• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Killer Network Interface Card for Gamers

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1


Bigfoot Networks has announced its revolutionary network interface card, Killer. Killer is the world’s first NIC designed to speed up and improve the performance of online games by giving gamers lower Pings and more Frames Per Second in their online games. It has 32bit 400MHz integrated network processor with 64MB of PC-2100 DDR memory. The Killer NIC benefits from MaxFPS technogoly by lowering CPU utilization for networking, which gives more FPS to your game than standart NICs. Ultimate Ping and PingThrottle allow users to turn up and down their ping dynamically, without impacting CPU performance. GameFirst Technology prioritizes network packets for games instead of other network activity on the system. All this technologies will give hardcore gamers the ultimate online gaming performance. The Killer NIC will be available starting on August 16th with no mention of pricing. Click here if you want to learn more.

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#2
Forget about PPU, we need THIS :D.
 

oldschool

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
104 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#4
This product ranks right up there with the beverage Jolt or the other caffeine laced Lamer beverages... The sheep will be lined up to purchase this card until they find out they are unable to use it because the latest SLI/Crossfire mobos don't have enough PCI slots to use this card with proper two-slot Vid card cooling. Gee, who wouldda thunk???

Duh !
 

wtf8269

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Messages
2,489 (0.54/day)
Likes
19
Location
Ohio
System Name Onus
Processor E8500 @ 3.95ghz ~1.25v
Motherboard ASUS P5E Deluxe
Cooling Scythe Orochi cpu, 5x 120mm Zalman red LED case fans, stock GPU coolers
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G.Skill PC8000 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 2x ASUS 3870x2s
Storage 4x160gb RAID 0 Main, 2x 500gb RAID 0 media storage.
Display(s) LG W2600H
Case Lian Li PC-A70B, painted black and other modded aspects :)
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker. Klipsch RF-3II fronts, Yamaha NS-A222 rears, Klipsch RC-3II center, Klipsch SUB12
Power Supply Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64, lots of games, photoshop n stuff.
#5
Meh... I'll pass.
 

POGE

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
1,585 (0.36/day)
Likes
33
Location
In banjo's Goats.
Processor Turion 64 ML-34 1.8Ghz
Motherboard Compaq Laptop Mobo
Cooling Stock Compaq Laptop Fan
Memory 1x 256 DDR333
Video Card(s) Radeon 200m
Storage 40GB 5200RPM HP
Display(s) Stock Laptop LCD
Case Laptop Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Stock Laptop Powerbrick
Software Windows XP Pro
#6
Looks like a nic with a pointless heatsink to me. Plus some bells and whistles.
 

Tory

New Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2005
Messages
337 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
Processor Athlon 64 X2 3800+
Motherboard Biostar TForce 6100
Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Memory 2GB G.skill DDR400
Video Card(s) 8800GTS
Storage 500GB Raid 0
Display(s) Sceptre 20.1inch wide 8ms
Case Ultra Aluminus
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 value
Power Supply Seasonic 430w
#7
Lies! A much better solution would be to get a router with prioritization like the DGL-4300. After getting that router lag isn't even a word anymore unless it's the server.
 

chronic9

New Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
y r there 2 input ports on the nic?

whats hte point of that huge HS on it, u'll never see its design anyways, unless ppl. keep a mirror on the bottom of their case......

i bet, theyll make a fata1ty edition soo too....... itll b all red with built on LEDs. rofl
iam amazed no other company is sponsoring a "pro gamer"
 

b1lk1

New Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
688 (0.15/day)
Likes
17
Location
Ontario, Canada
System Name Money pit
Processor Q2Q Q8300
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 deluxe WIFI AP@N
Cooling 120.2/Swiftech655/Apogee GT/DD Fillport & res
Memory OCZ PC3-1333MHZ 2X1GB/Kingston HYPERX PC3-1325MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4830
Storage Seagate 7200.11 1TB
Display(s) Dell 2209WA
Case some crap 5 year old generic modded case
Audio Device(s) X-FI fagtality
Power Supply PC P&C 510W
Software Vista Premium 64
#9
oldschool said:
This product ranks right up there with the beverage Jolt or the other caffeine laced Lamer beverages... The sheep will be lined up to purchase this card until they find out they are unable to use it because the latest SLI/Crossfire mobos don't have enough PCI slots to use this card with proper two-slot Vid card cooling. Gee, who wouldda thunk???

