• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Keyboard keys stick in games

Rap Dog

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello everybody. Since I upgraded to Service Pack 3 (WinXP), I've been having some issues regarding my keyboard. I must notice that when I upgraded to SP3, I also upgraded my whole CPU.

Whenever I'm playing, sometimes the keys .. "stick", but not physically. Example: I'm playing Battlefield 2, and I'm moving around as usual, but then I release the left key, and my character keeps going to the left, when the key itself is in it's idle position. I need to press once again left to "unbug" the character.

It happens with different frequencies. Although it's not constant, it does happens a moderate ammount of times whenever I'm playing.

For some reason, this doesn't seems to happen in Windows (Messenger for example)

My specs are:

Asus P5k-E
Sapphire Radeon HD3870x2
Intel Quad Core 2.4 @ 3.2 (Q6600)
Hitachi HDD 500gb
Corsair XMS 4gb dual channel
Genius SlimStar keyobard PS/2

Hope anyone can help me. Thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
3,047 (0.86/day)
Likes
295
Location
Pontaic Michigan
System Name The Netbook
Processor Intel Atom n270
Memory 1GB DDR2 533mhz
Video Card(s) Intel G945
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 10.1" LCD
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Starter x86
#2
Are you sure sticky keys is off? It's an annoying feature they started adding in XP to help with keys sticking.
Also is your keyboard physically clean? If the button is jammed that would cause the same problem. Also another problem is the rubber/silicon contact could be stuck to the PCB
 

Rap Dog

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
Hello. I tried unselecting the sticky keys feature, but the problem remains.

Also, I wouldn't bet on the keyboard itself being the problem. Just 2 months ago it worked just fine with my old pc, and it kept like that for around 4 years!

I will take a look to the contacts, and while I'm at it, clean this keyboard a bit.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Me to

I have the EXACT same problem as you, its a shame u didn't have the awnser though. but it's not a phisical problem, when i play either half life 2 or bioshock when i let go of a key it carrys on until i tap it or it times out.

this is on my brand new laptop with vista.
and it really gets on my nerves when im trying to lean over an egde and it makes me run off.
 

homer79

New Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
Hi folks.

I've had the same problem, Ive got a wireless microsoft + mouse combo USB. But my m8 had the same problem with his system as well
I found the problem went away both time when I plugged the receiver/ keyboard into a powered USB hub. Hope you solve your problem.
I don't know if it is a power issue, or if the hub buffers the information in some way. either way it worked for me

Regards
homer
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,118 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
two people have this bug on non wireless, and ones a laptop. USB hubs wont do it.

I suggest you quit any and all applications in the background - it could be an antivirus or something doing it. You sure its not just net lag, too? make sure you test it locally, host your own games.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#7
Curious, is caps lock on? I had a problem like this with Doom3 back in the day and it was caps lock being on that pissed it off. How about numlock, or scroll lock?