• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop overclocking adventures

pmrdij

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2006
Messages
87 (0.02/day)
Likes
13
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 940 @ 3.6 (16x225)
Motherboard DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSH
Cooling CoolIT Domino A.L.C.
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC 8GB (4x2GB) DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
Video Card(s) XFX HD-487A-ZDDC Radeon HD 4870 (OC'd to 825/1000) | XFX HD-489A-ZDFC Radeon HD 4890
Storage 2x Seagate 320GB SATA2 (ST3320620AS)
Case LIAN LI PC-X500B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
Power Supply PCP&C S75QB 750W | Thermaltake Pure Power Express 250W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x64
my Dell XPS M1530 Laptop not overclocked or anything is idling at
CPU- 74 C [lol]
GPU- 66 C
HDD- 38 C
Comp- 66 C
my lappy (due to battery failure) now sits as the media machine connected to my 42" LCD. just upgraded to the newest Ubuntu and with this mod i did it is idling at 21C in 13C weather.

- Robert (PmR)DeathInJune
 

s4crificed

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi.

i'm trying to overclock Asus z99le (gl960).
Clockgen seems to reed clock values, but is unable to set them. I used it with all of ppl's. It reads the clock, but when i want to change it and press "apply selection" - ClockGen thinks for few seconds and then clock goes back to defult value.

how can i fix it?

thanks:)
 

s4crificed

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Ok, i found it out!:)

needed to use SETFSB and clock generator to ICS9LPR363DGLF

from 1596mhz i moved to 2169.4mhz

pcmark2004 from 3936 to 4921 (25% increase)

nice :toast:
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,081 (0.33/day)
Likes
608
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
I would SO be doing this with my asus G50 but theres warrenty stickers on the processor screws, so i cant even pull it off in order to put some decent heat sink paste on. Def going to do it once the warrenty is out tho. May still do it... lol.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2006
Messages
2,996 (0.73/day)
Likes
232
Location
London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
System Name COLOSSUS-MK4
Processor E8400 @4.4 GHz - FSB @550 MHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium (Black Pearl)
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x1GB Geil BlckDrgn 800 @1158 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) 8800GT 512MB @740/1782/2080
Storage Hitachi T7K250 250GB & 7200.10 Seagate 250GB
Display(s) Gateway FPD1975W 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Xi-FI Xtreme Audio
Power Supply CoolerMaster IGreen 500W
Software XP Home SP3
Benchmark Scores SuperPi: 10.563 Sciencemark: 2563.14
Ok, i found it out!:)

needed to use SETFSB and clock generator to ICS9LPR363DGLF

from 1596mhz i moved to 2169.4mhz

pcmark2004 from 3936 to 4921 (25% increase)

nice :toast:
good man
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi all,

Due to the warm weather I brought out the ventilator into my room. Now I haven't really bothered to OC higher than 2.13 GHz with my intel Celeron M (1.73 Ghz) processor other than to watch some 720p MKV files, but I decided to make use of this opportunity to OC to the limit and make use of my ventilator which has a diameter of 14 inches.

I was running Disk Cleanup that utilizes 100% of my CPU when I had this idea. I put the ventilator next to my 12 inch lappy and increased the FSB slider to reach 2.13 GHz as starting point and watched the temperature as I increase the slider more and more. From experience, I know playing TF2 for a while makes my notebook as hot as 71 degrees C at a standard 1.73 Ghz with its lonely 60 mm fan spinning.

This is where things get interesting: While running Disk Cleanup and turning on my ventilator on max speed initially, I notice the temperature hovers around an amazing 63 degrees C whilst sliding the FSB higher and higher, going beyond the 2.13 GHz. The next amazing thing is when I reach the whopping speed of 2.53 Ghz and still hovering around the same temperature. Yeah. Increasing the slider beyond that, gives me no increase in frequency and that's my roadblock. Not a temperature, or a crash thingy.

To put this 12 inch lappy to the real test, I started playing TF2 at a slightly lower frequency (as I know my IGP card shares the same heatpipe as my CPU) and after a while, checked its temperature (Ventilator setting was on its highest, producing a lot of noise); 63 degrees C. Not bad, so I increased its frequency to its max and ventilator on its lowest setting and it gave a satisfying result. 65 C.

Tried running 3D Mark but its giving me a crash I'm all too familiar with at a certain test, even w/o OC'ing. I know it's a RAM slight incompatibility thing, so it's not my CPU.
 
