• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop hard drive upgrade

jamupnorth

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
280 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
#1
I have a laptop with a 40gb hard drive and i want to put a bigger one in but how do i transfer the operating system & files ?
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#2
I have a laptop with a 40gb hard drive and i want to put a bigger one in but how do i transfer the operating system & files ?
With a laptop your best bet will be to just reinstall everything from scratch (i.e. windows CD).

You could use something like Norton Ghost if you had the proper tools to attach 2 laptop drives within the laptop, or a desktop.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#4
There should be a way to burn a restore CD using that utility. This is a not very effective way to do it (as it takes like probably 10-15 CD's) but it should be an option if you boot to it.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
1,769 (0.38/day)
Likes
96
Location
Singapore
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k 3.40Ghz @ 4.50Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67 UD7 B3
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2O 920
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3 4GB X2 1600Mhz (Model F3-12800CL7Q-8GBXM)
Video Card(s) Powercolor R9 290 (Stock)
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital Black Cavier 2TB X2
Display(s) Dell U2715H 2560X1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur Spectrum
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional
#5
It would be better off if you get a bootable cd.
 

jamupnorth

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
280 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
#6
There should be a way to burn a restore CD using that utility. This is a not very effective way to do it (as it takes like probably 10-15 CD's) but it should be an option if you boot to it.
I did burn a restore dvd about a year ago when i got the system but i cant find it now & the nti burning software that comes with the machine only lets you burn 1 restore dvd.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
744 (0.19/day)
Likes
78
System Name Tiberius / Aulus
Processor i7 3770K @ 4.6 / i7 4500U 2.4
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / Haswell ULT
Cooling Corsair H80i / Internal Fans
Memory 32Gb Crucial Ballistix / 8Gb Integrated
Video Card(s) eVGA 1080FTW / Intel 4400 HD
Storage 850EVO 500GB + Assorted 8TB / Samsung 512 mSATA SSD
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 2560x1440 / 13" WLED 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake S71 / XPS13
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD / Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX750W / 9 cell Battery
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Win 8.1 Pro / Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Suggestions.
#7
To replace a hard drive on a laptop is a little more troublesome than a desktop. 1st as most people here suggest you will need some sort of a backup disk just in case. Also be sure when buying the new Hard Disk is compatible with your model. And i would strongly suggest you install a new system and start from scratch because there are far too many problems that can occur when transferring system files.
 

jamupnorth

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
280 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
#8
To replace a hard drive on a laptop is a little more troublesome than a desktop. 1st as most people here suggest you will need some sort of a backup disk just in case. Also be sure when buying the new Hard Disk is compatible with your model. And i would strongly suggest you install a new system and start from scratch because there are far too many problems that can occur when transferring system files.
Yeah but it is a bit of a bummer when i have paid for a genuine copy of windows mce.
but i do have a copy of vista that i could put in the laptop but i am not too sure it will be good as it is slower on my desktop which i dual boot wwith xp. the spec is

3000+ SEMPRON CPU
1GB DDR RAM
40 GB RAM
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
744 (0.19/day)
Likes
78
System Name Tiberius / Aulus
Processor i7 3770K @ 4.6 / i7 4500U 2.4
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / Haswell ULT
Cooling Corsair H80i / Internal Fans
Memory 32Gb Crucial Ballistix / 8Gb Integrated
Video Card(s) eVGA 1080FTW / Intel 4400 HD
Storage 850EVO 500GB + Assorted 8TB / Samsung 512 mSATA SSD
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 2560x1440 / 13" WLED 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake S71 / XPS13
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD / Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX750W / 9 cell Battery
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Win 8.1 Pro / Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Suggestions.
#9
Yeah but it is a bit of a bummer when i have paid for a genuine copy of windows mce.
but i do have a copy of vista that i could put in the laptop but i am not too sure it will be good as it is slower on my desktop which i dual boot wwith xp. the spec is

3000+ SEMPRON CPU
1GB DDR RAM
40 GB RAM
I would say that you try and obtain yourself a copy of XP for the laptop because Vista is going to seriously cripple it. (Unless you have a dedicated graphics card with its own memory)
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#10
To replace a hard drive on a laptop is a little more troublesome than a desktop. 1st as most people here suggest you will need some sort of a backup disk just in case. Also be sure when buying the new Hard Disk is compatible with your model. And i would strongly suggest you install a new system and start from scratch because there are far too many problems that can occur when transferring system files.
If you ghost the OS from disk to disk with the same system it should work fine. Thing is you have to GHOST the disk, including the MBR or it won't be bootable. Any other normal laptop drive should work as long as the connections the same.



If you cannot make a backup install CD, you'll likely need to locate a windows install CD, unless you can ghost the drive. Thats pretty much your only options atm.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.73/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
#11
As the Windows disks have some sort of copy protection (i think they do, not sure though), aren't the companies obliged to replace any lost or damaged disks as you could not make a backup. As this is your right, the only way they got round this when implementing the technology was to agree to replace disks that you coul not have backed up. Ring Windows
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#12
Following are the steps you need to do inorder to transfer the OS into another Drive.

Main important thing you need is a DVD to burn(if more data need a DL DVD) and the GODLY Floppy drive (USB should be fine if you have the option to boot with a USB drive).

Click Start-All Programs-Accessories-System Tools-Backup. Click on the Advanced Mode link on ur first screen. Click on the Automated System Recovery Wizard button. Cancel out of the wizard. Select your drives (C drive + other drives if it is partitioned) and System State. Point to a location for the backup file name. Let the wizard run. Will take a while. When it asks for the floppy drive insert and save the details. Do as it says.

Remove the old drive. Put it in a compatible external case to make it a usb drive or use existing USB drive. If your Backup file is small enough to fit in one single DVD then do that.

Put in your new drive. Insert your Windows XP installation CD. Let it boot from the CD. Hit F2. This will take you thru the Restore wizard. When at the point it will ask your floppy and where the Backup file is. Follow those. You are done.

Better if you have a USB case that will go with your laptop drive. Use that use any other PC to transfer the files into the new drive. Put in your new drive. Windows will boot up. Might ask few questions because the hard ware has changed. That is all it is done.

I have done this many times.:D

Easy and simple. No need Norton Ghost. Waste of money.:p
:toast:
 

jamupnorth

New Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
280 (0.07/day)
Likes
5
#13
Following are the steps you need to do inorder to transfer the OS into another Drive.

Main important thing you need is a DVD to burn(if more data need a DL DVD) and the GODLY Floppy drive (USB should be fine if you have the option to boot with a USB drive).

Click Start-All Programs-Accessories-System Tools-Backup. Click on the Advanced Mode link on ur first screen. Click on the Automated System Recovery Wizard button. Cancel out of the wizard. Select your drives (C drive + other drives if it is partitioned) and System State. Point to a location for the backup file name. Let the wizard run. Will take a while. When it asks for the floppy drive insert and save the details. Do as it says.

Remove the old drive. Put it in a compatible external case to make it a usb drive or use existing USB drive. If your Backup file is small enough to fit in one single DVD then do that.

Put in your new drive. Insert your Windows XP installation CD. Let it boot from the CD. Hit F2. This will take you thru the Restore wizard. When at the point it will ask your floppy and where the Backup file is. Follow those. You are done.

Better if you have a USB case that will go with your laptop drive. Use that use any other PC to transfer the files into the new drive. Put in your new drive. Windows will boot up. Might ask few questions because the hard ware has changed. That is all it is done.

I have done this many times.:D

Easy and simple. No need Norton Ghost. Waste of money.:p
:toast:
I will try this option.
 

Fuse-Wire

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
855 (0.22/day)
Likes
39
Location
Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
System Name The Box
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64 X2 2300MHz (11.5x200) 4400+
Motherboard AsRock N 68-S
Cooling Basic 90mm fans
Memory OCZ XTC Platinum 2GB DDR-2 800 SDRAM
Video Card(s) ATI Saphire x1650 Pro Series
Storage Maxtor 6L300R0 (300GB) Maxtors S (250GB)
Display(s) 19" LCD CTX
Case EYE-T
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC650 @ Intel 82801DB ICH4 - AC'97 Audio Controller [B-0]
Power Supply 600W colors-IT super quiet
Software Microsoft 7 Ultimate
#14
any one tried multi drives?? like linkin two or more hard drives to a laptop using a slightly modded IDE cable?? if any one has attempted it sucesfully please tell me how, really dont fancy burniing out any more cables, or drives for that matter!!!
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#15
any one tried multi drives?? like linkin two or more hard drives to a laptop using a slightly modded IDE cable?? if any one has attempted it sucesfully please tell me how, really dont fancy burniing out any more cables, or drives for that matter!!!
They aren't simply "modified ide" cables, they provide power too.
 

Fuse-Wire

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
855 (0.22/day)
Likes
39
Location
Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
System Name The Box
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64 X2 2300MHz (11.5x200) 4400+
Motherboard AsRock N 68-S
Cooling Basic 90mm fans
Memory OCZ XTC Platinum 2GB DDR-2 800 SDRAM
Video Card(s) ATI Saphire x1650 Pro Series
Storage Maxtor 6L300R0 (300GB) Maxtors S (250GB)
Display(s) 19" LCD CTX
Case EYE-T
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC650 @ Intel 82801DB ICH4 - AC'97 Audio Controller [B-0]
Power Supply 600W colors-IT super quiet
Software Microsoft 7 Ultimate
#16
yeah i ken, but you know what laptop connections are like and i cant find multi drive laptop IDE cables anywhere, any help?? most appreciated.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#17
yeah i ken, but you know what laptop connections are like and i cant find multi drive laptop IDE cables anywhere, any help?? most appreciated.
Because they don't exist. :laugh:

The closest you'll be able to get will be a usb/firewire->laptop adaptor, or an ide->laptop adaptor.

I have an adaptor at work, but thats prettymuch the only one I've ever seen.(Which I got form tearing apart a really really old testing computer)

I doubt you'll find a "cable" for a laptop, because 99.999% of laptops use a direct connection, not a cable. I'm not even positive the drives themselves have a master/slave setting either.
 

Fuse-Wire

New Member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
855 (0.22/day)
Likes
39
Location
Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
System Name The Box
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64 X2 2300MHz (11.5x200) 4400+
Motherboard AsRock N 68-S
Cooling Basic 90mm fans
Memory OCZ XTC Platinum 2GB DDR-2 800 SDRAM
Video Card(s) ATI Saphire x1650 Pro Series
Storage Maxtor 6L300R0 (300GB) Maxtors S (250GB)
Display(s) 19" LCD CTX
Case EYE-T
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC650 @ Intel 82801DB ICH4 - AC'97 Audio Controller [B-0]
Power Supply 600W colors-IT super quiet
Software Microsoft 7 Ultimate
#18
Because they don't exist. :laugh:

The closest you'll be able to get will be a usb/firewire->laptop adaptor, or an ide->laptop adaptor.

I have an adaptor at work, but thats prettymuch the only one I've ever seen.(Which I got form tearing apart a really really old testing computer)

I doubt you'll find a "cable" for a laptop, because 99.999% of laptops use a direct connection, not a cable. I'm not even positive the drives themselves have a master/slave setting either.
ah now i see. hmmm i have a feeling im stuck with this 8gb thing then lol, awell should do for a small music collection, need to get a bigger pc up on the go for the whole media thing. thanx much:D