• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Laptop overclocking adventures

Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
Ok I got a new laptop with an AMD Turion M500 @ 2.2Ghz whats a successful method of upping the clocks on this?
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
57 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Asus M50Vn
Processor Core 2 Duo P8600
Motherboard ASUSTeK M50Vn, Intel PM45, BIOS 212 (2009-10-14)
Memory 2x2 GiB DDR2 PC2-6400 Samsung
Video Card(s) GeForce 9650M GT
Storage 320 GB Hitachi
Software Win XP 32, Ubuntu 9.10 64, Fedora 12 64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark03: 13445 (SC) 15008 (OC) http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/v6b2f/ Fritz 9 Chess: 3091knps (6.

somebody

New Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2009
Messages
127 (0.04/day)
Likes
26
stock is 1200mhz@.9v OC is 1560mhz@.8v
Hey, that's cool. A 30% overclock with practically the same power draw as stock (:love:% increase in power draw at full load over stock). Congrats. :toast:

Sorry, I know next to nothing about AMD / ATi. :eek:

For the Asus laptop have you tried setFSB for CPU overclocking?

Saw a hint that ICS9LPR362AGLF or ICS9LPR363DGLF may be the PLL you want. If it's locked you may have to do some hardware modding.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
57 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
System Name Asus M50Vn
Processor Core 2 Duo P8600
Motherboard ASUSTeK M50Vn, Intel PM45, BIOS 212 (2009-10-14)
Memory 2x2 GiB DDR2 PC2-6400 Samsung
Video Card(s) GeForce 9650M GT
Storage 320 GB Hitachi
Software Win XP 32, Ubuntu 9.10 64, Fedora 12 64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark03: 13445 (SC) 15008 (OC) http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/v6b2f/ Fritz 9 Chess: 3091knps (6.
For the Asus laptop have you tried setFSB for CPU overclocking?
Yeah I tried that, but I don't know my clock generator... :(
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
w00t just letting u know i followed the guide to enable mobility OC's for my xpress 200m Great stuff thanks for the help in letting me acheive 7x gold trophies for best in hardware class in HWbot. more to come. :)

 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.96/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
Still on the lappy Sol bugga as for me thought about oc me lappy but since ill most likely unless something comes up go desktop i think ill pass.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Still on the lappy Sol bugga as for me thought about oc me lappy but since ill most likely unless something comes up go desktop i think ill pass.
ya system is still dead :( i has a sad :(
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2007
Messages
7,185 (1.96/day)
Likes
769
Location
Adelaide Australia
System Name Becca 2
Processor AMD A10 4600m quad core @ 2.3 ghz
Motherboard dunno
Cooling Logitech alto connect
Memory 16 Gig ddr3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Ati HD 7660G + & 7470M
Storage 1 TB
Audio Device(s) onboard crap
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit with sp1
Least ya got a lappy it would sad for many of us if ya coudnt get on here.

Bit of topic here.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Least ya got a lappy it would sad for many of us if ya coudnt get on here.

Bit of topic here.
for you trip ill send my mem and mobo out today
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
w00t just letting u know i followed the guide to enable mobility OC's for my xpress 200m Great stuff thanks for the help in letting me acheive 7x gold trophies for best in hardware class in HWbot. more to come. :)

http://colardyn-it.be/storage/signature_u9565.png
I owned 3 or 4 trophies for my old lappy's overclocks. Too bad I over heated it to the point of death. Still got $ for the parts :)

What lappy are you on? MacBook? Lol
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,270 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,077
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I owned 3 or 4 trophies for my old lappy's overclocks. Too bad I over heated it to the point of death. Still got $ for the parts :)

What lappy are you on? MacBook? Lol
LOL macook ya right sorry no starbucks for me thanks. (not a mac fan) Dell 1501
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2007
Messages
8,506 (2.34/day)
Likes
2,072
Location
Kansas City
System Name The Dove Box Rev 2.0
Processor I7 5930k
Motherboard Asus X99
Cooling Custom water loop
Memory 4 x 4GB 3000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2x MSI 780 Ti's in SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 PCIe SSD, 2x1TB WD Blacks, 1.2TB NAS
Display(s) 27" Asus 144Hz
Case Enermax Fulmo GT
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD FTW
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 850W
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Win 10 64x
Come on you know you like a Carmel Moca Light Latte every once in a while. :p
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
I've tried everything I could on the 1st page to try and overclock either my Athlon II Turion or 4200 Mobility and nothing seems to work. I got MSI after burner to read my clocks but When I slide the bar and hit apply it does nothing.

Any tips some1 here must have overclocked 1 or the other and can share the knowledge of how he did it.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2006
Messages
61 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor C2Q Q9550 @3.75
Motherboard asus R.O.G. Rampage Extreme
Cooling Alphacool nexxos 360
Memory 4 Gig ddr3 1600 crucial ballistic sport
Video Card(s) HD 4890 vapor-x
Storage OCZ Agilty 60GB +2 samsung 1 TB sata2 raid 0
Display(s) 23" full HD HP lcd
Case aerocool X-predator
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-fi (comes with mobo)
Power Supply OCZ gamexstream 600
Software windows 8 x64
hi i am going to give it a shot as well. i have an ancient HP ze5500.
its a pentium 4 mobile 2.3 Ghz 512KB. with an ati igm (cant remeber the number) video chip.
in atitool, it's able to produce a stunning avg 8 fps:D
it runs stock 180 Mhz, got it to 240 easy but no performce gain due to 100% cpu load.

i already ripped the thing apart, cleaned the fans and heatsinks and applied some artic silver.
i has dual fans and cooling system looks great imo.

bios realy won't let me change anything, so the software tools will come in realy handy.
i tryed to copy the bios, and tryed to open it in phoenix bios editor, wont open it:wtf:
it's phoenix, but isnt reconised as one. anyone got expiriance on this?

got to sort out some problems first btw, i keep getting bsod, i think there's a crappy driver.
when running safe mode no problems.

when i get results il post back
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
597 (0.19/day)
Likes
101
Location
Ireland.
I've tried everything I could on the 1st page to try and overclock either my Athlon II Turion or 4200 Mobility and nothing seems to work. I got MSI after burner to read my clocks but When I slide the bar and hit apply it does nothing.

Any tips some1 here must have overclocked 1 or the other and can share the knowledge of how he did it.
What model laptop is it?
 

ajnauron

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
ATI Mobility Radeon and MSI Afterburner

For the dudes with ATI Mobility Radeon cards using MSI Afterburner:

Download GPUTool to an accessible folder and run it. Download MSI Afterburner (even if you already have Afterburner on your PC make sure you have it updated to the latest version). Navigate to the folder you installed it to (usually C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner) and open the MSIAfterburner.cfg file using Wordpad. Find the following setting:

Code:
EnableUnofficialOverclocking	= 0
and change it to:

Code:
EnableUnofficialOverclocking	= 1
Copied from here.
 

XeoNoX

New Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
127 (0.03/day)
Likes
0
Overclocking your laptop is asking for trouble, especially if it already running hot wich alot of laptops do, its like asking for some KFP

 
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Romania
Hello everyone ! I am new here and i had read allmost all pages on this thread. I have installed setfsb on my laptop Acer 7520 with Turion TK 55 (ATHLON X2 1800 Mhz). I have tested all the pll chips that are in the list, and they are many...took me 1 hour... but none worked...Can somebody help me next? I mean Acer is a very common laptop, maybe someone allready did overclock it. Have a nice day !
 
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Romania
LOL, when i said "can somebody help me ? " i didn`t imagine that SOMEBODY will help me :D. Thankyou Somebody ! It realy helped me, that guy had exactly my laptop model. So i had installed NTUNE and it works like a charm. I have placed on my desktop 2 shortcuts of the "overclocked mode" and for the "basic mode" so i can switch anytime to the other state. So now i can go from 1800 MHz to 2250 MHz in a second. Everything works better now. I must mention that i am on Windows 7-64 bit , and there are a lot of my old stuff notworking on it. I had to put a shortcut of the "ntune service.exe" file in win Startup folder for that the soft starts with windows (other Win7 blurrs)...I didn`t overclock the videocard because it was allready hot when forced to 100 percent. In 2 words - total success ! :D
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,819
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Wish I could OC my Processor in my Laptop, Dell Inspiron XPS Gen 1 with a Gallatin Core (Northwood Extreme/ 2MB L3) P4 at 3.4GHz HT (Win 7 Detects it at 3.39 which is bogus when Win XP detects at 3.4GHz) Trust me this Thing has 3 fans in it.
 
Joined
May 24, 2010
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Romania
Already lots of people overclocked theyr laptops. It`s harder cause we used to do that in BIOS, on laptops you can rarely do that. In my case i use it now in the place of the desktop computer and everything in plus is wellcome as working power. When its about netbooks, we are using them i guess mostly for internet. And it will be very hard to see an improvement about surfing on the net. Usualy the internet works bad because of the link, the speed you get the signal from the internt provider. Even with a powerfull computer , its no improvement if you have a slow link. So i believe its no use to overclock a netbook, i`d better try use the power form the cells more efficient so that i`ll have even more workingtime with no powerplug. Many times, getting a better wireless signal (by moving closer to the router or reorientate the netbook) will dramaticaly improve netsurfing on the netbook. Would anybody use the netbook to create mp3`s from waves? Or xvid`s from dvd`s ? Low chances cause netbooks don`t usualy have CDs or DVDs in it.