• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

lag/stutter in games

Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
606 (0.18/day)
Likes
105
Location
Bristol-U.K
Processor I5 2500K 3.30Ghz
Motherboard MSI H61M-P25 (B3)
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 LED
Memory Kingston 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333MHz HyperX Blu
Video Card(s) Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB+600gb
Display(s) SAMSUNG S22B350 Full HD 22" LED Monitor
Case Antec 300
Power Supply corsair 520w modular
Software Windows 7
#1
having recently upgraded my cpu and gpu
from a 4200+ and x1950pro

im experiencing lag or stutter in certain games
grid,farcry2,crysis to name a few
i have lowered the settings.but the lag/stutter is still there
now i used to play grid before my upgrade on high settings
with no lag at all
in some cases some of my games ran better

this is confusing cause my system is a lot better than it used to be??
surely my pc can run most of todays games on high settings??
is my pc bottlenecked?

your help would be great guys:toast:
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#2
Reinstall drivers, and maybe reset CMOS.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
606 (0.18/day)
Likes
105
Location
Bristol-U.K
Processor I5 2500K 3.30Ghz
Motherboard MSI H61M-P25 (B3)
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 LED
Memory Kingston 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333MHz HyperX Blu
Video Card(s) Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB+600gb
Display(s) SAMSUNG S22B350 Full HD 22" LED Monitor
Case Antec 300
Power Supply corsair 520w modular
Software Windows 7
#3
how to reset the cmos
and reinstall which drivers?
thanks
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#4
how to reset the cmos
and reinstall which drivers?
thanks
Try and reinstall your video card drivers, and make sure there the latest ones. Reset CMOS by taking the small round battery on the motherboard out and leaving it out for a little while(couple mins) and replace it back in.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
606 (0.18/day)
Likes
105
Location
Bristol-U.K
Processor I5 2500K 3.30Ghz
Motherboard MSI H61M-P25 (B3)
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 LED
Memory Kingston 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333MHz HyperX Blu
Video Card(s) Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB+600gb
Display(s) SAMSUNG S22B350 Full HD 22" LED Monitor
Case Antec 300
Power Supply corsair 520w modular
Software Windows 7
#5
ok,will give it a shot
sorry for sounding like a noob(which i am)
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#6
Get rid of that POS Trust (most inappropriate brand name in history) PSU. You already know its crap, it may say 570w but that is irrelevant. Its how the power is distributed/regulated, how many amps it supplies to the 12v rail, etc, and the 48xx series like good clean power.

*now wait for the PSU naysayers to come on and shout me down saying you can run one on a 300w*
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
606 (0.18/day)
Likes
105
Location
Bristol-U.K
Processor I5 2500K 3.30Ghz
Motherboard MSI H61M-P25 (B3)
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 LED
Memory Kingston 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333MHz HyperX Blu
Video Card(s) Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB+600gb
Display(s) SAMSUNG S22B350 Full HD 22" LED Monitor
Case Antec 300
Power Supply corsair 520w modular
Software Windows 7
#7
yea thats def my next upgrade mikek.
had it for a year now
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#8
Get rid of that POS Trust (most inappropriate brand name in history) PSU. You already know its crap, it may say 570w but that is irrelevant. Its how the power is distributed/regulated, how many amps it supplies to the 12v rail, etc, and the 48xx series like good clean power.

*now wait for the PSU naysayers to come on and shout me down saying you can run one on a 300w*
Agreed.

I have never even heard of the Trust brand of PSU's, that could be a major problem also.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
606 (0.18/day)
Likes
105
Location
Bristol-U.K
Processor I5 2500K 3.30Ghz
Motherboard MSI H61M-P25 (B3)
Cooling CoolerMaster Hyper 212 LED
Memory Kingston 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333MHz HyperX Blu
Video Card(s) Radeon RX 470 Strix Gaming 4GB
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB+600gb
Display(s) SAMSUNG S22B350 Full HD 22" LED Monitor
Case Antec 300
Power Supply corsair 520w modular
Software Windows 7

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#10
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#11
Don't bother buying it from PC world unless you're really impatient, link to same item but cheaper here:
http://www.comwales.com/eshop/product.php?productid=82094
and that's off a 2 minute google search, you can probably find a better deal elsewhere but I'm not spending hours looking as i did for my components.
 

mikek75

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
1,370 (0.33/day)
Likes
116
Location
Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
System Name As easy as falling off a lorry
Processor Core I5 2500K auto tuned to 4.2ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Cooling Corsair H80 sealed water cooler
Memory 16gb Gskill Ripjawz 1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6970 2GB
Storage Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD, OCZ 60 GB Agility 3 SSD, Seagate 500GB, 2x80gb Maxtors
Display(s) DELL 2309w 23" Widescreen 1920x1080+ LG M2294D 22" 1680x1050 LCDtv/monitor
Case Zalman Z9 Plus
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling 750w Silencer Quad PCIe
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium
#12
Joined
Jun 28, 2008
Messages
1,662 (0.48/day)
Likes
118
Location
Newcastle
System Name The neighbour of the beast|NC10
Processor Q6600 GO|Atom N270
Motherboard Asus P5QSE/R
Cooling Stock|Stock
Memory 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer Red @800|1GB@533
Video Card(s) Palit HD4850|Intel GMA 945
Storage Maxtor 500GB 32 MB Cache|160GB IDE 2.5"
Display(s) 15.4" touchscreen, 15.4" Digimate LCD| 10.2"
Case Coolermaster Elite 330|Black NC10 case
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio|Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 650W TX|6 Cell battery
Software Vista Home Premium, Win 7| Win XP
Benchmark Scores Benches will be taken on the main rig soon. (AKA never)
#13
That's assuming he doesn't want/ need modular though but yes, it is a nice PSU. My rig seems to be entirely composed of TPU favourites.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#14
i have that same Trust PSU in my 3rd rig (DL only)

as u can see its an old low spec machine to say the least ,but even that appears to be to much for the Trust psu as almost all of its voltages are below wat they should be according to Everest...

but since it doesnt do anything except DL and occasionally get used for web browsing i cant say im to bothered.

but on a gaming spec PC like yours ,no way in hell id Trust that PSU to run things.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#15
i have that same Trust PSU in my 3rd rig (DL only)

as u can see its an old low spec machine to say the least ,but even that appears to be to much for the Trust psu as almost all of its voltages are below wat they should be according to Everest...

but since it doesnt do anything except DL and occasionally get used for web browsing i cant say im to bothered.

but on a gaming spec PC like yours ,no way in hell id Trust that PSU to run things.
I agree, as long as your not putting to much stress on it, it should run fine.