• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

KERNEL32.dll issues.

Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
107 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Location
Pensacola, Fl
System Name Intel
Processor Intel core i5
Motherboard Intel DH57DD
Memory 2-2gb kingston DDR3-1333/PC-10600 SDRAM
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT ( 1GB DDR 2 )
Storage Western Digital SATA/ 32MB Cache (WD52002AALX) 500gb
Case CM Storm - Scout Edition
Audio Device(s) unknown
Power Supply VisionTek 700W
Software Windows 7
#1
Greetings partygoers,
Installing a clean version of XP Pro on my brothers legacy machine. After everything is complete I wanted to install AVG on the pc,,I get the Kernel32.dll error. Explorer was giving me some issues so I decided to go for Google chrome, get the same message. I even decided to just go ahead an do another clean install again thinking that something might have happened during the first install but still the same issue.
In regard to the AVG and Chrome issue I did try to save the files and then install but that did not work either. Explorer has been incredibly slow and am getting the "the program is not responding blah blah blah,"
thanks in advance for the help.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,808 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,579
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#2
repair the kernal32.dll if not possible, then u should check if memory is unstable...
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,429 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,945
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#3
Is your copy of Windows legit? Also did you format both the main and MBR partitions during the installs?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
107 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Location
Pensacola, Fl
System Name Intel
Processor Intel core i5
Motherboard Intel DH57DD
Memory 2-2gb kingston DDR3-1333/PC-10600 SDRAM
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT ( 1GB DDR 2 )
Storage Western Digital SATA/ 32MB Cache (WD52002AALX) 500gb
Case CM Storm - Scout Edition
Audio Device(s) unknown
Power Supply VisionTek 700W
Software Windows 7
#4
The copy is legit. Ummm in regards to doing to doing 2 separate partitions I am not sure. I installed XP as I normally would and after the issues I looked it up just to make sure that I did it right and by what I can see I did correctly. Also XP Pro is the only OS on the computer.
Last night I also ran the "repair" on XP and still nothing. BTW, also received a mshtml.dll error as well.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,429 (5.77/day)
Likes
8,945
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#5
The copy is legit. Ummm in regards to doing to doing 2 separate partitions I am not sure. I installed XP as I normally would and after the issues I looked it up just to make sure that I did it right and by what I can see I did correctly. Also XP Pro is the only OS on the computer.
Last night I also ran the "repair" on XP and still nothing. BTW, also received a mshtml.dll error as well.
Well this could be a few things.

1. Are you up to date with everything before you install anything non-OS related.
2. Did you install all the hardware drivers before anything non-OS related.
3. When you install Windows it creates two partitions. One for the OS and one for the MBR. Sometimes a virus can hide in the MBR and when you reinstall an the OS it just re-infects itself. Im not saying this is the case but it is an option. You need to boot from the disk and delete both partitions to where there is only one partition of unallocated space. Then install windows on to that. Windows will create a NEW MBR and in theory remove anything unwanted.

Personally I believe your issue is software related. Like a driver or an update that is causing the issue. If it were memory or hardware chances are on a fresh install it would give you a different kind of error or problem. The fact its the same issue time and time again leads me to believe its something you are doing......for forgetting to do. Also I wouldn't use AVG on an older system. Its a resource hog. Try using MSE instead.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
107 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Location
Pensacola, Fl
System Name Intel
Processor Intel core i5
Motherboard Intel DH57DD
Memory 2-2gb kingston DDR3-1333/PC-10600 SDRAM
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT ( 1GB DDR 2 )
Storage Western Digital SATA/ 32MB Cache (WD52002AALX) 500gb
Case CM Storm - Scout Edition
Audio Device(s) unknown
Power Supply VisionTek 700W
Software Windows 7
#6
The next course of action I will take is to start the pc in safe mode and then look to install any updates to drivers that might be needed.
I also ran into this issue last night, that after a painstaking long time for windows to get to the Windows update site, one I went to click to install the service pack, the pc just restarted on its own. I'm not growing frustrated with this though, because this issue is NOT on my pc. lol
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
107 (0.05/day)
Likes
1
Location
Pensacola, Fl
System Name Intel
Processor Intel core i5
Motherboard Intel DH57DD
Memory 2-2gb kingston DDR3-1333/PC-10600 SDRAM
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT ( 1GB DDR 2 )
Storage Western Digital SATA/ 32MB Cache (WD52002AALX) 500gb
Case CM Storm - Scout Edition
Audio Device(s) unknown
Power Supply VisionTek 700W
Software Windows 7
#7
o.k. I'm getting somewhere, I think! My vga is not recognized. When I run DxDiag all that is says for video card is 'vga.dll' I cannot watch video and when I go to the adobe website to get flash player the whole middle of the page is blank. I downloaded and saved avg and chrome and still received the Kernel32 error.
I have the name of the vga and will go online and look for drivers for it.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2013
Messages
74 (0.05/day)
Likes
2
#8
For fix kernel32.dll Error just follow this tutorials :- "youtu.be/_kFmrvcYZFc"