• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Laptop overclocking adventures

Aaron_C

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hello everyone,

i have been trying to follow the guide (I have a HP nx9420) with an ATI mobility x1600. Trying to trick it into think it is just a regular ati card. I have gotten stuck @ step 3. I modded the drivers of the one i downloaded but i don't know how to install them through the control panel I can't see a way to do that. Every i uninstall my old driver and wipe clean of it and restart, the computer automatically reinstalls the driver so it is a mobility card again. I don't know what to do at this stage to unlock the card. I appreciate all the help!

1) Download latest Catalyst/display drivers.
2) Mod them http://www.driverheaven.net/modtool/
3) Install from Windows control panel (Start> Control Panel> display driver, searching them MANUALLY into the .INF that you can find into the modded MODDED ATI DRIVER - select x1600 or x1650 (no mobility)
4) Restart
5) Install Catalyst Control Center Modded
6) Restart
7) Install ATI Tool and check the clock, if it's strange (like 7400 mhz clock - impossible) go to settings and check, on the x1000 overclocking section, "use driver level clocking". This will alleviate many headaches with OC-ing your ATI Mobility based Radeon.
8) Before starting to overclock, write somewhere clocks you see after the point 7 because the new "defaults" botton will go to 85.9/85.9....and this mean that if you unluckily click it a lot of articrafts will appear (because of too much downclocking), but don't be scared...it's all ok, nothing dangerous, the problem is that it's hard to find something to click on the screen . So, to be prepared, create a new profile with you real default settings and us it like defaults before starting to joke with clocks.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,260 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
go to device manager. display adapter click drop down arrow. right click on card go to properties. driver tab. update driver.

 

Aaron_C

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I found the .INF and installed it correctly and then restarted. Then went back into the device manager and it still says that the card is a mobility radeon x1600. Is that ok? I thought it was suppose to say just Radeon x1600
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,260 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I found the .INF and installed it correctly and then restarted. Then went back into the device manager and it still says that the card is a mobility radeon x1600. Is that ok? I thought it was suppose to say just Radeon x1600
you wont know for sure until you try clocking it.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,260 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
are you sure you unchecked signed drivers and picked the right one from the list?
 

Aaron_C

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
are you sure you unchecked signed drivers and picked the right one from the list?
under the driver info in device manager, the driver is not signed. Are you asking if i picked the correct driver from the list online? or the correct .INF file?

I also tried to set the clock in ATI tool and when i hit tried the screen flickered in a checkerboard pattern then went black and nothing happened after that.....
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,260 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
under the driver info in device manager, the driver is not signed. Are you asking if i picked the correct driver from the list online? or the correct .INF file?

I also tried to set the clock in ATI tool and when i hit tried the screen flickered in a checkerboard pattern then went black and nothing happened after that.....
yup it worked then. it means it oc'd wasnt stable then the driver restarted which brought you back to default. try smaller jumps
 

Aaron_C

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
yup it worked then. it means it oc'd wasnt stable then the driver restarted which brought you back to default. try smaller jumps
smaller jumps (in setting the clock) in ATI tool or ATI tray tools?

I've read people jumping my card from 425 to 550+ for the core....? I have tried to find max core and max memory but the same things happen, the black screen comes up and nothing else happens. It's version 0.24 (i read it was the good one).
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,260 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,069
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
smaller jumps (in setting the clock) in ATI tool or ATI tray tools?

I've read people jumping my card from 425 to 550+ for the core....? I have tried to find max core and max memory but the same things happen, the black screen comes up and nothing else happens. It's version 0.24 (i read it was the good one).
every card is diffirent what other people do need to be taken with a grain of salt. if you cant go 1mhz then you cant go 1mhz and the card wont clock.
 

Aaron_C

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2010
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Alright... I tried 0.26 instead and it works better.. But i can't save the program. When i go to set the clock here, it just reverts back to the original (80.95/71.10) (core/mem)....
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
6,823 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,901
Location
Viking Land
System Name Ivy Biatch
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard ASSRockzz z77TOTHEEXTREME!!!!
Cooling bleh
Memory 2x4gb crucial 1866
Video Card(s) HD7770, yes it does BF3
Storage 120gb Vertex
Display(s) 226BW
Case whats that, oh my table
Audio Device(s) stock onboard thing
Power Supply HX850W
Software 7
anyone tried overclocking the i3 330m yet?

cant get none of the fsb programs to work
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
I lucked out with the core i5 540M, stock 2.53ghz and turbo is up to 2.93 for two core and 3.06 for one, and it never seems to go below about 2.80 when on AC power.

I'd still like to know how I might get to OC'ing it properly, as I cant get clockgen/setfsb to work.

