate Barracuda 250GB @ RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2253BW
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Creative XtremeGamer
Power Supply Coolermaster CM550
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#26
Naaah !

It's big in size just because it has all the languages single package !!

So if you install English only it may need approx 10 -15GB !
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
3,404 (1.09/day)
Likes
670
Location
Brunswick, GA
System Name Haz0
Processor i7-2700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3
Cooling Chicken Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripshits X 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5850
Storage Kingston 128GB SSD + WD Black 640GB + 2x 1.5TB
Display(s) 24" Acer G245HQ + 19" Lenovo L194
Case Antec NSK-4482 Orangified
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7: Electric Boogaloo
#27
Ugh, of course it "can benefit from" a GTX 680 + i7. They should have put more thought into what you actually need to run it maxed out fluidly (45-60fps), which I'm sure would be any quad core 2.5GHz+ and a 6870+/560+.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,023 (3.43/day)
Likes
17,875
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#28
Rockstar said on twitter that Max Payne 3 is not ported.
they showed us an extremely impressive demo at nvidia kepler editor's day, but played it with a gamepad
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,398 (5.83/day)
Likes
8,918
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#29
I dunno - I personally bought a lot of games off steam during the christmas/new year deals period
Oh I know man. I'm just saying the average Joe Gamer doesn't normally do 35GB a month worth of game downloading. Some cant even if they wanted due to bandwidth cap.

Naaah !

It's big in size just because it has all the languages single package !!

So if you install English only it may need approx 10 -15GB !
This makes way more sense.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
90 (0.04/day)
Likes
16
#30
The whole point is, a blu-ray movie can easily run into that size, and ALL that is is video and audio for about 2 hours. Just imagine, if you had cinematics that ran around around 2 hours in your game, you'd already be up to your 25gb limit RIGHT there. Before any models, textures, cutscenes, music, audio, game engine, etc!

Think before you post people. 35gb is nothing now a days. That's why internet is getting faster and cheaper, and you can buy a 3 tb disk for 140euro. Another reason why SSDs are so overpriced, they are useless... as I've been saying for a while now.

And as a bandwidth rebuttal: I'm currently running @ 100mbits for 40euro/month in Holland, even in eastern European countries they've had this for a while at similar prices. If your country isn't supporting these speeds or your provider isn't: you live in a 3rd world country. Yes, don't complain on the forum, complain to your government and get yourself out of that ditch.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,398 (5.83/day)
Likes
8,918
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#31
The whole point is, a blu-ray movie can easily run into that size, and ALL that is is video and audio for about 2 hours. Just imagine, if you had cinematics that ran around around 2 hours in your game, you'd already be up to your 25gb limit RIGHT there. Before any models, textures, cutscenes, music, audio, game engine, etc!

Think before you post people. 35gb is nothing now a days. That's why internet is getting faster and cheaper, and you can buy a 3 tb disk for 140euro. Another reason why SSDs are so overpriced, they are useless... as I've been saying for a while now.
Wow man......wow.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#32
How is that? It's faster to download from torrents than ANY other medium, ie Steam, Origin or directly from a website.

"by KingPing (12:31 PM) - Reply
Wonder if the high requirements are because of the stunning graphics or to compensate and eventual shitty port"

This... shitty port, it looks like GTA4 with a few added effects, and AA looks horrible.
Actually i max my download speed though Steam which is 3.4MBs. Although this is just one of those games i want a hard copy of like with Hitman and The Witcher for example..

What is funny as i use a external DVD player it be faster to download it though steam than using the DVD player HAHAHA.

And as for GTA4 was just to much for current PC's and they gave people graphic options that trampled all over their new system.. Sure the game was far from perfect but it better than a load of other games out their and gave top notch physics that most games don't even get close to.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
90 (0.04/day)
Likes
16
#33
Actually i max my download speed though Steam which is 3.4MBs. Although this is just one of those games i want a hard copy of like with Hitman and The Witcher for example..

What is funny as i use a external DVD player it be faster to download it though steam than using the DVD player HAHAHA.
On Steam I'd usually get 6MBs, and 8MBs if I'm really lucky, that means any day that there are no sales :) I can never reach my 9-10MBs that I get on torrents :)
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,998 (0.62/day)
Likes
1,578
Location
Visalia, CA
System Name Crimson Titan 2.5
Processor Intel Core i7 5930K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage V Extreme
Cooling CPU: Swiftech H220-X, RAM: Geil Cyclone 2, VGA: Custom EK water loop
Memory 8x4GBs G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 XMP2 3000MHz @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX Titan X SCs in SLI under full cover EK water blocks
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 28" 4K G-Sync - 2x27" Acer HN274s 1920x1080 120Hz
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T - EK Pump/Reservoir, 360mm EK Radiator
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro on Logitech THX Z-5500 5.1/Razer Tiamat 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Silvestone ST1500 1.5 kW
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 9
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#34
Weird way of posting system requirements, it's like they just posted the specs for a tipical high end system as recommended specs? My system fits the bill perfectly, if this game does indeed max my system components as advertised, this game instantly went from way bellow my gaming radar to "incoming bandit! man all battlestations!" in my radar :p

Here's hoping for a proper return to the limelight to good old Max :D I really hope this is not just a marketing ploy.

