• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Kingston HyperX Beats 1600mhz oc?

Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,803 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,577
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#1
i have been thinking about switching my Corsair Vengance LP 1600mhz 4x4gb to a set of Kingston HyperX Beast 2x9gb 1600mhz KHX16C9T3K2/16X ino they run 9-9-9 at 1600mhz at 1.5v so i was thinking about if i could oc they to 2400mhz at 11-13-13 at 1.65v as Kingston's HyperX Beast KHX24C11T3K2/16X runs at or they won't be able to?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,524 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,280
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#2
There is a reason they are not rated to run 2400MHz at 1.65v... and its usually because they cant get there in the first place. Not to mention, outside of benchmarking, there are little to no gains to be had from overclocking memory in the first place.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,803 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,577
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#3
There is a reason they are not rated to run 2400MHz at 1.65v... and its usually because they cant get there in the first place. Not to mention, outside of benchmarking, there are little to no gains to be had from overclocking memory in the first place.
well i was thinking about a set first and than upgrade later to a set more so i would have 32gb in my system ^^
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,524 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,280
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#4
I think, unless you can actually use that amount of ram, its useless to upgrade 'just to have it because its cheap'.

Not to mention, the more ram you have, the more stress it will put on your IMC so your chances of reaching those speeds will decline even more.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
128 (0.05/day)
Likes
17
#5
Only way to find out is to try, sometimes companies use the same ICs in the lower end kits as they do the high end ones, but usually they are down-binned parts that didn't pass all of the stability testing for the faster kits. Take the high end kit's specs as a starting point and loosen the timings and/or raise the voltage. I've been able to push every 2133 kit I have to 2400MHz, for instance.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
692 (0.36/day)
Likes
85
Location
Belgrade, Serbia
System Name Intel® X99 Wellsburg
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-5820K - 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage V E10 (1701)
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti K|NGP|N Classified
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/waiting M.2
Display(s) Samsung P2450H
Case CORSAIR Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) CREATIVE Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA 1200 P2 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Deck 87 Francium Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
All that Kingston options are know like bad OCer Beast, Preadator, HyperX. If you want to OC you need to try with Mushkin 1866, Dominator GT/Platinum of GSkill. That Kingston memory if you can OC 1600 to 1866 that is success. Best way is some Dominator Platinum 2133 and instead of OC you go on tighter latency.
Who care for 2400MHz with latency 12 and 13 and Command Rate 3T. Good is 1T and nothing more than 8-9.
Kingston Beast is same range like Vengeance example only little higher frequency in many case to higher and work on less than in specifications...
If you want good memory you must choose something in Dominator GT and TridentX level.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.63/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#7
^
Yeah G.skill RipJawZ CL9 is also very good, or Crucial Balistics low profile CL8 1600mhz 1.35v (probably the same as Samsung 1.35v) - these can do ~ 2260mhz CL9 or CL10 at ~1.55-1.60v.

Imo those Corsair Platinum are not worth the price.

As for these Kingston Beasts I was thinking of getting me a 2400mhz CL11 ones and downclock to ~ 2133mhz CL9. But idk i think i'll get me some G.skill instead. :D
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.87/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
I think, unless you can actually use that amount of ram, its useless to upgrade 'just to have it because its cheap'.

Not to mention, the more ram you have, the more stress it will put on your IMC so your chances of reaching those speeds will decline even more.
I agree upgrade is kinda pointless.

But I don't agree more sticks makes for less speed. If it does, it's because BIOS does not adjust timings correctly when 4 sticks are installed.

I'm starting to see more people hitting 2800 MHz with ZERO VCCSA/VTT voltage changes.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2012
Messages
692 (0.36/day)
Likes
85
Location
Belgrade, Serbia
System Name Intel® X99 Wellsburg
Processor Intel® Core™ i7-5820K - 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage V E10 (1701)
Cooling CORSAIR H100
Memory CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti K|NGP|N Classified
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/waiting M.2
Display(s) Samsung P2450H
Case CORSAIR Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) CREATIVE Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply EVGA 1200 P2 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Deck 87 Francium Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#9
Dominator Platinum is maybe expensive and some models are only for high end enthusiast and that is CORSAIR Flagship and that cost. Tell for example 20 years when someone talk about DDR3 memery.
In front of my eyes is Dominator Class.
Example some with some models people can make good for not so high price, high but OK.
CMD16GX3M2A1866C9 is newer 2x8GB perfect for motherboards and tighter latency in main slots.
RAM work on 1.5V and 9-10-9-27 (9-9-9-24) I can bet he can same latency on 2133. Maybe and some 8 on 1.65V. You ger perfect memory for about 150$. 16GB. That is for finish wioth DDR3 for all times and worth.
Do you know why I have 4GB, because I will not pay craps like Beast and similar things in Serbia.
Kit of 2x8GB 2400 cost 120e. They are crazy. I would not pay 50$ for that. I want better RAM.
GSkill again are not on our market, they make too 2x8 2400MHz RAM but two times better than Beast and similar price if you look price in retailer close to me.
Now is best option 2x8GB and every manafucturer concentrate more on that except maybe for some ULTRA Fast half thousand $ kits for one purpose...
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.72/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#10
I have a pair of Platinum 2x4GB 1600mhz and highest i could push them 24/7 stable is 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 T1,if you want a fast memory kit get a high binned one,but you will gain nothing by doing so.