• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Kingston Technology 2x 512MB DDR1 suggested timings

Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
454 (0.11/day)
Likes
117
System Name celer
Processor Pentium 4 650 3.4GHz 2MB L2
Motherboard MSI PM8M3-V
Cooling Thermalright SI-128 SE
Memory 2048MB OCZ 2-3-2-5 2T at 200Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9100
Storage 250G Samsung 850 PRO (MZ-7KE256BW) - 1024G WD Black (WD1003FZEX)
Display(s) 19' iiyama ProLite E1980SD 1280x1024 75Hz DVI
Case Eurocase moded
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax 620W Liberty
Mouse Logitech MX510 red
Keyboard eTech PS/2 keyboard
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/submission/2455634_
#1
Guys, these lame Kingston Technology two 512MB sticks have bad even the SPD values: 2.5-3-3-8 (at least at 2.5V), but I wonder, if someone can suggest how to push them beyond 229MHz.
Because they did not make the 229MHz even stable. They seems to work:

...but then fail bad :(

I did not exactly want to reduce the O/C, so I was tweaking as much, as I can and get them at these timings:



To run semi-stable. Good for benches, bad for usage. What shocked me, that for example even 2.90V to them did not improve stability a bit (in fact, things get worser...!!!). So auto (therefore around the 2.5V) seems to work best.

Then I tried relaxing the TRRD, TRWT from 2 to 3, but again things get - worser! WTF!
Then I tried the Async Latency from 7 to 8nS and it get... worser. Unsurprisingly things get worser at 6nS too... But the 8nS was surprising to me. Someone can enlighten me there...?

As the mobo, it is a Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe (Radeon Xpress 3200) and the Opty can take over 2800MHz at 1.425Vcore, tested, so no problemo there. But the rams do suxx, so...

There are the important bios settigs:



(on the sidenote, when I saw the SPD, then I realized that the TRAS values for 200MHz was 8 and I used 7, as recommended for AMD64 memory controler, so might there I should start...? SPD values for 166MHz are 2-3-3-7, but at 229MHz I'm far from 166MHz...)

Funny fact: relaxing the TRAS to 8 did not help as well. Oh, well...
So as next I trying relaxing the TRC from 7 to 9 and TRFC from 11 to 12, but it still looks bad as WOT suddently quit on me, so...

Ideas need.

And once again this weird behaviour - relaxed timings TRC from 7 to 9 and TRFC from 11 to 12 - give error just sooner...!



WTF if going on there :rolleyes:


Tried TRFC relaxing to 13 from 11 and it seems to work more stable:



But it still failed. So I tried TRFC 14 and TRC 8 (as compared to well working TRFC 11 and TRC 7) and it crashed even in YouTube video... so, very bad.

More relaxed timings = worser stability. What it this?! Some sort of sick joke?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
CAS latency at 3 instead of 2.5? And I think I had some memory that didn't like 1T command rate, but I could be wrong. Reading your posts is like time traveling (it's not a bad thing). :laugh:
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,469 (0.45/day)
Likes
381
Location
Toronto
Processor i7-2670QM / Q9550 3.6ghz
Motherboard laptop / Asus P5Q-E
Cooling laptop / Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 2x4gb ddr3sd / 2x2gb ddr2
Video Card(s) 570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
Storage ST9750420AS / ST1000DM003
Display(s) BenQ FP241VW / BenQ GW2265HM
Case MSI gx780 / Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply laptop / Corsair 750tx
Mouse Steelseries Kinzu V2 / Logitech M120
Keyboard Logitech Deluxe 250 / Logitech K120
Software Windows 7
#3
put CL on 3, i'm assuming the reference spec for the sticks is supposed to be 200mhz? raising voltage is another idea

i wouldnt dig into those secondary values like you have, not sure all of them mean lower is faster

EDIT: as frick said, commandrate is another value, basically CL & CR are the biggest stability options when talking about how far in mhz a stick can go
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,295
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#4
I had a pair of budget pc3200 elixir ram that would hit 500mhz on 3-3-3-8, try that first i suppose
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
454 (0.11/day)
Likes
117
System Name celer
Processor Pentium 4 650 3.4GHz 2MB L2
Motherboard MSI PM8M3-V
Cooling Thermalright SI-128 SE
Memory 2048MB OCZ 2-3-2-5 2T at 200Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9100
Storage 250G Samsung 850 PRO (MZ-7KE256BW) - 1024G WD Black (WD1003FZEX)
Display(s) 19' iiyama ProLite E1980SD 1280x1024 75Hz DVI
Case Eurocase moded
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax 620W Liberty
Mouse Logitech MX510 red
Keyboard eTech PS/2 keyboard
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/submission/2455634_
#5
Frick - well, it handle CAS 2.5 too well, and I did not like the idea about CAS 3, so I trying to find out what to tweak that CAS 2.5 become rock stable. It is IMHO too much of speed penalty to go to CAS 3 ... but worth to try, sure.