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
1,153 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name Alienware laptop
Processor intel i7-3610M @ 2,30Ghz
Motherboard dell?
Cooling 2 built in laptop cooling fans
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Mobility Radeon HD 7970 2GB GDDR5 850/1200 No overclock yet
Storage 1TB hard drive 1.5TB external
Display(s) laptop screen 17.3" 1920x1080 + LG 22" inch LCD HD 1920 x 1200
Case My laptop back pack case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster
Power Supply laptop brick
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Hey guys I just bot a new laptop in specs << and i would love to overclock but this stupid thing will not overclock, nothing works i have tryed all the ati tools,rivatuner,and AMD gpu wont even open dunno y. Seeing as you guys all have laptops i thought i would post this here, hope you dont mind.
 

alexpr07

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2009
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
very nice, i was just looking for ways to overclock my laptop, found a lot of useful resources in this thread, thank you guys
 

-faal-

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi!

1) I have problems with overclocking my laptop Toshiba Satellite A200-1SJ. Chipset is Intel GM965. Processor is Intel Core 2 Duo T5450.
I'm using setFSB but I can't find correct PLL. I tried to overclock also with ClockGen and other programs but it wasn't successful.

2) I have already overclocked my graphics card ATI Radeon 2600 with AMD GPU Clock Tool, but after installing new driver with Mobility Modder it can't be overclocked. I tried to roll back previous driver, but nothing happened. When I enter values in AMD GPU Clock Tool and press Set Clocks, screen flashes for millisecond and clocks get back to default.

Any help would be appreciated and thanks!
 

pyro4lif

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
hey guys i am trying to overcolock my laptop and i am having troubles with this pll stuff
so i took my computer apart and i read on one of the chips ISL 6236 so i looked it up on google and its a lagit pll so i looked on clock gen and setfsb and that pll wasnt on there so what do i do now find one that is close to it? or what can some one give me advice other than it cant be doen
thanks :)
 

somebody

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
127 (0.04/day)
Likes
26
Sorry but using the ISL 6236 to increase the FSB cant be done :p simply because it's a voltage regulator / converter. If you try again then look out for the oscillator, usually a small brown or metal cased block with something like 14.3 (14.318MHz) written on it and the PLL should be close by.

Here's mine but remember PLL's come in a number of different types and packages so yours will probably not be the same.
 

Attachments

pyro4lif

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Sorry but using the ISL 6236 to increase the FSB cant be done :p simply because it's a voltage regulator / converter. If you try again then look out for the oscillator, usually a small brown or metal cased block with something like 14.3 (14.318MHz) written on it and the PLL should be close by.

Here's mine but remember PLL's come in a number of different types and packages so yours will probably not be the same.
dude this helps alot i have looked online for some place that tells u how to find it but never found a detailed description like that I'ma go take my laptop apart again right now
i saw that yesterday so i know were it is
i believe my chip that looks like what you described said intel on it
 

pyro4lif

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
ok guys i found the pll chip (http://forum.notebookreview.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=39529&d=1255957840 this is a pic i found on the net) its a realtec rtm875t-606
now i would like help to know if i can get this puppy overclocked with out going to pin moding...

so i got that now my problem is in NHC when i set my cpu stetting to max it says error in changing the cpu so what do i do now? can my core 2 Duo Processor T5600 even be overclocke

does setfsb change the speed of the cpu also?



i found this in another form http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=393027&page=20
 
Last edited:

somebody

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
127 (0.04/day)
Likes
26
Now you know the PLL, but if you are having problems using setFSB it would be best finding a datasheet for the chip. Not always an easy task or sometimes even on the realm of impossibility. If we have no datasheet then we can try and read the data off the smbus, you should hopefully be able to do this with setFSB or RWEverything, and guess.

Changing the FSB (technically we're really changing the Bus Clock from which the FSB is derived) will change both CPU Speed and RAM speed. Too much speed will cause instability and crash your system. The faster your clocks the more power is required by the CPU so if adequate cooling is not available for the increase then overheating will occur.

I'm a little confused as to your statement about NHC, if you have previously reduced core voltage for each multiplier and now successfully increased BCLK (FSB) then you will probably run into instability problems and need to reduce the amount of overclock or increase core voltage. Be very careful increasing voltage though as this will increase power consumption, and consequently heat, much more than just increasing frequency.

