• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lack of PCI Slots

Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
48 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro Intel P67 (REV B3)
Cooling Corsair Memory Cooling Hydro Series H60
Memory 8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz RipjawsX
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 560 Ti 950MHz 1GB X2
Storage Intel X25-M Gen2 Mainstream 80GB, 500GB Samsung SATAII 16MB, WD Raptor
Display(s) Samsung 22"
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair 850W Corsair Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit
#1
Hi,

I want to get a TV card for my pc but I only have PCI-E slots left as the other 2 pci slots are used by my wireless card and my sound card. Does such a thing as a pci-e tv card exist??? Are there alternatives to getting one of those extension boxes that plug into your pci-e slot?

I don't really fancy a USB tv stick as it would have to stick out the front of my pc for the remote to work.

Any ideas?

Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,065 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,130
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
Yup. Hauppauge and others make TV Tuners for PCIe now.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#4
Alternatively you could use a USB wifi adapter or a Wifi > fast ethernet bridge.


Also, how did you imagine the remote when the card is inside the PC itself? Your argument is flawed there.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
#5
Alternatively you could use a USB wifi adapter or a Wifi > fast ethernet bridge.


Also, how did you imagine the remote when the card is inside the PC itself? Your argument is flawed there.
Well you can get one of those VFD 5.25 bays that comes with a remote. They are a little pricey though.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
48 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro Intel P67 (REV B3)
Cooling Corsair Memory Cooling Hydro Series H60
Memory 8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz RipjawsX
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 560 Ti 950MHz 1GB X2
Storage Intel X25-M Gen2 Mainstream 80GB, 500GB Samsung SATAII 16MB, WD Raptor
Display(s) Samsung 22"
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair 850W Corsair Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit
#6
[QUOTE
Also, how did you imagine the remote when the card is inside the PC itself? Your argument is flawed there.[/QUOTE]

Some come with a IR receiver on the end of a cable so you can bring it to the front.

Thanks for all suggestions guys
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2005
Messages
461 (0.10/day)
Likes
45
Location
Peterborough, UK
Processor Intel Pentium Dual Core E2160
Motherboard ASUS P5E3 Deluxe
Cooling Akasa EVO 120
Memory 2 x 1Gb OCZ Gold DDR3 1066Mhz 6,6,6,18
Video Card(s) GeCube ATi X1950Pro 512Mb PCIe (Accelro X2)
Storage Samsung 320Gb SATA2
Display(s) Samsung SM206BW 20" Widescreen TFT 1680x1050
Case Coolermaster Centurion 532
Audio Device(s) On board AC'97
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580W
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
Benchmark Scores See my OC Blog @ http://www.rowan-house.net/
#7
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
48 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro Intel P67 (REV B3)
Cooling Corsair Memory Cooling Hydro Series H60
Memory 8GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-12800 1600MHz RipjawsX
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 560 Ti 950MHz 1GB X2
Storage Intel X25-M Gen2 Mainstream 80GB, 500GB Samsung SATAII 16MB, WD Raptor
Display(s) Samsung 22"
Case Corsair 600T
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair 850W Corsair Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit
#9
Yup. Hauppauge and others make TV Tuners for PCIe now.
What Hauppauge cards are PCIe? The HVR models are PCI?

System Requirements

  • DirectDraw compatible AGP or PCI Express graphics card
  • A free PCI slot

http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/pages/products/data_hvr1300.html

Any one have any good advice for a PCIe TV card that will work in vista 64bit? I don't need to be able to watch and record loads of channels at once. Two at most.