kn00tcn - yes, reference specs are 2.5-3-3-8 for 200MHz, for 166MHz it is 2-3-3-7. As for the secondary timings, I did couple od MaxxMem runs to determine the fastest settings and surprisingly for example the Idle Cycle Limit 16 is fastest, while suggested is 256 as fastest.
Also Queue Bypas Max 4x is faster that 7x, witch is commonly used/recommended.
Also Read/Write Queue Bypas 8x seems to be faster that 16x, so I have it set this way...
As for the voltage, as I write - I get from AUTO to 2.90V and still no help. Still not from semi stable to stable...


FreedomExlipse - amazing rams, where to get rams like that today? LoL :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
454 (0.11/day)
Likes
117
System Name celer
Processor Pentium 4 650 3.4GHz 2MB L2
Motherboard MSI PM8M3-V
Cooling Thermalright SI-128 SE
Memory 2048MB OCZ 2-3-2-5 2T at 200Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9100
Storage 250G Samsung 850 PRO (MZ-7KE256BW) - 1024G WD Black (WD1003FZEX)
Display(s) 19' iiyama ProLite E1980SD 1280x1024 75Hz DVI
Case Eurocase moded
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax 620W Liberty
Mouse Logitech MX510 red
Keyboard eTech PS/2 keyboard
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/submission/2455634_
#6
Hmmm, seting CAS 3 in MemSet produce instant reboot. That is not good... and detered me from even thinking about trying this setting thru bios, as all other settings seems to be well changable using MemSet, so... it seems to refuse to work with CAS 3. If this is even possible...
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,295
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#7
Hmmm, seting CAS 3 in MemSet produce instant reboot. That is not good... and detered me from even thinking about trying this setting thru bios, as all other settings seems to be well changable using MemSet, so... it seems to refuse to work with CAS 3. If this is even possible...
In that case theirs probably a bug with your bios. Ive never heard of an instant restart while loosening timings. You using 1T or 2T?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,469 (0.45/day)
Likes
381
Location
Toronto
Processor i7-2670QM / Q9550 3.6ghz
Motherboard laptop / Asus P5Q-E
Cooling laptop / Cooler Master Hyper 212
Memory 2x4gb ddr3sd / 2x2gb ddr2
Video Card(s) 570m / MSI 660 Gaming OC
Storage ST9750420AS / ST1000DM003
Display(s) BenQ FP241VW / BenQ GW2265HM
Case MSI gx780 / Corsair 500r
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply laptop / Corsair 750tx
Mouse Steelseries Kinzu V2 / Logitech M120
Keyboard Logitech Deluxe 250 / Logitech K120
Software Windows 7
#8
ya that makes no sense, CL3 should work, but also try 2T first
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
454 (0.11/day)
Likes
117
System Name celer
Processor Pentium 4 650 3.4GHz 2MB L2
Motherboard MSI PM8M3-V
Cooling Thermalright SI-128 SE
Memory 2048MB OCZ 2-3-2-5 2T at 200Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9100
Storage 250G Samsung 850 PRO (MZ-7KE256BW) - 1024G WD Black (WD1003FZEX)
Display(s) 19' iiyama ProLite E1980SD 1280x1024 75Hz DVI
Case Eurocase moded
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax 620W Liberty
Mouse Logitech MX510 red
Keyboard eTech PS/2 keyboard
Software Win XP SP3
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/submission/2455634_
#9
Later guys :) 2T is probably the way to make these poor rams stable at 229MHz, but post finally deliver my the OCZ 2x 1GBy sticks, witch should be better :)


OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K

I got suggested on HWbot forum, that they have the Infineon BE chips, so they need 2.85V to perform some overclocking. The suggesting user claim that his got these to 266MHz (1T, 1:1):
http://hwbot.org/image/1093595.jpg

At auto, these chips get only 2.50V (as per their SPD values). So I gotta ask - it is safe to try 2.85V to them?