• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop overclocking adventures

mitsirfishi

New Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
922 (0.18/day)
Location
Grantham UK, Lincs
System Name Lazy boh
Processor AMD X6 1090T @ 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling TT FRIO
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) HD4870
Storage 60gb Ocz vertex 2 2x2TB 2x1TB 1x500GB
Display(s) 25.5" hanns G
Case Antec 1200 V1
Audio Device(s) onboard :P FTW
Power Supply Corsair TX750W v1
Software W7 64Bit
hello there im getting a Asus g1sn just was woundering what they are like overclocking wise
mine comes with a t8300 2.4Ghz , 9500gs M 3gb of ram any clue on what the processor clocks like and same with gpu
 

theonetruewill

New Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.63/day)
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
hello there im getting a Asus g1sn just was woundering what they are like overclocking wise
mine comes with a t8300 2.4Ghz , 9500gs M 3gb of ram any clue on what the processor clocks like and same with gpu
Unless it allows overclocking in the BIOS it seems all cpu tweaking is out until someone works out how it is done on the core 2 mobile line. GPU should be fun though - they always drastically underclock them.
 

mitsirfishi

New Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
922 (0.18/day)
Location
Grantham UK, Lincs
System Name Lazy boh
Processor AMD X6 1090T @ 4ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling TT FRIO
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) HD4870
Storage 60gb Ocz vertex 2 2x2TB 2x1TB 1x500GB
Display(s) 25.5" hanns G
Case Antec 1200 V1
Audio Device(s) onboard :P FTW
Power Supply Corsair TX750W v1
Software W7 64Bit
sounds like im going to have some fun :D see what she can do in 3dmark 06
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,419 (2.61/day)
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
Interesting thread here, I don't really got time to look through all 22 pages. But sometime I plan on picking up a laptop and I see some people have got some really nice OC's out of them, but I gotta ask, do the stock PSU's in these laptops handle this well? I can't imagine they come equipped to handle much more than the stock settings.
 

powermegab

New Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Mobility HD 3470 X2

Hi everyone and happy holidays.
Now I have a problem regardin my notebook which has an ATI Mobility gpu. Now the frequencies are terrible low even for a notebook gpu and I tried to over clock it but every time i trie to apply it comes to default settings, so I think I have a lock bios. What I need to know it if its normal to have 337 mhz (core speed) on full load and 497 mhz (ram)... ?
When I use GPU-Z its says it has 680 mhz core speed and 800 mhz ram. :wtf:
IS it normal to see this values and to have others for real, and even at half that it should be ?
And by the way my drivers are very very exigent, when it comes to update because the new drivers wont recognise my gpu, so i dont have much options when it comes to tweaking and optimization. (sorry for my bad english :D)
 

nfshp253

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Hello, I have an Asus A8Jr and want to overclock the t5600 processor from 1.83GHz to 2.2Ghz, but I can't seem to find the PLL for my laptop. Please help!
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
1,745 (0.36/day)
Location
The Nevada Wasteland
System Name 9th Level
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE @3.4Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA790FX-UD5P
Cooling Corsair H100, x2 250mm, x1 140mm, x3 120mm fans.
Memory 8GB Patriot DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480 (800/1600/2000/@1.0v)
Storage x1 80GB, x2 1TB.
Display(s) Acer 24" 2ms 1920x1200
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Xtreme gamer 64mb Xram
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
This isnt a help thread post in Overclocking & Cooling.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,773 (2.46/day)
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
I have a late 2007 Fujitsu Siemens V5355 ( the cheapest version of that model too :p )

Notebook hardware controls can not alter the processor speed, so I can't change to high performance mode any ideas at all?

( Has a 1.7 ghz celeron in it)
 

ddarvish

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
I Hav hp dv4t at 2ghz. want to over clock. what chipset do i pick in clock gen
 

CAPITAL LETTERS

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
136 (0.03/day)
Location
Ninja's Dont Need Homes
i honestly dont see the point in overclocking a laptop......well sure, if the cooling is there, why not! but its hard to 'ubercool' a laptop to sustain the OC'd temps.

now what would be cool is if the CPU heatsink was gone and have a waterblock with 1/4" tubing leading in and out of the cooling vents to an external watercooling system, that sits in your laptop bag for instance.
now that would be cool

but for the time being i'd rather stay with stock clocks on a laptop
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.65/day)
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
I think the same but if i could get a bit more speed out of mine id be happy even if it aint no slouch.
 

ddarvish

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
well id still love to overclock my hp dv4t laptop regardless of what others say, so if you have helpful information as to what chipset do i pick in clock gen with my 2.0 ghz core2duo p7350 i would appreciate it
 

kwchang007

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (0.85/day)
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
You have to play with pll's...although as far as I know clockgen hasn't really worked with core 2's. And btw I can overclock my gfx card just fine by turning the fans up to high....maybe if you're running a mobile pentium 4 then the stock cooling will be overload, but modern core 2's run fairly cool, but I'm not saying you should leave a laptop overclocked...you should defiantly use stock clocks and undervolt when you can.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
146 (0.04/day)
Location
Dresden, Germany, Europe, Earth
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core i5
Motherboard Asrock ITX
Cooling Water
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 70" TV
Case Coolermaster ITX
Audio Device(s) Radeon Onboard HDMI
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores -242 whatsoever
short question guys, since i had no luck ocing my T2250 i thought of buying an C2D mobile something like the P8400, so is there any chance to get this thing working on a centrino duo platform(i945PM Chipset) ... i've read it was compatible but then there are others ones/things that report it won't work ... so want do u guys think/know about it? any experience?
 

i_am_jon

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Just followed your guide and got my old acer pentium M (740) 1.7Ghz up to 2.1Ghz using clockgen. Been running prime 95 for over 1 hour and only hit 65C.