Duh !
I still have 2 out of 3 PCI slots left open even with waterblocks on my cards. The older boards will suffer, but almost all newer boards have much better spacing/layout of the PCI slots.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#10
POGE said:
Looks like a nic with a pointless heatsink to me. Plus some bells and whistles.
Yes but it looks SO SO pretty:laugh:
 

Darksaber

W1zzard's Sidekick
Staff member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
2,642 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,074
Location
Gmunden, Austria
System Name Core i7 Overclocked - Main Workstation
Processor Core i7 940 at 3.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe
Cooling Noktua U14P Super Silent
Memory 3x2GB OCZ 1600 MHz CL8
Video Card(s) 2x MSI Cyclone Radeon 6850 1GB in Crossfire - tuned to be silent
Storage G.Skill 240GB Sandforce SSD, 1x 640GB Samsung F1, 2x500GB Samsung Spinpoint, 1.5TB External Samsung
Display(s) Samsung 305T 30" 2560x1600 DVI LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCIe
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
#11
besides it being pretty pointless...why not make it PCIe x1??
 

sinner33

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
194 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Location
Canada,Ontario,Markham
System Name Pencil Pusher (Because I built it to surf the net)
Processor Intel X4 Quadcore Kentsfield @3.0Ghz @1.325V
Motherboard Gigabyte X38-DQ6
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500LED/Arctic Cooling MX-2 Paste
Memory 2x 2GB OCZ Reaper HPC 5,5,5,18 @ DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) Sapphire 3870x2 @825/1900
Storage 500GB Hitachi
Display(s) LG 24" LCD
Case Silverstone Lascala LC-17
Audio Device(s) DENON AVR-2808 RECEIVER W/ KLIPSCH SYSTEM/ ASUS XONAR D2 SOUND CARD
Power Supply Seasonic M12 700 WATT PSU
Software Windows Vista Premium 64Bit
Benchmark Scores 20000 3dMark06
#12
This thing sure looks nice. I wouldn't mind having one like everyone else :)
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.11/day)
Likes
1,331
#13
My latency to my router is under 1 millisecond, from my router to whatever host has nothing to do with my NIC. How could this NIC make my latency lower? As for CPU load, I don't think my Intel NIC gives me a huge load or anything...
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
796 (0.18/day)
Likes
37
System Name Current
Processor Core i5 2500k
Motherboard Z77MA-G45
Cooling Cooler Master Tx3
Memory 8gb DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 960 4GB GDDR5
Storage (1) SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" WQHD 2560x1440 IPS
Case Fractal Core 1000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply 430 Watt Corsair
Mouse Logitech g602
Keyboard K70 LUX Mech LB, Red LED, Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 + Hackintosh
#14
Well my question is what does it matter? unless your playing on overseas servers with friends I doubt it'll make a big difference. Most people join servers in their region anyway. I never ping in USEAST over 30 anymore and I just have standard Cable. This will have to be cheap to sell at all.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807 (0.39/day)
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#15
its pointless this thing like dan pointed out the load of the most onboard nics is under 1%

and the ping depends apart from lan on your dsl/cable speed


But on Lan it may helps you a bit^^
 

POGE

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
1,585 (0.36/day)
Likes
33
Location
In banjo's Goats.
Processor Turion 64 ML-34 1.8Ghz
Motherboard Compaq Laptop Mobo
Cooling Stock Compaq Laptop Fan
Memory 1x 256 DDR333
Video Card(s) Radeon 200m
Storage 40GB 5200RPM HP
Display(s) Stock Laptop LCD
Case Laptop Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Stock Laptop Powerbrick
Software Windows XP Pro
#16
The only way it will sell is if its under $30.
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.10/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#17
oldschool said:
The sheep will be lined up to purchase this card until they find out they are unable to use it because the latest SLI/Crossfire mobos don't have enough PCI slots to use this card with proper two-slot Vid card cooling. Gee, who wouldda thunk???
Well, I use an ASUS A8N-SLI board, & it has:

A.)
2 x16 PCI-e SLI vidcard slots (& the 2nd can function up to PCI x4 when NOT in "SLI" - this is going to house a DDRDrive 4gb DDR PCI-e Solid-State drive when it releases)

B.) 1 x4 PCI-e slot (used by a Promise Caching HDD Controller 128mb ECC RAM & Intel SuperI/O chip-brain for it)

C.) 1 PCI-e x1 slot (this you have a point on oldschool) which my GeForce 7900GTX "covers it up" via its 2-slot heatsink/phase-change cooling system..