You might find using just the default voltages is sufficient to increase your overclock frequency to the point where cooling becomes an issue. ;)
 

bissa

New Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2009
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name Loki
Processor intel E5200 OCed to 3.3
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling air cooled
Memory muskin 2GB 2X1 redline
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
Storage SAMSUNG 1TB 7200RPM SATA II
Display(s) Acer H233H 23" LCD 1080P
Case Antec Sonata revision 1
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software XP pro
I read the warranty on my HP laptop and they make it out to sound like it will turn into a small nuclear device if you even attempt to OC anything on it.
 

pyro4lif

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
ok i understand alot better now for reading more and stuff yes i know about temps here are some screen shots
can some one help me get this overclocked i sont think the set fsb is working cuz i change it but it doent chang on cpuz...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
750 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
Location
RI, USA
Processor FX 8150 4.41Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws X 1600
Video Card(s) Diamond Multimedia HD7970 3GB
Storage 2x WD Black 640GB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" LED
Case Cooler Master Cosmos (new version)
Audio Device(s) Platronics 777
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Signature Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Geekbench: 10,136 3DMark 11: P7792
I am able to get to about 2140 on my t7200 from 2.0. only craps out because the memory gets clocked way too high, any way to oc the ram less using setfsb v2?
 

somebody

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
127 (0.04/day)
Likes
26
I read the warranty on my HP laptop and they make it out to sound like it will turn into a small nuclear device if you even attempt to OC anything on it.
hehe. With many manufactures trying to keep laptop sizes and costs down to provided a competitive product, a lot of today's laptops already run quite warm even hot so it's quite understandable they get a bit twitchy when overclock is mentioned. There's more than just the CPU and/or GPU that get stressed with overclocking ;). For my own laptop overclocking I tested it as much as I could for the first 2 weeks from new to make sure it didn't have any obvious problems, then decided the risk was very small of it failing in the one year warranty period or if it did I could probably fix it out of my own cost. Being a low entry level laptop helped that decision too. I guess what it comes down to would be if you can't afford to lose the laptop, don't take the risk.

ok i understand alot better now for reading more and stuff yes i know about temps here are some screen shots
can some one help me get this overclocked i sont think the set fsb is working cuz i change it but it doent chang on cpuz...
Some PLL's have a pin set by pull-up resistor for locking the programmable registers, if that's the case then it will likely require a hardware modification. Did you have any luck finding the datasheet for the rtm875t-606?

I am able to get to about 2140 on my t7200 from 2.0. only craps out because the memory gets clocked way too high, any way to oc the ram less using setfsb v2?
If you can not set the timing for RAM in the BIOS then you might be able to set the RAM speed using spdtool to a lower clock. This tends to work best if you have 2 or more modules as only one needs to be flashed then BIOS should pull the speed of the others down to match the slowest module. If the flash doesn't work and the laptop wont boot you can take the flashed module out and boot off the good one. Once booted the clocks to the now empty SODIMM socket should be off so you can reinsert and re-flash. Be careful though, what ought to happen and what it actually does happen can be two different things.

EDIT: You could first of all try memset to increase latency but you might find CAS is locked.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2007
Messages
750 (0.20/day)
Likes
47
Location
RI, USA
Processor FX 8150 4.41Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 16GB GSkill Ripjaws X 1600
Video Card(s) Diamond Multimedia HD7970 3GB
Storage 2x WD Black 640GB, WD Black 2TB, Samsung 830 256GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" LED
Case Cooler Master Cosmos (new version)
Audio Device(s) Platronics 777
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Signature Edition x64
Benchmark Scores Geekbench: 10,136 3DMark 11: P7792
yeah it's ddr2-667 and locked at 5-5-5-18 I believe. I'm thinking of grabbing a 4GB kit of ddr2-800 so that should work itself out? With that said I think I should be able to get to around 2200 or so with stock voltages?
 

pyro4lif

New Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Some PLL's have a pin set by pull-up resistor for locking the programmable registers, if that's the case then it will likely require a hardware modification. Did you have any luck finding the datasheet for the rtm875t-606?
some one got a successful overclock with the same pll and processor and created this thread http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=429717

so any one with RTM875t-606 pll and wants to pin mod overclock go to think link above
 

lmlim

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Need Help OC'ing my ASUS F83SE Laptop.

Hi,

I just got my new decent laptop, asus F83SE comes with C2D P8700 and ATI 4570.
I had tried setfsb and alike but dont know my PLL chip in my laptop. Also want to OC my ATI too if possible. I tried ATItool, but it didnt work. Yes i have used Mobility Modder also.

Is there any kind soul can help me? Thanks in advance.

BTW, I'm using Win 7 x64.

Cheers.
 
Last edited:

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,718 (6.37/day)
Likes
7,626
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
figured i would join this thread



stock is 1200mhz@.9v OC is 1560mhz@.8v

on my gateway netbook :D

any ideas on the X1270 atitools & etc dont work on it
 
Last edited: