• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop Battery

Fusion

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
143 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz 2x4mb
Motherboard Asus P5Ne-SLI nVIDIA 650 SLi
Cooling Stock Intel CPU cooler, 1x 120mm case fan, 1x 80 case fan
Memory A-DATA DDR2 PC5300 2048MB CL5
Video Card(s) eVGA 8600GTS 512MB
Storage 1x Western Digital Caviar 2 200GB SATA, 1x Maxtor 80GB IDE, 1x Toshiba 400GB USB
Display(s) 17" BenQ FP731 (Cost £250 4 years or so ago, and still no gosting on games @ 25ms response :D)
Case Antec NSK 4400
Audio Device(s) Create Audigy 2 ZS Platinum eX
Power Supply Hiper 580w PSU (Moduler) 630w peak
Software Windows XP Home SP2, Office 2007 Enterprise, Adobe Photoshop 7.0, Dreamweaver 8
#1
I have an old Acer Travelmate 270 which works pretty dam well (extra 512mb ram), but my issue is that the battery does not seem to like windows. It will work in windows fine, until I loose power from the battery. The problem is that the inbuilt windows icon that sits on my task bar shows the laptop as being on mains power even when it is running soley off the battery. The only indication that the battery is charged comes from the little status light. Please help as I always loose power when I least expect it, or even want it. :banghead:

Thanks

Edit: In Power Options, it recognises that I use a laptop, as it has the option of what to do when I close the lid on my portable computer (laptop). This is really confusing me now, as it recognises that I have a laptop, just doesnt not seem to acnowlage that it is either capebal or even has a battery. :(
 
Last edited:

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.16/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#2
Sounds like a Power Management setting or a Bad Battery(could be wearing out).
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#3
So in power options, it doesnt even recognise there is a battery? How about everest, does that pick it up as having a battery?
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
#4
You might have to re-calibrate the battery, some times the option is in the bios, or an application in windows. another way is to talk the battery out of the laptop and leave it out 10-15 mins, this usually reset the the internal power manager.
 

Fusion

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
143 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz 2x4mb
Motherboard Asus P5Ne-SLI nVIDIA 650 SLi
Cooling Stock Intel CPU cooler, 1x 120mm case fan, 1x 80 case fan
Memory A-DATA DDR2 PC5300 2048MB CL5
Video Card(s) eVGA 8600GTS 512MB
Storage 1x Western Digital Caviar 2 200GB SATA, 1x Maxtor 80GB IDE, 1x Toshiba 400GB USB
Display(s) 17" BenQ FP731 (Cost £250 4 years or so ago, and still no gosting on games @ 25ms response :D)
Case Antec NSK 4400
Audio Device(s) Create Audigy 2 ZS Platinum eX
Power Supply Hiper 580w PSU (Moduler) 630w peak
Software Windows XP Home SP2, Office 2007 Enterprise, Adobe Photoshop 7.0, Dreamweaver 8
#5
Sounds like a Power Management setting or a Bad Battery(could be wearing out).
It worked fine before I did a fresh install of windows, and it keeps on for about 1 1/2 hrs on battery.

I am also downloading everest to see if that helps. I am also tying taking the battery off for a while
 

Fusion

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
143 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz 2x4mb
Motherboard Asus P5Ne-SLI nVIDIA 650 SLi
Cooling Stock Intel CPU cooler, 1x 120mm case fan, 1x 80 case fan
Memory A-DATA DDR2 PC5300 2048MB CL5
Video Card(s) eVGA 8600GTS 512MB
Storage 1x Western Digital Caviar 2 200GB SATA, 1x Maxtor 80GB IDE, 1x Toshiba 400GB USB
Display(s) 17" BenQ FP731 (Cost £250 4 years or so ago, and still no gosting on games @ 25ms response :D)
Case Antec NSK 4400
Audio Device(s) Create Audigy 2 ZS Platinum eX
Power Supply Hiper 580w PSU (Moduler) 630w peak
Software Windows XP Home SP2, Office 2007 Enterprise, Adobe Photoshop 7.0, Dreamweaver 8
#6
Everest says that the battery is still running on AC power, even when its not. Also taking it out for 15 mins while the machine was on didn't seem to work :(
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.81/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#7
looks like you didnt install the laptops power managment software. try going to the company website and installing the software. i have the same problem on my moms vaio, the software is corrupted and no longer works so battery life is horrible.
 

Fusion

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
143 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz 2x4mb
Motherboard Asus P5Ne-SLI nVIDIA 650 SLi
Cooling Stock Intel CPU cooler, 1x 120mm case fan, 1x 80 case fan
Memory A-DATA DDR2 PC5300 2048MB CL5
Video Card(s) eVGA 8600GTS 512MB
Storage 1x Western Digital Caviar 2 200GB SATA, 1x Maxtor 80GB IDE, 1x Toshiba 400GB USB
Display(s) 17" BenQ FP731 (Cost £250 4 years or so ago, and still no gosting on games @ 25ms response :D)
Case Antec NSK 4400
Audio Device(s) Create Audigy 2 ZS Platinum eX
Power Supply Hiper 580w PSU (Moduler) 630w peak
Software Windows XP Home SP2, Office 2007 Enterprise, Adobe Photoshop 7.0, Dreamweaver 8
#8
looks like you didnt install the laptops power managment software. try going to the company website and installing the software. i have the same problem on my moms vaio, the software is corrupted and no longer works so battery life is horrible.
no luck, no drivers on the site or my orginal disk :(
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
#9
try down charging/run down the battery by taking a case fan and splicing the the ends place them on the +/- leads, the charge it again, and do the downcharge one more time...

also there maybe simple program that can do it on the pc in ms dos ( i know pc doctor has one, but thats a 300-500 software.)
 

Fusion

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
143 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz 2x4mb
Motherboard Asus P5Ne-SLI nVIDIA 650 SLi
Cooling Stock Intel CPU cooler, 1x 120mm case fan, 1x 80 case fan
Memory A-DATA DDR2 PC5300 2048MB CL5
Video Card(s) eVGA 8600GTS 512MB
Storage 1x Western Digital Caviar 2 200GB SATA, 1x Maxtor 80GB IDE, 1x Toshiba 400GB USB
Display(s) 17" BenQ FP731 (Cost £250 4 years or so ago, and still no gosting on games @ 25ms response :D)
Case Antec NSK 4400
Audio Device(s) Create Audigy 2 ZS Platinum eX
Power Supply Hiper 580w PSU (Moduler) 630w peak
Software Windows XP Home SP2, Office 2007 Enterprise, Adobe Photoshop 7.0, Dreamweaver 8
#10
try down charging/run down the battery by taking a case fan and splicing the the ends place them on the +/- leads, the charge it again, and do the downcharge one more time...

also there maybe simple program that can do it on the pc in ms dos ( i know pc doctor has one, but thats a 300-500 software.)
not too krrn on that idea, what is the software called do you know?
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,294 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,933
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X 4.1GHz @ 1.425V
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling 2x240mm rads, EKWB pump/res and GPU block. XSPC Raystorm pro CPU block (lapped)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE. Hard modded to increase tdp limit.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.3
#11
yeah, you should never run lithium batteries right down, as it can reduce their capacity or worse still not accept a charge.

I'd recommend contacting the manufacturer and seeing what they have to say.
 

Fusion

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
143 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz 2x4mb
Motherboard Asus P5Ne-SLI nVIDIA 650 SLi
Cooling Stock Intel CPU cooler, 1x 120mm case fan, 1x 80 case fan
Memory A-DATA DDR2 PC5300 2048MB CL5
Video Card(s) eVGA 8600GTS 512MB
Storage 1x Western Digital Caviar 2 200GB SATA, 1x Maxtor 80GB IDE, 1x Toshiba 400GB USB
Display(s) 17" BenQ FP731 (Cost £250 4 years or so ago, and still no gosting on games @ 25ms response :D)
Case Antec NSK 4400
Audio Device(s) Create Audigy 2 ZS Platinum eX
Power Supply Hiper 580w PSU (Moduler) 630w peak
Software Windows XP Home SP2, Office 2007 Enterprise, Adobe Photoshop 7.0, Dreamweaver 8
#12
inftared thanks for that. I did contact the manufactuor and they basicly say that if i want them to have a look at it i have to send it to them and pay £50 for someone to poke around my files. LOL.

Don't worry all, i will keep trying. :D
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.72/day)
Likes
663
#13
not too krrn on that idea, what is the software called do you know?
simply boot a windows 98se boot disk (or memtest), and let it run till 0%, ms-dos doesn't have any battery monitoring, so it wont shut down ahead of time.
 

Fusion

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
143 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz 2x4mb
Motherboard Asus P5Ne-SLI nVIDIA 650 SLi
Cooling Stock Intel CPU cooler, 1x 120mm case fan, 1x 80 case fan
Memory A-DATA DDR2 PC5300 2048MB CL5
Video Card(s) eVGA 8600GTS 512MB
Storage 1x Western Digital Caviar 2 200GB SATA, 1x Maxtor 80GB IDE, 1x Toshiba 400GB USB
Display(s) 17" BenQ FP731 (Cost £250 4 years or so ago, and still no gosting on games @ 25ms response :D)
Case Antec NSK 4400
Audio Device(s) Create Audigy 2 ZS Platinum eX
Power Supply Hiper 580w PSU (Moduler) 630w peak
Software Windows XP Home SP2, Office 2007 Enterprise, Adobe Photoshop 7.0, Dreamweaver 8
#14
simply boot a windows 98se boot disk (or memtest), and let it run till 0%, ms-dos doesn't have any battery monitoring, so it wont shut down ahead of time.
ah that sounds good. funny thing is that xp doesnt seem to have it either for me :(

i have just tried another battery, this also does not seem to work so I assume that it is a problem with windows and not BOTH batteries :(
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.16/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#15
It worked fine before I did a fresh install of windows, and it keeps on for about 1 1/2 hrs on battery.

I am also downloading everest to see if that helps. I am also tying taking the battery off for a while
The battery should last about 3 hours, I still think it's a Windows power managment setting check this link for info

http://support.microsoft.com/search...False&x=10&y=12&query=laptop power management

This is a long list of known problems, maybe you can find the correct one knowing more of your symptoms

Link for new battery

http://www.camcorderbattery.ca/laptop-batteries/acer.htm
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.19/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#16
Sounds like a bad driver or software. It isnt the battery if a second one didnt work.
 

Fusion

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
143 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz 2x4mb
Motherboard Asus P5Ne-SLI nVIDIA 650 SLi
Cooling Stock Intel CPU cooler, 1x 120mm case fan, 1x 80 case fan
Memory A-DATA DDR2 PC5300 2048MB CL5
Video Card(s) eVGA 8600GTS 512MB
Storage 1x Western Digital Caviar 2 200GB SATA, 1x Maxtor 80GB IDE, 1x Toshiba 400GB USB
Display(s) 17" BenQ FP731 (Cost £250 4 years or so ago, and still no gosting on games @ 25ms response :D)
Case Antec NSK 4400
Audio Device(s) Create Audigy 2 ZS Platinum eX
Power Supply Hiper 580w PSU (Moduler) 630w peak
Software Windows XP Home SP2, Office 2007 Enterprise, Adobe Photoshop 7.0, Dreamweaver 8
#17
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290095/en-us

seems like it may be of some use, however I am not clear what it means about using handles, is that something that needs to be done through cmd

I am assumint it is something to do with CMD

WM_POWERBROADCAST / PBT_APMPOWERSTATUSCHANGE are the handles
 
Last edited: