• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lack of reset switches on premium modern cases

Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
6,108 (1.04/day)
Location
USA
System Name Gaming
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU HSF, Arctic MonoPlus VGA HSF
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe (OS), Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB (data), Phison E12 1TB NVMe (game)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X + Antlion ModMic
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC3-C
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
I've noticed a lot of premium modern cases sold no longer have a reset switch. I think this is a shame. I was messing around with a couple bootable usb applications today (clonezilla, seatools, parted magic) to test drive health and clone operation and it is a major nuisance to lack the reset button. For example, my new O11 Air Mini lacks this button. I purchased a PCI slot mounted power/reset to solve this issue, but I still felt compelled to comment about this shortcoming.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
101 (0.09/day)
Location
Uttar Pradesh, India
Processor AMD R7 1700X @ 4025Mhz
Motherboard MSI B450M MORTAR MAX (MS-7B89)
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory Corsair - CMK16GX4M4A2133C13 X4 @2933 CL14
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8GB @ 1408Mhz (AMD Auto OC)
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) Acer KG271 1080p @ 81Hz
Power Supply SuperFlower 750W 80+ Gold
Keyboard Redragon Devarajas RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Professional 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/sxjb6v
Yes, Not sure why this became a thing. My current case has no reset switch as well.
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
13,113 (2.29/day)
System Name Dirty Fecker
Processor Intel I7 12700K
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix Z690-A WiFi D4
Cooling Custom loop,
Memory Teamgroup 2x8gb 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980TI Gaming 6gb, 1507/8000 water cooled
Storage WD blue 256gb M2, WD blue 4tb HDD
Display(s) MSI 32" Optix AG32CV 1080p 165hz
Case Thermaltake V21
Audio Device(s) onboard/Logitech Z4
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Corsair k65
Software Win 11 Home x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter
I've noticed a lot of premium modern cases sold no longer have a reset switch. I think this is a shame. I was messing around with a couple bootable usb applications today (clonezilla, seatools, parted magic) to test drive health and clone operation and it is a major nuisance to lack the reset button. For example, my new O11 Air Mini lacks this button. I purchased a PCI slot mounted power/reset to solve this issue, but I still felt compelled to comment about this shortcoming.

What about drilling a hole and fitting one to the top? Might consider this when i get my O11
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
6,108 (1.04/day)
Location
USA
System Name Gaming
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU HSF, Arctic MonoPlus VGA HSF
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe (OS), Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB (data), Phison E12 1TB NVMe (game)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X + Antlion ModMic
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC3-C
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
What about drilling a hole and fitting one to the top? Might consider this when i get my O11
I thought about doing just that, I have an MNPCTech vandal/bulgin switch plate that would look good on the case. But I decided I didn't want to permanently modify anything on this case, never felt satisfied when I've done that in the past. Also I think some of the older/full size O11 designs have a reset.

The PCI slot solution will work okay, its just a question of WHY? What are they thinking? I understand that most don't use external 5.25 and 3.5, but reset is still useful especially in non windows environments or when overclocking, benchmarking, testing.
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
13,113 (2.29/day)
System Name Dirty Fecker
Processor Intel I7 12700K
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix Z690-A WiFi D4
Cooling Custom loop,
Memory Teamgroup 2x8gb 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980TI Gaming 6gb, 1507/8000 water cooled
Storage WD blue 256gb M2, WD blue 4tb HDD
Display(s) MSI 32" Optix AG32CV 1080p 165hz
Case Thermaltake V21
Audio Device(s) onboard/Logitech Z4
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Corsair k65
Software Win 11 Home x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter
i might just use a magnetic reed switch stuck to the inside of the case, and use a magnet for reset, no drilling etc then.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2021
Messages
107 (0.40/day)
System Name Back in Black
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Cooling ID-Cooling SE-224-XT Black
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8) 3000mhz C15
Video Card(s) Asus Rog Strix GTX 1070 TI Advanced Edition
Storage Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV 1080p
Case Thermaltake Versa H21
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower GF1 750W Gold
Mouse Redragon M711 Cobra
Keyboard Corsair K55
Laziness and cost cutting: saving pennies; handing out annoyances.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
109 (0.48/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name C₂H₅OH
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X Monoblock
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master Rev 1.0
Cooling Custom loop - MO-RA3 420 & 360 Pro - Heatkiller 200 & 150 D5 pump/res combo
Memory G.Skill Trident-Z 4x8GB B-die 3800-14-15-15-15-34-1T 260 TRFC
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3080 Ti Aorus Master EK block
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB - Intel 660 Pro 2TB
Display(s) Gigabyte Aorus FV43U
Case Streacom BC1 Silver
Audio Device(s) Topping DX7Pro - Topping A90 - Hifiman Ananda - Focal Elear - Audeze LCD-XC - Adam A5X & Adam Sub 7
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Ducky One 2 SF White MX Speed Silver / Logitech MX Keys
Software Windows 11 Pro
Agreed, it is so annoying that a lot of cases don't have them anymore. I'm glad I run a test bench where I can smash my motherboard reset button at any moment :D BTW, you can just rig one from an old case to a random place in your current case ;)
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2021
Messages
13 (0.22/day)
Location
Serbia
Although most of my PC builds still have Reset button can't remember last time I really used that one, guess 20 years ago, maybe...

