• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Kepler 2D surround w/ 4 monitors? anyone ?

Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
168 (0.08/day)
Likes
19
Location
In the Ether...probably eating cheetos atm.
System Name Surprising Mini Duece
Processor i3-550 3.2ghz/core (nice little gamer, 98% games = dual core code only)
Motherboard ASUS P7H55M-LE
Cooling Cooler Master Vortex
Memory 8GB Patriot Signature Series 1.5v DDR3 1333Mhz w/ spreaders.
Video Card(s) Old slugger ... EVGA 8800GTS 640Mb SC edition. Soon to be retired.
Storage Segate Sata II 64mb cache 1TB single platter.. fast but chirpy lol
Display(s) 1x Asus VS247h-p 2ms LOVE IT, 1x Sceptre 22" Naga 2ms, 1x 20inch Samsung Syncmaster
Case Aerocool QX-2000 .. my latest project
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Seasonic x650 Gold! Primo 105Celisius Jap cap wonder.
Software Whatever I can pirate ;) lol jk .. Windows 7 legit license
Benchmark Scores LOL I still get rock steady 57-60FPS in Skyrim on medium settings no AA on this 5 year old video car
#1
Hi guys, Welcome to my forum thread. MY FIRST ONE :eek:

Ok, So I'm looking to get into a new Kepler 660 series when they come out and I am trying to wrap my head around how the 3 monitor surround ON ONE CARD is going to work. It appears that on some material I read it's going to be 3 shared and 1 independent but I could have sworn on Nvidia's site somewhere or another forum it said Kepler has the ability to do 4 independent. Can't seem to find it though... Am I wrong? Could someone please confirm or deny?

For those asking what's the big deal of independent? Well I work in IT with 3 monitors at work and the independent let's you work in sep monitors maximized without having to resize all the time and I'm kind of used to that. I could do four independent with 2 on from my onboard graphics and 2 from my card DVI ports because my P7H55 Mobo allows IGD + PEG at same time; but, then I'd have to have double connections to a couple of monitors so I could software switch to 2D surround on the fly. I'm not sure if that's even possible with the card technology if it will let me turn off/on the 2D surround in the Nvidia control panel or if it's automatic when the hardware is connected. Confirm/Deny anyone ?

My monitors of choice will be the Asus VS247H-P just for reference. It's 1920X1200 (or 1080, can't remember) LED 2ms 60hz > 1 DVI and 1 HDMI input. I know it's not 120hz but seems to be I can only get those on the 3D monitors and well also seems like not all games will run at that from what some posts were saying it's a bit problematic to get it to run at 120hz for some games and setups. I'm thinking the 2ms will help the 60hz just fine.

Also, anyone with a new GTX 680 on 3 monitors feel free to post more (or manual links) about how it works like for example 1. Is there an on or off setting in Nvidia control panel? 2. Is it all or nothing where it has to be 3 way shared + 1 independent? 3. Is it capable of at least 2 independent and possibly 4 independent? Not sure it will do four because it has only 1 Dual Link-DVI.

Finally, anyone with *cough *cough* ... AMD Eyefinity feel free to post about AMD's solution for 3 monitors I'm not opposed to hearing more about that either. I am considering that option as well. Does the AMD eyefinity let you do 4 independent? I do know the eyefinity will work with any monitor as long as same resolution and sync, so will the Nvidia from what I've read but it's recommended to have all monitors Identical.

So again, any insight on how the Kepler 1card multiple 2D/surround is going to work or how it does on the AMD side would be great. Also, please keep it cool. This is not a debate on which is better AMD vs Nvidia just looking to understand the 3+ monitor options for them both and make a decision as to which will work best for me. :)
Thanks. :toast:
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,053 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,943
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#2
*wall of text crit you for 39999 HP*

nvidia says 4 independent displays that are active at the same time, which means showing different output

dont know anything else, still waiting for delivery of my 3 monitor order
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
168 (0.08/day)
Likes
19
Location
In the Ether...probably eating cheetos atm.
System Name Surprising Mini Duece
Processor i3-550 3.2ghz/core (nice little gamer, 98% games = dual core code only)
Motherboard ASUS P7H55M-LE
Cooling Cooler Master Vortex
Memory 8GB Patriot Signature Series 1.5v DDR3 1333Mhz w/ spreaders.
Video Card(s) Old slugger ... EVGA 8800GTS 640Mb SC edition. Soon to be retired.
Storage Segate Sata II 64mb cache 1TB single platter.. fast but chirpy lol
Display(s) 1x Asus VS247h-p 2ms LOVE IT, 1x Sceptre 22" Naga 2ms, 1x 20inch Samsung Syncmaster
Case Aerocool QX-2000 .. my latest project
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Seasonic x650 Gold! Primo 105Celisius Jap cap wonder.
Software Whatever I can pirate ;) lol jk .. Windows 7 legit license
Benchmark Scores LOL I still get rock steady 57-60FPS in Skyrim on medium settings no AA on this 5 year old video car
#3
*wall of text crit you for 39999 HP*

nvidia says 4 independent displays that are active at the same time, which means showing different output

dont know anything else, still waiting for delivery of my 3 monitor order
Surely I crit more than that!... go big or go home right?
Ty for 4 independent verification.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,998 (0.62/day)
Likes
1,578
Location
Visalia, CA
System Name Crimson Titan 2.5
Processor Intel Core i7 5930K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage V Extreme
Cooling CPU: Swiftech H220-X, RAM: Geil Cyclone 2, VGA: Custom EK water loop
Memory 8x4GBs G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 XMP2 3000MHz @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX Titan X SCs in SLI under full cover EK water blocks
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 28" 4K G-Sync - 2x27" Acer HN274s 1920x1080 120Hz
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T - EK Pump/Reservoir, 360mm EK Radiator
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro on Logitech THX Z-5500 5.1/Razer Tiamat 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Silvestone ST1500 1.5 kW
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 9
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#4
I think you might new an HDMI to DVI and Display Port to DVI adapter to run four DVI monitors from one card, or you can use a regular HDMI cable if your monitors have such connection.

I have three monitors, but I also use two 680 cards, so I connect two DVI cables to the upper card, and one to the lower. Hope that helps :)
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#5
they say it is possible
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2012
Messages
168 (0.08/day)
Likes
19
Location
In the Ether...probably eating cheetos atm.
System Name Surprising Mini Duece
Processor i3-550 3.2ghz/core (nice little gamer, 98% games = dual core code only)
Motherboard ASUS P7H55M-LE
Cooling Cooler Master Vortex
Memory 8GB Patriot Signature Series 1.5v DDR3 1333Mhz w/ spreaders.
Video Card(s) Old slugger ... EVGA 8800GTS 640Mb SC edition. Soon to be retired.
Storage Segate Sata II 64mb cache 1TB single platter.. fast but chirpy lol
Display(s) 1x Asus VS247h-p 2ms LOVE IT, 1x Sceptre 22" Naga 2ms, 1x 20inch Samsung Syncmaster
Case Aerocool QX-2000 .. my latest project
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Seasonic x650 Gold! Primo 105Celisius Jap cap wonder.
Software Whatever I can pirate ;) lol jk .. Windows 7 legit license
Benchmark Scores LOL I still get rock steady 57-60FPS in Skyrim on medium settings no AA on this 5 year old video car
#6
I think you might new an HDMI to DVI and Display Port to DVI adapter to run four DVI monitors from one card, or you can use a regular HDMI cable if your monitors have such connection.

I have three monitors, but I also use two 680 cards, so I connect two DVI cables to the upper card, and one to the lower. Hope that helps :)
Thanks for reply, Yea I'll probably need the DP>DVI connector althought by the time I get all matched monitors I'll probably have 2 cards in SLI. :) first monitor ships TODAY! yea!
PS props on the 2 GTX680s! :respect:


they say it is possible
Thanks Bo$$,
:toast:
 
Last edited: