• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

LAN connecting/reconnecting

Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
91 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
System Name Mace Windu
Processor Intel i7 2600K @ 4.8GHz Vcore @ 1.4
Motherboard ASUS WS Revolution P67
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900 MAX
Memory 4x2GB GSkill RipJaw DDR3 1600MHz @ 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE VAPOR-X R9 280X TRI-X
Storage 128GB Crucial C300 SSD (system), 600GB WD Velociraptor (Games), 250GB External (Everything Else)
Display(s) ASUS 24" LED LCD 2ms
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence XTS w/ Astro A40 5.8 wireless
Power Supply Corsair AX850 850W >90% EFF@300w-650w ~89%@Full Load
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
This may be a software fault, but my network connection will disconnect and almost immediately reconnect.

This can be really annoying when downloading something or talking over instant messenger. if there's anything anyone else has experienced or solved, i need some kind of resolve.

Thanks.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#2
Try updating ethernet drivers.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#3
Is this wired? Wireless? What devices? Does the LAN actually say it disconnects or are we talking about your internet connection?
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
425 (0.12/day)
Likes
43
Location
Clermont, FL
System Name Fixxer Upper
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula x48
Cooling Xigmatec 120mm Rifle Cooler
Memory 2 GB (2 x 1 GB) DDR2-1066 OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) XFX HD4890 1GB DDR5 CF w/ XFX HD4850 1GB DDR3
Storage Western Digital 320 Caviar in Raid 0, Samsung Spingpoint F1 500GB
Display(s) LG 22" (L226WTQ)
Case Silverstone TJ09
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II w/ Logitech G51 5.1
Power Supply BFG 1000W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows 7
#4
Could be your router. A simple fix would be to update the firmware of the router. Maybe even a hard boot of the router will work [unplug for 30 sec plug back in]

Could be your ethernet port is faulty or needs drivers to be reinstalled.

And not so likely could be a fault Ethernet cable.but that isn't likely.

Edit:

If it is wirless, you could be too far away from the access point.

Update/re-install the drivers for the wireless adapter.

Make sure you dont have anything that could interfere with the connection between you and the access point. [i.e. a microwave]
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
598 (0.15/day)
Likes
404
Location
Pacific N.W.
System Name SYS-1//SYS-2//SYS-3//SYS-4
Processor AMD FX-8350//AMD FX-8350//AMD X6 1090T //AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Biostar TA990FXE//Gigabyte 990FX-G//MSI 890GXM-G65//ASUS M5A99FX Pro 2.0
Cooling ZEROtherm Nirvana//Corsair H-110i//AMD PII Cooler//AMD CL Water Cooler
Memory REDLINE 1866 (4X4g)//REDLINE 2133 (4X4g)//Geil (4x2g)//AMD R9 G 2400 (4x4g)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 270 (CF)//R9 270x(CF) Devil's//XFX HD7870//R9 270X(CF) Devil's
Storage Corsair ForceIII GS-360 //Samsung 850-Pro//Samsung 840-Pro//Hyper-X Savage 480
Display(s) Samsung 214T 21.3" LCD//BENQ G2400WD 24" LCD
Case SIGMA LUNA//Corsair 650D //Silverstone SG-01//Cooler Master HAF-XB
Audio Device(s) X-FI Fatality Pro//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair HX620W//Corsair HX850i//Corsair HX620//Corsair HX 750
Software Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Premium-64//Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Ult-64
#5
Check network adapter in device manager,under power management tab,uncheck let computer allow to shut of device? maybe? worth a try!
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
557 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
Bradford, PA
System Name Fenix
Processor AMD A8-3820 @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard HP 2ACF
Cooling AMD
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6550
Storage 320GB Seagate
Display(s) Dell 19"
Case Unknown
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
#6
If your on a router, then disconnect the router, and plug whatever computer into the cable/dsl modem.

If the problem is gone, then the problem is the router, and if it continues, then you might wanna get a new lan cable, and see if that helps ;)
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
538 (0.12/day)
Likes
31
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard ASUS RAMPAGE II Extreme
Cooling CM v10
Memory Corsair 3 x 2GB TR3X6G1866C9DF
Video Card(s) Nvidia XFX 8800GT Stock
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS, 2 x Samsung HD103UJ
Display(s) 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
#7
Does it lose the connection all together? like a little icon pop up in the bottom right corner?
Try a different cable if you have a spare one lying around.