Imho while PC is still working pressing the Reset button is like a face slap to PC, especially if (in the moment Reset button is pressed) something is being written to HDD, SSD... it could lead to bad or weak sectors. One can get away with hard Reset once, 5 times, or even more... but sooner or later hard Reset is gonna mess up something on HDD or SSD.

If one is forced to turn off or reset PC, lets say PC completely blocked for whatever reason, safest way to do that is to press Power button for 4sec, that would stop HDD, park the heads... Then turn it again.

On few of my latest PC builds, where Reset button still exist on the case, Reset button is attached to (barely used) case ARGB controller.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
6,108 (1.04/day)
Location
USA
System Name Gaming
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU HSF, Arctic MonoPlus VGA HSF
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe (OS), Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB (data), Phison E12 1TB NVMe (game)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X + Antlion ModMic
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC3-C
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
Agreed, it is so annoying that a lot of cases don't have them anymore. I'm glad I run a test bench where I can smash my motherboard reset button at any moment :D BTW, you can just rig one from an old case to a random place in your current case ;)
I ordered one of these, hoping the buttons are small enough to fit through the PCI slot guards.

There are also remote control ones you can buy, Silverstone sells this one. https://www.amazon.com/SilverStone-Wireless-Function-Feedback-ES02-PCIE/dp/B075ZMPKW6#customerReview.

It is just something that is a nuisance, and in the rush to add all sorts of cosmetic frills to cases, it would have been so easy and inexpensive to include a reset.
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
13,113 (2.29/day)
System Name Dirty Fecker
Processor Intel I7 12700K
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix Z690-A WiFi D4
Cooling Custom loop,
Memory Teamgroup 2x8gb 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980TI Gaming 6gb, 1507/8000 water cooled
Storage WD blue 256gb M2, WD blue 4tb HDD
Display(s) MSI 32" Optix AG32CV 1080p 165hz
Case Thermaltake V21
Audio Device(s) onboard/Logitech Z4
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Corsair k65
Software Win 11 Home x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter
I ordered one of these, hoping the buttons are small enough to fit through the PCI slot guards.

There are also remote control ones you can buy, Silverstone sells this one. https://www.amazon.com/SilverStone-Wireless-Function-Feedback-ES02-PCIE/dp/B075ZMPKW6#customerReview.

It is just something that is a nuisance, and in the rush to add all sorts of cosmetic frills to cases, it would have been so easy and inexpensive to include a reset.

I cant really reach the back of my case though, would mean pulling the case right out.
4FA6670A-65EC-4121-B973-0A2BFC057643.jpeg
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
6,108 (1.04/day)
Location
USA
System Name Gaming
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU HSF, Arctic MonoPlus VGA HSF
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe (OS), Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB (data), Phison E12 1TB NVMe (game)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X + Antlion ModMic
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC3-C
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
I cant really reach the back of my case though, would mean pulling the case right out.
View attachment 226598
In that case, I'd try the remote control product. And of course, some of the O11 do have a reset switch. There is also a product that is like a hockey puck on a cord which you could leave on top of the case.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
143 (0.21/day)
System Name Dell Optiplex 9020
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Dell 0PC5F7
Cooling Noctua NH-U9S, Dell 92MM case fan
Memory Corsair Vengeance 4x4GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX570 8GB
Storage Kingston A400 480GB SSD + 3.5TB of disks
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2414H 24" 1080p 60hz IPS
Case Optiplex 9020 MT
Power Supply EVGA 500W W1 80+
Mouse Logitech M330
Keyboard Microsoft Wired Keyboard 600
Software W10 Pro
This isn't new? None of my 3 Dells has reset button, from 2008-2014.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
109 (0.48/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name C₂H₅OH
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X Monoblock
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master Rev 1.0
Cooling Custom loop - MO-RA3 420 & 360 Pro - Heatkiller 200 & 150 D5 pump/res combo
Memory G.Skill Trident-Z 4x8GB B-die 3800-14-15-15-15-34-1T 260 TRFC
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3080 Ti Aorus Master EK block
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB - Intel 660 Pro 2TB
Display(s) Gigabyte Aorus FV43U
Case Streacom BC1 Silver
Audio Device(s) Topping DX7Pro - Topping A90 - Hifiman Ananda - Focal Elear - Audeze LCD-XC - Adam A5X & Adam Sub 7
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Ducky One 2 SF White MX Speed Silver / Logitech MX Keys
Software Windows 11 Pro
This isn't new? None of my 3 Dells has reset button, from 2008-2014.
Not exactly new but it is a trend that has been growing in the last few years. A lot of case manufacturers go for the sleek design or add an extra USB-C header that replaces the well known reset button. Companies like HP, Dell, Lenovo etc. decided to ditch it yeeeaars ago, which annoys me to some extent. It's not really a big deal, still slightly inconvenient in the case (no pun intended) of regular cases.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
6,108 (1.04/day)
Location
USA
System Name Gaming
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU HSF, Arctic MonoPlus VGA HSF
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe (OS), Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB (data), Phison E12 1TB NVMe (game)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X + Antlion ModMic
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC3-C
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
This isn't new? None of my 3 Dells has reset button, from 2008-2014.
That is unfortunate but for consumer PC it might make sense as a stable windows environment is presumed.

For enthusiasts, and in particular, overclockers, they really should put one on it. I don't see why it needs to be a tradeoff, a button can be aesthetic, and there's often enough space for one.

Anyway I am not posting to rant, I do have a solution for it, it is just I haven't seen anyone comment on this particular trend and felt like I can't be the only one who feels it insufficient. If any case manufacturers read these forums to understand the market segment, please consider adding reset switches back into designs. I am happy they started adding mesh designs back, the glass aquariums were very unappealing for designing cool running systems.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
470 (0.14/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 5800x
Motherboard B550i Aorus Pro AX
Cooling Custom Cooling
Memory 32Gb Patriot Viper 3600 RGB
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3080 Ventus Trio OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO
Display(s) Specterpro 34uw100
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Power Supply Cooler Master V750 Gold SFX
Mouse Glorious Model D Wireless
Keyboard Ducky One 2
VR HMD Quest 2
Software Windows 11 64bit
I really see a reason why the reset button is needed by most people. For me, I have pressed it mistakenly a lot of time while un/plugging USBs on some older builds I just leave it unplugged.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
9,470 (2.21/day)
Location
Manchester uk
System Name RyzenGtEvo/ Asus strix scar II
Processor Amd R7 3800X@4.350/525/ Intel 8750H
Motherboard Crosshair hero7 @bios 2703/?
Cooling 360EK extreme rad+ 360$EK slim all push, cpu Monoblock Gpu full cover all EK
Memory Corsair Vengeance Rgb pro 3600cas14 32Gb in four sticks./16Gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire refference Rx vega 64 EK waterblocked/Rtx 2060
Storage Silicon power qlc nvmex3 in raid 0/8Tb external/1Tb samsung Evo nvme 2Tb sata ssd
Display(s) Samsung UAE28"850R 4k freesync.
Case Lianli p0-11 dynamic
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup, corsair void pro headset
Power Supply corsair 1200Hxi
Mouse Roccat Kova/ Logitech G wireless
Keyboard Roccat Aimo 120
VR HMD Oculus rift
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 8726 vega 3dmark timespy/ laptop Timespy 6506
It's there already hold power to off, having two buttons with the only difference being one reboots instantaneously, yet wipes the contents of caches, leaves partial blocks on drive's and generally fss shit up.

I know why they're gone, if you overclock enthusiastically and often you'll have a reset on your motherboard you Could use.
 

Tigger

I'm the only one
Supporter
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
13,113 (2.29/day)
System Name Dirty Fecker
Processor Intel I7 12700K
Motherboard Asus Rog Strix Z690-A WiFi D4
Cooling Custom loop,
Memory Teamgroup 2x8gb 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980TI Gaming 6gb, 1507/8000 water cooled
Storage WD blue 256gb M2, WD blue 4tb HDD
Display(s) MSI 32" Optix AG32CV 1080p 165hz
Case Thermaltake V21
Audio Device(s) onboard/Logitech Z4
Power Supply Corsair TX750M
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Corsair k65
Software Win 11 Home x64
Benchmark Scores do they matter
Well i leave my PC on 24/7 so for driver install/win update reboots it can be simpler to press that than use the software restart. But i suppose either way is ok. I don't really see why they removed it off cases when all motherboards still have the header for it.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,760 (4.91/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
My Corsair case in system specs still has one, but as mentioned you can use a remote "on/ off" switch connected to reset instead if you use that often.

I was browsing for a new case yesterday for a system I have that requires one, and came across this which has everything I am looking for.
The Deepcool CL500 TG.

Deepcool ports.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2021
Messages
13 (0.22/day)
Location
Serbia
I know why they're gone, if you overclock enthusiastically and often you'll have a reset on your motherboard you Could use.

I am (was) OC enthusiast, but never was a fan of Reset button in my late night OC sesstions. But hey that's just me, guess out there there is still quite a lot of OC entusiast who doesn't have enough patience... you know, beer and OC, that stuff :D

My Corsair case in system specs still has one, but as mentioned you can use a remote "on/ off" switch connected to reset instead if you use that often.

I was browsing for a new case yesterday for a system I have that requires one, and came across this which has everything I am looking for.
The Deepcool CL500 TG.

View attachment 226612

I have CL500 for almost a year, highly recommended case from my side for those who want case with lots of space inside, high airflow, using more than one AIO/rads... but don't want to overpay. CL500 here on my side: 280mm AIO on the front + for air intake push-pull 3x 120mm fans on the front of the rad + 2x 120mm fans (with custom made adaptors so they could fit 280mm rad) on the back of the rad. For air exhaust there are 3x 120mm fans, two on the top and one at the back-top. It even has (adjustable, or completely removable for those who don't need it) GPU support bracket for heavy/long GPUs, marked with red arrow on the pic below, and I like that feature a lot, wish every case manufacturer to use something like this for GPU support. When I'm blowing the dust from the case ouside with air compressor it takes less than 10 secs to remove both sides, front grill and top grill. Buy it, you wont regret it.
 

Attachments

  • CL500.jpg
    CL500.jpg
    78.1 KB · Views: 11
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
6,108 (1.04/day)
Location
USA
System Name Gaming
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU HSF, Arctic MonoPlus VGA HSF
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe (OS), Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB (data), Phison E12 1TB NVMe (game)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X + Antlion ModMic
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC3-C
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2021
Messages
13 (0.22/day)
Location
Serbia
@Vario
Fractal Design Torrent Black RGB TG also looks like a great hi-airflow case, if you can find a good deal for it.

edit
...and it also has GPU support bracket, similar to that one used on DeepCool CL500:
Looks like the FD Torrent case GPU support bracket is more robust than that one on CL500, but not sure it has so many positions like the bracket on CL500, can't conclude enough looking at the pic.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
6,108 (1.04/day)
Location
USA
System Name Gaming
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU HSF, Arctic MonoPlus VGA HSF
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe (OS), Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB (data), Phison E12 1TB NVMe (game)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X + Antlion ModMic
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC3-C
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
@Vario
Fractal Design Torrent Black RGB TG also looks like a great hi-airflow case, if you can find a good deal for it.

edit
...and it also has GPU support bracket, similar to that one used on DeepCool CL500:
Looks like the FD Torrent case GPU support bracket is more robust than that one on CL500, but not sure it has so many positions like the bracket on CL500, can't conclude enough looking at the pic.
I loved the performance reviews of that Torrent but the $200 price tag and the sheer quantity of plastic for a high end price tag turned me off.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2021
Messages
13 (0.22/day)
Location
Serbia
I loved the performance reviews of that Torrent but the $200 price tag and the sheer quantity of plastic for a high end price tag turned me off.

Yep, $200 is a bit too much, CL500 can be easily found for around $100. Can't remember if I ever payed more than €150 for a case, guess I didn't or else my brain/wallet would remember that event :D
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
3,071 (2.62/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
I really see a reason why the reset button is needed by most people. For me, I have pressed it mistakenly a lot of time while un/plugging USBs on some older builds I just leave it unplugged.
Yup it sucks hitting it by mistake.. especially if you use your reset switch as a clear cmos button lol.. ugh.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
6,108 (1.04/day)
Location
USA
System Name Gaming
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU HSF, Arctic MonoPlus VGA HSF
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe (OS), Samsung 970 Evo Plus 2TB (data), Phison E12 1TB NVMe (game)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X + Antlion ModMic
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC3-C
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
Yup it sucks hitting it by mistake.. especially if you use your reset switch as a clear cmos button lol.. ugh.
On my Lian Li PC A05 you have to use a pen to be able to push it because the button is small enough. Its convenient in the sense that it is impossible to press accidentally but it is there when you need it.
 
Top