• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop no longer working. What could be the problem?

vbx

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
720 (0.22/day)
Likes
59
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper Z600
Memory Gskill 4gb DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 4670
Storage WD 320gb black
Display(s) Asus MS226H 21.5 monitor
Case Antec P180 Mini
Power Supply Antec NEO ECO 620C
Software Windows 7 x64
#1
Hp Dv1700 CTO laptop.

Laptop turns on, everything lights up besides the HD LED and the Screen remains black.

What could it be? Dead mobo? Dead Screen?

I tried to hook it up to my 21" monitor but I believe you have to set it up in windows to get it to work. I tested the HD and that works fine.

This sucks!
 
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
1,153 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name Alienware laptop
Processor intel i7-3610M @ 2,30Ghz
Motherboard dell?
Cooling 2 built in laptop cooling fans
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Mobility Radeon HD 7970 2GB GDDR5 850/1200 No overclock yet
Storage 1TB hard drive 1.5TB external
Display(s) laptop screen 17.3" 1920x1080 + LG 22" inch LCD HD 1920 x 1200
Case My laptop back pack case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster
Power Supply laptop brick
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#2
maybe take one of the two sticks of ram out and try it that way or try fresh ram? try taking the battery out and booting, check to make sure the fan is spinning, clean the dust out. some laptops will not boot if the fan is dead, maybe get this checked. hope this helps. O and maybe your charger is broken and your laptop battery is dead the fix would be get a new charger , that would be a nice easy fix!
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#3
there is no keyboard key to press to switch displays ?. Like on my Dell lappy there is a key right side of the F12 key.
 

vbx

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
720 (0.22/day)
Likes
59
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper Z600
Memory Gskill 4gb DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 4670
Storage WD 320gb black
Display(s) Asus MS226H 21.5 monitor
Case Antec P180 Mini
Power Supply Antec NEO ECO 620C
Software Windows 7 x64
#4
I think the LCD screen is dead. I pressed every button on the keyboard and nothing shows up on the 21" monitor either so i'm not sure how to switch displays. Also the HD led on the laptop isn't lighting up. So maybe something else is wrong.

I don't see any thing on the keyboard to switch displays.

If the rams are dead, shouldn't I still get a boot screen?
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#5
I think the LCD screen is dead. I pressed every button on the keyboard and nothing shows up on the 21" monitor either so i'm not sure how to switch displays. Also the HD led on the laptop isn't lighting up. So maybe something else is wrong.

I don't see any thing on the keyboard to switch displays.

If the rams are dead, shouldn't I still get a boot screen?
Not 100% sure with laptops but you don't with PC's you get a beep code. Worth checking for sure though.
 

vbx

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
720 (0.22/day)
Likes
59
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper Z600
Memory Gskill 4gb DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 4670
Storage WD 320gb black
Display(s) Asus MS226H 21.5 monitor
Case Antec P180 Mini
Power Supply Antec NEO ECO 620C
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
Not 100% sure with laptops but you don't with PC's you get a beep code. Worth checking for sure though.
Yeah, I'm sure it's not the rams. It beeped earlier when I took everything apart to clean. And I reseated the rams and the beeping stopped.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#7
Yeah, I'm sure it's not the rams. It beeped earlier when I took everything apart to clean. And I reseated the rams and the beeping stopped.
Like overclocker said try 1 at a time. Maybe you should read the manual to the laptop and see if there is such a key as that MIGHT be the reason there is no screen on. On the dell lappy ii have it only works once your in windows.
 

vbx

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2009
Messages
720 (0.22/day)
Likes
59
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper Z600
Memory Gskill 4gb DDR2 1066
Video Card(s) HIS 4670
Storage WD 320gb black
Display(s) Asus MS226H 21.5 monitor
Case Antec P180 Mini
Power Supply Antec NEO ECO 620C
Software Windows 7 x64
#8
Oh crap it work!

One of the ram is bad.

THANK YOU FOR SUGGESTING THAT. I was about to waste 1k on a new laptop.