• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Kuma 7750 -- L3 bug?

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#1
Seriously considering picking this up... I see overclocks around 3.2-3.3 on teh web.. 3.0GHz is fine and dandy for me... anyways wondering if it has the L3 bug or not? I know the origional Phenom I did but the B3 stepping had it fixed on a hardware level with no performance loss, and I'm kinda worried about it since the Kuma is based on the PI...
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#2
They do not have it. They have the same revision as the Phenom 9x50's.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#3
Ah... good. I may well pick it up... BOINC is multithreaded right?
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#4
Ah... good. I may well pick it up... BOINC is multithreaded right?
It sets a separate work unit for each core
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
That'll work too
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
2,250 (0.70/day)
Likes
415
System Name Always changing
Processor TBD
Motherboard ASRock Z97 Extreme3
Cooling Himalaya 2
Memory G.Skill RipJaws DDR3 2400 Cas 11
Video Card(s) TBD
Storage OCZ ARC 240GB
Display(s) Nec 23" 1080P LED
Case Antec Eleven Hundred V2
#6
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#7
x2 550 is out too but the Kuma may be cheaper depends on what you want to do i guess

well the x2 250 is also better than the Kuma and it will be priced cheaper than the x2 550
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#8

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#9
The Regor won't be any faster *for me* than the Kuma will.. and my board doesn't support unlocking and I'm not buying a new board and processor... if I were I'd go Intel
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
2,250 (0.70/day)
Likes
415
System Name Always changing
Processor TBD
Motherboard ASRock Z97 Extreme3
Cooling Himalaya 2
Memory G.Skill RipJaws DDR3 2400 Cas 11
Video Card(s) TBD
Storage OCZ ARC 240GB
Display(s) Nec 23" 1080P LED
Case Antec Eleven Hundred V2
#10
I know I just say that the 550 went back to $115. There is a guy on our forums selling a 550 for 90 shipped. I would jump on that man. Seriously the Kuma is not a fast CPU, I realize what you are coming from but really man I would not get it. Spend the extra for an X2 250 or a PII 550 you wont be disapointed. What are you talking about? Your board will run the regor? I say get the Phenom II 550 that is for sale in our forums man. The kuma is not fast I have had experience..
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#11
I don't want to spend that much... heh. I know my board will support the processor but it won't support unlocking the other 2 cores (for the Athlon II).
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
105 (0.03/day)
Likes
20
System Name The Stop Light
Processor Xeon X5650
Motherboard EVGA X58
Cooling Thermalright Spirit 140 Power
Memory OEM ECC DDR 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX570
Storage Samsung 830 240GB
Display(s) Asus 24"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CM 1000W
#12
Unless you're really strained by costs, don't consider the old Kuma. I have a AthlonII X2 250 and it is comprable to my E7300, just a smidge behind my E8200.

Your motherboard is stated as "AM3" ready so it shouldn't have any problems with AthlonII 250 or PhenomII 550

AthlonII is native dual core, there is nothing to unlock.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#13
Eh? People all over are unlocking the AII 250
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
105 (0.03/day)
Likes
20
System Name The Stop Light
Processor Xeon X5650
Motherboard EVGA X58
Cooling Thermalright Spirit 140 Power
Memory OEM ECC DDR 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX570
Storage Samsung 830 240GB
Display(s) Asus 24"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CM 1000W
#14
Unless you got a link to someone who has unlocked a AthlonII 250, It's the PhenomII 550BE people are unlocking.
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.59/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#15
The 250 is actually just a K8 45nm, so it can't unlock as it's only got two physical cores.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
2,250 (0.70/day)
Likes
415
System Name Always changing
Processor TBD
Motherboard ASRock Z97 Extreme3
Cooling Himalaya 2
Memory G.Skill RipJaws DDR3 2400 Cas 11
Video Card(s) TBD
Storage OCZ ARC 240GB
Display(s) Nec 23" 1080P LED
Case Antec Eleven Hundred V2
#16
Why would not being able to unlock the cores in a PII 550 make you not want to buy one?? Its just a bonus
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#17
I don't want to spend that much... heh. I know my board will support the processor but it won't support unlocking the other 2 cores (for the Athlon II).
Eh? People all over are unlocking the AII 250
People are unlocking Phenom II X2 550, Athlon II X2 250 has only two physical cores. so nothing to unlock there.