The next Crysis everyone?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#35
Help me understand this.

A company that has had issues with console to PC ports has finally thrown their hands in the air and shouted "F*** it, we'll just make it for the PC!" After saying this, they've shown a dedication to pushing the limits of everything (Crysis 2.0 maybe?). They've shown tech demos that are impressive.

After doing all of this, and telling us that its just for PCs, people from the PC crowd are looking at this and complaining about how system intensive they estimate it is going to be. What?


I'm no fan of the more recent forays by Rockstar, but they are pushing boundaries and showing that they can make money at it. The games industry needs someone like them, so that we don't have something like a semi-annual Halo to match our annual Madden/FIFA games.


Like them or hate them, Rockstar is pushing the limits of gaming, which everyone on this forum should appreciate. Even if Max Payne 3 isn't on your wish list, this type of thing will help other developers justify more time and effort being put into games than is currently seen as "financially reasonable."
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#36
The large disk requirements are most likely due to lots of game assets (cinematics, huge texture files, lots of HD audio), but it's still a lot.
My finger points to huge textures. GTA4 was 15-16 GiB owing almost entirely to textures. They're taking textures to the next level on Max Payne 3 (and presumably GTA5) to satisfy all those people out there with 2+ GiB VRAM graphics cards. :p


I think the more outstanding figure is the 2-16 GiB RAM. 16 GiB impiles 64-bit. This might be the first ever 64-bit commercial Windows game that actually has a reason for being 64-bit rather than just being an advertising gimmick.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,398 (5.83/day)
Likes
8,918
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#37
Help me understand this.

A company that has had issues with console to PC ports has finally thrown their hands in the air and shouted "F*** it, we'll just make it for the PC!" After saying this, they've shown a dedication to pushing the limits of everything (Crysis 2.0 maybe?). They've shown tech demos that are impressive.

After doing all of this, and telling us that its just for PCs, people from the PC crowd are looking at this and complaining about how system intensive they estimate it is going to be. What?


I'm no fan of the more recent forays by Rockstar, but they are pushing boundaries and showing that they can make money at it. The games industry needs someone like them, so that we don't have something like a semi-annual Halo to match our annual Madden/FIFA games.


Like them or hate them, Rockstar is pushing the limits of gaming, which everyone on this forum should appreciate. Even if Max Payne 3 isn't on your wish list, this type of thing will help other developers justify more time and effort being put into games than is currently seen as "financially reasonable."
The fact you think this isn't a port is disturbing.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,902 (6.25/day)
Likes
9,994
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#38
Don't consolitis a game by its cover. :p


Edit: And I'm pretty sure I've seen this posted a third time now on TPU. I can't, for the life of me, find the first. :(
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,100 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,254
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#39
game size isn't an issue , 2.2TB available on my gaming raid, 1.2 TB available on my backup,

the fact that it looks nothing like max payne is the deal breaker. Maybe once it hits 30$ I'll pick it up off of a 75% off sale on steam. Maybe.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.80/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#40
For example, the game can take advantage of 6-core Intel Core i7-3960X, 8-core AMD FX-8150, the fastest single-GPU graphics cards in the market, as well as 16 GB of RAM.
I smell a new CPU bench.

For CPUs, this should finally be able to show their true power by using all their available cores (be those true cores, modules and / or threads): it's about freaking time some game did this!!!

About the 35GB HDD requirement: a bit steep for your average game but this is the way of the future.

More and more games will have these kinds of requirements (not referring to HDD space) to take full advantage of the game. Obviously, the game will still run on lower hardware: Rockstar wouldn't drive away their own customers by requiring a performance GPU, for example.

smart antipiracy move ;)
Not really: I've seen many 100+ GB stuff out there (not games, ofc). It will detract many, though.

The whole point is, a blu-ray movie can easily run into that size, and ALL that is is video and audio for about 2 hours. Just imagine, if you had cinematics that ran around around 2 hours in your game, you'd already be up to your 25gb limit RIGHT there. Before any models, textures, cutscenes, music, audio, game engine, etc!

Think before you post people. 35gb is nothing now a days. That's why internet is getting faster and cheaper, and you can buy a 3 tb disk for 140euro. Another reason why SSDs are so overpriced, they are useless... as I've been saying for a while now.

And as a bandwidth rebuttal: I'm currently running @ 100mbits for 40euro/month in Holland, even in eastern European countries they've had this for a while at similar prices. If your country isn't supporting these speeds or your provider isn't: you live in a 3rd world country. Yes, don't complain on the forum, complain to your government and get yourself out of that ditch.
If cinematics are the sole reason for the steep HDD requirements, then it's a monster fail as pirates could just strip them from the game and presto: you'll have a much easier to download game and this will actually increase pirating for this game, IMO. If high res textures are another reason, then pirates can remove them and this can shrink the game's size considerably.

As for bandwidth, i'm paying 64.99€ for 60 Mb/s but that includes TV and phone (free for land calls). Not everybody is in your or mine situation, though: just ask Kreij, for example.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
79 (0.04/day)
Likes
17
#41
What about start using Blu-Ray?
They could have made two boxed versions of this game: DVD and Blu-Ray.

That option was used in the past during the change from CD to DVD. Dual layer Blurays give you 50 GB.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
1,238 (0.31/day)
Likes
168
Location
SoCal
Processor AMD Phenom II 1055T @ 3.6ghz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus M5A97 EVO
Cooling Xigmatek SD1284
Memory 2x4GB Patriot Sector 5 PC3-12800 @ 7-8-7-24-1T 1.7V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 7950 DD @ 1100/1350 1.185V
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB + 2x7200.12 500GB Raid1
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 27" LCD 1440p @ 120hz
Case Cooler Master 690M
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 620W Eco Edition
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 / Ubuntu 12.04 x64
#42
What about start using Blu-Ray?
They could have made two boxed versions of this game: DVD and Blu-Ray.

That option was used in the past during the change from CD to DVD. Dual layer Blurays give you 50 GB.
This
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,086 (0.23/day)
Likes
357
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor Phenom II x4 BE 970-3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6850 Cyclone;860/1100 Mhz
Storage SSD-840 pro 128 Gb;Seagate 500Gb;WD-1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 2032BW
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Cooleer Master RP M520
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win7 64bit sp1
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
#43
lol i can download it in 1 hr....
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#44
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,779 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,772
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#45
they showed us an extremely impressive demo at nvidia kepler editor's day, but played it with a gamepad
I wonder if behind the curtain there was a PC, or XBox... or what?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#46
If your country isn't supporting these speeds or your provider isn't: you live in a 3rd world country.
Huh. Never really viewed the US as a 3rd world country, but I guess I should start.

Yes, don't complain on the forum, complain to your government and get yourself out of that ditch.
Our government doesn't supply our internet, private companies do. The problem is with demographics and population densities. It's changing here in the sticks, but change isn't all that quick many times. Thankfully the little telco coop nearby is expanding fiber in our area (something the big players were never interested in doing as the ROI would pretty much suck).
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#47
not really. Size of the torrent means very little. as most people have fast connections and eventually the as more people complete the download and start seeding the file, other downloaders will get it even faster then the last guy did.

as far as the hard drive space goes. I dont install my games to C: but to another hard drive dedicated to my games. which has over 500GB of space left for future games.

So i think the people who have a problem with the 35GB space requirement will be a minority - slightly more then a handful of people shall we say.

So no - theres no 'anti-piracy' move there apart from steams own DRM or the fact that you might need to register with Rockstar to be able to play the game in the first place etc etc
Not really - As you should know being British, a lot of the ISPs here have monthly fair usage bandwidth caps of around 20-30GB. So if somebody is on BT and is silly enough to download this game in a single sit in, its bye bye internet connection or stump up the reconnection fee.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#48
Pre-loads are awesome? STEAM is, and always will be my first choice for game purchases.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
90 (0.04/day)
Likes
16
#49
Huh. Never really viewed the US as a 3rd world country, but I guess I should start.



Our government doesn't supply our internet, private companies do. The problem is with demographics and population densities. It's changing here in the sticks, but change isn't all that quick many times. Thankfully the little telco coop nearby is expanding fiber in our area (something the big players were never interested in doing as the ROI would pretty much suck).
1 in 6 in the States have no food to eat, I saw this on an ad while visiting, I'd say that's real poverty.

And governments regulate, and that's what they should do when it comes to the internet. Just as if they would regulate a monopoly, or any other big company providing a service or a product to customers for an 'unfair' price. But that's a rather grey area. If most of Europe can have super fast internet speeds, I see no reason why USA should have a problem. Perhaps spend less on killing people, and more on investing in people? Hmm... food for thought. :ohwell:
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
50 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
Location
Los Angeles, CA
System Name Akuma, Iluminati
Processor 2 x Intel i7 4930K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard 2 x Asus Rampage IV Gene
Cooling 2 x Corsair H110 Push-Pull
Memory 2 x Mushkin Ridgeback Redline 16GB @ DDR3-2400
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 670 FTW SLI, EVGA GTX 650 Ti Boost
Storage 2 x Intel 320 120GB RAID0, 2 x Intel 520 180GB RAID0, TOO MANY MORE TO LIST!
Display(s) Asus PB298Q, 2 x Asus VH236H
Case Custom Tech Bench, Antec 300 Illusion
Audio Device(s) 2 x Onboard Soundblaster X-Fi III
Power Supply Corsair HX1000, Rosewill 1000w
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#50
Meh space is nothing. My gaming rig is setup with a 4.5TB RAID 0 with 5 Samsung SpinPoint F3 1TB HDD. Then I have the Intel 320 120GB SSD for the OS. I have about 1TB of games already. 35GB wont take that long to download.