:(


Though that NIC does SOUND GOOD (it would be great @ a LAN party, but online via the public internet? Not sure, because of potentials in internet "inclement weather conditions" like pings, congestion, server slownesses (they do happen))...

BUT, I don't think I could "Fit that in" (literally) w/ out giving up wanting to do the DDRDrive, & I won't do that...

See photo, see what I mean, & probably around same lines as what oldschool is stating what will happen (mine is an "Extreme case" imo, some 'off-the-wall/non-std' stuff is in it already eating up PCI-e slots though):



(I can't do this: Not if I want to do that DDRDrive x1 PCI-e/DDR1 unit! Mainly, so I can put the CENATEK "RocketDrive" SSD I have in the bottom of the case pictured, back into the system it came from here (2nd rig P4 3.2ghz, GeForce 6800 GT OC, WD Raptor 36gb 10k rpm disk))

APK

P.S.=> Great idea, for LAN parties & local home LAN use imo, more than anything else... but, you never know!

Some folks will buy these I am sure, & let us know "What's-what"... apk
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807 (0.39/day)
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#18
maybe kick out of your case the s-ata controller and use the onboard one? i huess its not faster/slower this way
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677 (1.10/day)
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#19
No, that ABSOLUTELY stays

gR3iF said:
maybe kick out of your case the s-ata controller and use the onboard one? i huess its not faster/slower this way
I dunno, read on as to some results I had here with it in tests I ran vs. others here (INSTG8R & his "perpendicular recording technology" Seagate drive, where I won 2/3 tests (seek/access & CPU use, he won reads (big margin win too imo, that new tech is good too))):

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=13650

(My CENATEK "RocketDrive" was included in that test too, interesting comparing ALL 3 types of tech imo!)

Besides, time to get "back-on-track"/to subject @ hand:

There is a reason I use this RAID Caching Controller:

It's not your ordinary RAID controller is why (like onboard ones): It's different in that it has its own 128mb ECC Ram cache (in chips onboard) & managed by its OWN "cpu" for disk I/O (offloading the system CPU as well, bonus, for things disk I/O oriented)...

In a test I did here in the URL above, it way exceeded even the SATA bus speed of 150mb/sec on benchmark HDD Tach here!

Admittedly, I don't KNOW if this is "typical results" or not, on std. onboard RAID controllers, but imo, it is not (since it exceeded the bus speed ceiling & scored around 169mb/sec iirc, & used an amazing 0% cpu in doing so - bursting from its caches no doubt over a PCI-e x4 bus)!

:)

* No man... it stays!

(Damn good part imo @ least, & given the results - big fan over time of caching HDD controllers for those reasons in fact!)

APK
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2006
Messages
175 (0.04/day)
Likes
7
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
Motherboard Asus P5W DH-Deluxe
Memory 4Gb of 2GB random
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 750
Storage WD Black 1TB
#20
I hope it performs well and is cheap.
 

XooM

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2004
Messages
468 (0.10/day)
Likes
7
Location
Close to FrozenCPU.com
Processor Athlon 64 3800 x2 Windosr @ 2.65 (and rising)
Motherboard BIOSTAR TForce 550
Cooling Custom Liquid (WMD20RLZT, Swiftech STORM, 2-302 w/ custom shroud, 2x sanyo denki)
Memory Patriot PDC22G5300LLK
Video Card(s) Sapphire x1900GT
Storage 1x maxtor 40gb, 2x hitachi T7K250 160gb drives RAID 0, 1x 160gb Spinpoint
Display(s) 2x 17" CRT (dells; one from 1998, one from 2001) at 1600x1200 each
Case Aspire X-SuperAlien
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic S12 600watt
Software WinXP SP2, Folding@Home, Battlefield2, etc
#21
yay for PCI bus, pointlessly bottlenecking it to sub-gigabit speeds from the start!. yay for being 100x larger than needed, having 1 NIC port, and generally being useless.
far better solution: take any random crap old computer (ie p2) and 2 PCI NICs and set up a smoothwall or IPCOP router. I did and hot damn it smokes retail routers. theres a reason corporations use smoothwall or IPCOP boxen (or similar PC-based router systems) for routers... crap they're fast.