As for why overclock a laptop;
Aside from the fun of just tweaking stuff it now plays HD videos a lot smoother :)
 

d44ve

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2007
Messages
2,520 (0.55/day)
Processor Intel E6600 @ 4.2GHZ Wo0t!
Motherboard ASUS Striker Extreme & eVGA 680i A1
Cooling Phase Change !!
Memory OCZ SLI 1066MHZ (2GB)
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTX
Storage Western Digital 320 GB
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Lian-Li V2000
Software Vista Ultimate
Hey guys, new to the overclocking laptop world and could use some help.

First off I have an Nvidia 8400GS GPU and cannot use NTune because I am not using Nforce 2 or some BS.

Any idea's? I tried Rivatuner, but I think I have to use the advance tools and I have never used it before. BTW, I have a HP DV6700
 

kwchang007

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (0.85/day)
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
Hey guys, new to the overclocking laptop world and could use some help.

First off I have an Nvidia 8400GS GPU and cannot use NTune because I am not using Nforce 2 or some BS.

Any idea's? I tried Rivatuner, but I think I have to use the advance tools and I have never used it before. BTW, I have a HP DV6700
Um, hmm any other like programs to OC graphics? Like I use ATI tray tools (I think it's been a while) and I don't think it really cares but I'm using an ATI card. I would try programs you would use for a desktop graphics card before trying obscure programs.
 

d44ve

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2007
Messages
2,520 (0.55/day)
Processor Intel E6600 @ 4.2GHZ Wo0t!
Motherboard ASUS Striker Extreme & eVGA 680i A1
Cooling Phase Change !!
Memory OCZ SLI 1066MHZ (2GB)
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTX
Storage Western Digital 320 GB
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Lian-Li V2000
Software Vista Ultimate
Um, hmm any other like programs to OC graphics? Like I use ATI tray tools (I think it's been a while) and I don't think it really cares but I'm using an ATI card. I would try programs you would use for a desktop graphics card before trying obscure programs.

ATITOOL wont work for some reason... cant remember the error. I will get it for you though
 

kwchang007

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (0.85/day)
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
ATITOOL wont work for some reason... cant remember the error. I will get it for you though
Alright, have you taken a look at the front page for programs?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,820 (6.16/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
ATI Tool hasnt been updated in so long i believe Wizzard has given up on it.
 

lukada

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2008
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
How to overclock the Memory, in perticulary the SPD timings i have now an HP dv1199ew with th system bus running at 266mhz, the memory is rated at 2:3 so wit 400 but i want only 266 and the timings that come along with this. now they are 6-6-6-18, and with 266mhz they go down to 4-4-4-16 so how do i do that?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
690 (0.16/day)
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz @ 3000MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 25" Dell Ultrasharp U2515H / 1 x 15" ASUS MB169+
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) 2 x Tannoy Reveal 502 / Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO 250 Ohm / Behringer Xenyx X1204 USB / MXL 770
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS / Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
Don't worry about cooling soldiers...buy a couple of 120mm delta fans to aid the system exhaust..I've tried it...drops a lot of degrees...but eh I'm waiting on 2 new ones since my prev one broke.

Memory can be editing using SPDTool...am running mine @ 5-4-4-9 from 5-5-5-15.

My problem is bios flashing the vga now...it's the only thing holding me back.
 

Mc-T

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
regarding the quanta 3603 with the core 2 duo

does anyone know where i can find info about overclocking this thing?
 

Amy

New Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2009
Messages
17 (0.00/day)
i honestly dont see the point in overclocking a laptop......well sure, if the cooling is there, why not! but its hard to 'ubercool' a laptop to sustain the OC'd temps.

now what would be cool is if the CPU heatsink was gone and have a waterblock with 1/4" tubing leading in and out of the cooling vents to an external watercooling system, that sits in your laptop bag for instance.
now that would be cool

but for the time being i'd rather stay with stock clocks on a laptop
I agree.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
450 (0.10/day)
Location
Northern Arizona
System Name Colourwheel
Processor AMD A8-3870K Black Edition (3.0 GHz Quad core) OC 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASRock A55 PRO3
Cooling Coloured Fans lol and Cooler Masters Vortex Plus
Memory Corsair Vengence 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) 2GB XFX Radeon HD R7750 Core Edition
Storage 2 x Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB | 2TB Western Digital Caviar Green | 500GB WD Passport EHDD
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron IPS226V
Case ENERMAX OSTROG Black/White
Audio Device(s) Onboard: Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair GS700
Software Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit)
my Dell XPS M1530 Laptop not overclocked or anything is idling at
CPU- 74 C [lol]
GPU- 66 C
HDD- 38 C
Comp- 66 C
 
Top