I've had tremendous luck with the Mobility 5650 however, stock clocks are 550mhz core 800mhz memory, and shes rock solid at 700mhz core 950mhz memory, and I'm still pushing :)
 

allsista

New Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
i have this specs intel(R) pentium(R) Mprocessor 2.00ghz, 1gb ram(lazy to upgrade to 2gb) ATI x700 graphic card.. its a laptop btw.. just needed some advice, should i over clock it or should not?
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
i have this specs intel(R) pentium(R) Mprocessor 2.00ghz, 1gb ram(lazy to upgrade to 2gb) ATI x700 graphic card.. its a laptop btw.. just needed some advice, should i over clock it or should not?
you'll have very little to gain from overclocking a laptop with these kind of specs, in your shoes I probably wouldn't bother... this laptop will have a hard time playing any game thats moderately recent.
 

Paulieg

The Mad Moderator
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
11,960 (3.03/day)
Likes
2,846
Location
Wherever I can find the iron.
Processor Haswell i7 4770K
Motherboard Gigabyte z79 UD5H Black Edition
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Memory Gskill Trident DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) Asus 7970 Direct CU II
Storage Kingston Hyper Fury 240 SSD/ WD Black 640GB
Case Fractal Design R5
Power Supply XFX 650w
Software Win 7/Win 10 Tech preview
I'll be hangin' over here in the next couple of days. I have a new Lenovo y560 on it's way, and it needs to be tweaked.:rockout:
 

tom9021

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Hi, i signed up just for this.

Basically, i have never overclocked anything before, though i know a bit about it.

My laptop is a Dell Inspiron 1750

Core 2 duo 2.2ghz
ATI mobility radeon HD 4330
4 GB DDR2
500 GB 5200rpm

When i first got it i ran Fallout 3 and Oblivion ok (i.e it was playable and i have quite high standards, i never noticed it being at all laggy, completed them both, played a lot)

Now, almost a year later they run too badly for me to play. I see pretty much no difference when i change the settings. I have decided to try to overclock it (if you think i can and it would be worth it) I use my laptop a lot. I install/download/remove a lot of things. (Should i try a registry cleaner?)

So any advice? Either on making my laptop faster without OC or how to OC it?

Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,619 (1.09/day)
Likes
935
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
If i were you i would save any important data and do a format and re-install one of the "lite" versions of windows 7 that you may be able to find floating about.

Doing this tho, depends on u not having anything you can't replace.

The second option is to get some registry cleaner software along with other software performance tools (Defragger). You'll need to check the startup stuff through msconfig.exe and look thru the services manager to see if everything loading up when u boot is needed.

Hi, i signed up just for this.

Basically, i have never overclocked anything before, though i know a bit about it.

My laptop is a Dell Inspiron 1750

Core 2 duo 2.2ghz
ATI mobility radeon HD 4330
4 GB DDR2
500 GB 5200rpm

When i first got it i ran Fallout 3 and Oblivion ok (i.e it was playable and i have quite high standards, i never noticed it being at all laggy, completed them both, played a lot)

Now, almost a year later they run too badly for me to play. I see pretty much no difference when i change the settings. I have decided to try to overclock it (if you think i can and it would be worth it) I use my laptop a lot. I install/download/remove a lot of things. (Should i try a registry cleaner?)

So any advice? Either on making my laptop faster without OC or how to OC it?

Thanks
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,546 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,456
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
finished upgrading my netbook

low power setting ~5.5 watts


normal setting ~11 watts (stock chips consumption was 12 watts@1.2ghz)


pretty maxed out ~18 watts (might go outside and go for 2.5ghz sub zero temps should allow it)



the last one is a little much for my netbooks cooler i need some kind of cooling mod to make it work...
 

Dmugen

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
I want to overclock this laptop:

Dell Studio

- Intel Core 2 DUO T5850, 2.16GHz
- 2GB memory
- ATI Mobillity Radeon HD 3650 256MB
- 17" monitor
- Windows 7 ultimate 64

I have tried quite a few of the programs mention in Page 1 but they just don't work, I get errors, missing driver and some just don't open nothing happens.

Thanks
 
Last edited:

Nauzhror

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Hmm, anyone tried overclocking a G73JH? Just got one earlier today and decided to overclock both the CPU and the GPU.

According to http://www.notebookcheck.net/ATI-Mobility-Radeon-HD-5870.23073.0.html they scored between 12,304 and 13,534 on laptops with the same video card on 3dmark06.

I got 12,508 stock, but managed 14,043 after overclocking.

This likely about all that can be squeezed from the card or has anyone managed to get more from a similar setup?
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
674 (0.18/day)
Likes
172
System Name Pegasus
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Custom 480mm EK Loop
Memory 4 x 8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2 x 23" LG IPS234V
Case Corsair 900D
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova G3 1000W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-Bit
If you feel like you're close to it's max power, just push it up in small increments, tweak the ram a bit if you can. Cards will vary so some might be worse some might be better depending on your luck.