• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

L12 mod... how?

pablofrogo

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
190 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Lytham... in England
#1
I'm looking to O/C my CPU a bit more, but I can't get much more out of it right now, and it's not too stable when I go any higher. I've not done the L12 mod and I think that's what's holding me back, so does anyone know how to do it or where I could find a guide?
 

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260 (0.46/day)
Likes
129
#2
pablofrogo said:
I'm looking to O/C my CPU a bit more, but I can't get much more out of it right now, and it's not too stable when I go any higher. I've not done the L12 mod and I think that's what's holding me back, so does anyone know how to do it or where I could find a guide?
pablo ... check with Wazzledoozle he has the same board .... but I don't think he's done the mod
 

pablofrogo

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
190 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Lytham... in England
#3
I've PMed him, not sure if he'll notice though.

Does anyone know if it does anything other than force the FSB to 200Mhz? I can already do that in the BIOS, so if it does nothing else it seems pretty pointless.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#4
I was going to say contact Urylin, he did it to the mobile. :confused:

I believe you need to get conductive paint, and paint a trace line then cover it with scotch tape to keep it from scratching.

There are a lot of good guides..

And I remember this guy did a big log on how he benchmarked without the L12, and then with it. No difference.
If I can find it ill post it.
Here it is-
http://www.geocities.com/trats102002/nf7sFsbsense.html
 

pablofrogo

New Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
190 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Lytham... in England
#5
Sounds a bit pointless then, thanks anyway.

Do you know any ways I can get my system to clock higher? My system has pretty good air cooling on the CPU, Passive Zalman cooling on the northbridge, no RAM heatsinks though.. I've also got 2 80mm exhausts, a 120mm exhaust in the top of the case and an 80mm intake in the side just under the level of the GFX card. My chip has the AQYHA stepping (I think.. I know it's the same as the really good OCer stepping except for the A at the beggining)
How'd you get your's to 2.5Ghz wazzle?
 
Last edited:

Urlyin

Senior Moderator
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
2,260 (0.46/day)
Likes
129
#6
pablofrogo said:
Sounds a bit pointless then, thanks anyway.

Do you know any ways I can get my system to clock higher? My system has pretty good air cooling on the CPU, Passive Zalman cooling on the northbridge, no RAM heatsinks though.. I've also got 2 80mm exhausts, a 120mm exhaust in the top of the case and an 80mm intake in the side just under the level of the GFX card. My chip has the AQYHA stepping (I think.. I know it's the same as the really got OCer stepping except for the A at the beggining)
How'd you get your's to 2.5Ghz wazzle?
Pablo ... I used WCPUID to change the multi on the mobile chip Wazz has ... link and you can try W1zzards new Systools to OC the FSB link
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#7
pablofrogo said:
Sounds a bit pointless then, thanks anyway.

Do you know any ways I can get my system to clock higher? My system has pretty good air cooling on the CPU, Passive Zalman cooling on the northbridge, no RAM heatsinks though.. I've also got 2 80mm exhausts, a 120mm exhaust in the top of the case and an 80mm intake in the side just under the level of the GFX card. My chip has the AQYHA stepping (I think.. I know it's the same as the really good OCer stepping except for the A at the beggining)
How'd you get your's to 2.5Ghz wazzle?
I have to use 1.8 vcore, in the bios I have to set 1.85 to actually get 1.8 volts on the core.
Then FSB of 200, with a multiplier of 12.5

Its too hot this time of year to run that speed, so im running 2.4 GHz at 1.725 (in bios, 1.7 actual) vcore.
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
190 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Lytham... in England
#8
I'm trying to raise the FSB at the moment, raising the multiplier seems to upset OCCT, in-fact raising anything upsets OCCT. I got stable at 2.2G with 1.65v (1.62v) and anything above that seems to make it unstable.
MemTest shows no errors at 205FSB but I'm yet to try OCCT.
I think I'll need some better cooling before I up the Volts past 1.75 (1.72) but I'll go up to that if it makes it stable.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#9
Occt?

What temps are you getting now?

This weekend im going to try and go for high fsb and lower multiplier. Probably 2.42 GHz at 220 FSB and 11 multi. More bandwidth :D
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
190 (0.04/day)
Likes
1
Location
Lytham... in England
#10
OverClock Checking Tool. Google "OCCT" and it'll be at the top of the list (it's a french thing so google'll have to translate it)

Idle Temps: Low 40s
Load: Never higher than 50
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#11
My general boundry is no higher than 55 c at load.