1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop overclocking adventures

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by theonetruewill, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    let's see.....after a couple of hours of prime....cpu=50 (i can control the fan) hdd=30 maybe 32. after playing css for a while cpu and gfx are both around 50 hdd is around 32. oh and maverick, if you can afford it get a cooling pad, or use a fan to blow across the hdd, because heat really does kill a hdd. i know personaly (i hate samsung hdd)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. maverick New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys.... i took a closer look at speedfan, and it shows the temps of my cpu cores and the HDD. Both cores are hovering around 52*C.. and hdd is 48*C... it seems only my GPU is warm. This sounds sort of normal. Also I underclocked my GPU, back to the default settings (425/666) and the temp is staying the same :confused: Either that or systool doesnt work properly. Thas why im dling motherboard monitor now (motherboard model Quanta 30B7 65.21)

    -maverick
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    it may be that your fan doesn't come on until your cpu reaches a certain temp. i hope it's not like that. maybe it comes on when the gpu hits a certain temp...in your case it would be 75, but that seems way too hot. oh and hdd @48 C for extended periods of time is bad, i had a hdd go bad because of that kind of heat.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Bloody hell! You HDD temps are really dangerously high. Remember that thats also going to heat up other internals as well. Bear in mind that I have my HDD auto shutdown set at 50 degrees. You NEED a cooling pad. Get one with 2-3 fans, and fast, HDD's start having problems in laptops anywhere near 55, so you are dangerously close.

    I promise a cooling pad will make all the difference.

    EDIT: And Chang, how in hell have you got more posts than me, about a week ago I had about 35 more, lol!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    lol, im good like that. and mavrick 48 is too hot, well, if you have a samsung hdd. or maybe it was just mine that went bad. you really do need to do something about those temps though, that's high. whatever cools it down by 1 degree already helps keep the hdd cool, and the cooler you can keep the cpu, the longer it lasts. have you undervolted yet?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Good point, maverick go to hard disk on NHC and set everything to the max power saving etc, (ie the ones with the lowest numbers next to them).

    Also as Chang said try undervolting your cpu.
    Go to NHC > CPU voltage, then try going to the highest mulitplier (mine is 14, but yours will be different) and set it to the voltage below it, this is quite a cool feature actually as you can get chips to overclock with less actual voltage) Howver as you guessed ofc this could make the cpu untable so use the NHC tool to check this and then use Orthos os prime95 etc.
    See how low you can go on each multi (as if you've got your cpu on speedstep enabled this will be useless for all the other mulit's which it will more commonly be on) , lets put it this way I can oc to 2Ghz (from 1.86) on an underclock from 1.308 (@multi 14) to 1.208 (@multi 14) instead. However ofc to achieve highest oc you're going to need the default voltage.

    Hope that helped
    dw btw about your HDD, its just losing you HDD is costly and not worth the risk, coolers are fairly inexpensive too.:cool:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    what i did was i ran prime 95 in the background as i was undervolting, i let it run through the loop like 8 times (whenever it has the break between the "finished....") until i got an error and then just bumped it up a notch, i got mine down from 1.175 to .975 using rmclock (personally i think nhc is better) good luck. but most important for you is if you can drop the lowest multiplier's voltage, i can't on my cpu, but that'll be most effective since your cpu usually is idle till you kick in the games ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    0.975?? Your an b****** you know that:laugh: . Here I am stuck with my slow as hell M 750, and you're at 0.975.......:roll: :roll:
    No but seriously if you go down Chang's quicker (worse!, lol) way then make sure when you think you've got it right you leave orthos/prime95 on for a couple of hours.

    Mine goes down to 0.988 minimum! how humiliating!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: yeah, now if i could only oc this thing......but vista really does slow you down, im .156 sec off my best time in xp. graphics took the worst hit, i dropped about 100 points in 3dmark 03. oh and what's your cpu score in 3dmark? i want to know if our 3ghz p4 beats your cpu. oh, vista has better sound, even for integrated...so if you really like sound, go for vista.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    oh yes, i missed the last part, i only did that too find a voltage that was stable for a bit. once you find that, you really do want it to run for at least an hour, which reminds me...i probably should retest it, i just decided to see if i could go one under .988, so 2 hours of prime95, but with dual core i can still use the comp :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Will check it now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    876 @2.2

    Sorry, Forgot To Change To 2.25
    A pentium 4 only beats Pentium M in DVD encoding, as the Pentium M, like Athlon64's has a very short pipeline and thus is actually better for for gaming than the P4 clock for clock by quite a bit.

    Its why people were surprised when lowe end dual core pentium D's weren't good at gaming at standard speeds. They had been told how brillinat the new dual core idea was but actually it was just two p4's stuck together and thus was pretty good at DVD encoding but bad for gaming at low clock speeds in terms of the P4. Thats why only high end (and thus high-clocked, which compensates) and oc'd PD's were any good at gaming...... I'm a neek, lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    lol yup as i thought, your cpu kills the p4. 876 to 596....dang....but core 2 rules all!!!! lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. myke66 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Alienware m9700

    2.2ghz turion OC'ed 2.3ghz
    1.5gig ram
    single 7900GS oc'ed from 375/500 to 420/680
    Vista Home Premium

    Default settings 3Dmark06 3417
    OC'ed video card, 3775.
    OC'ed video card and processor, 3810
    Clocked this way, my processor didnt hit over 72degrees, and my GPU didnt reach past 69 degrees.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    is that C or F? b/c if that's C i believe that's quite hot.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. myke66 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    F :rolleyes:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    wow! that's a really cool running laptop. i know for sure that mine couldn't keep those temps, oh and just wondering, how many fans does your laptop have?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. myke66 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i think two, one on cpu and one on GPU, im not all to sure about laptop internals, but i know it uses heatpipes and sinks pretty well. Alienware did an amazing job keeping this thing cool. anyparts your actually touch are cool to the touch. only the bottem gets really warm.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    that's impressive only 2 heatpipes/fans i bet the memory gets warm, that's why the bottom gets warmer than the rest of the laptop, it's the same with mine (except i only have one fan for cpu/gpu)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Its probably the HDD thats making the bottom warm. Its the largest part in the laptop (excl. motherboard) and if it gets hot it heats up the whole laptop.

    But I must say you have a wonderful laptop myke, care to post some pics please:cool:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    oh yeahh that's right, i forgot, cause of my wonderful cheap fan. my hdd is now the coolest part of my laptop, i really really like this fan.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Well AMD's do run cooler... but yes those temps are exceptionally low.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    they do? interesting, you wouldn't happen to know why my pcmark score is like 5800? i hope it's not vista being gay....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. myke66 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sure, be happy too.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    i could take pictures myself, but those are better angles then i could do =P

    also, those scores are with a single GPU, when alienware puts out SLi drivers for vista....oh man, i cant wait. almost 4k 3dmark06 on a single card....

    Also, its not the RAM that gets the hottest, or even the HDD, its the processor that produces the most head. The bottem where one of the HDD bays are never get hots to the touch actually, the top right where the CPU is gets very hot, along with the GPU.

    here, i actually have a picture of the internals..
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. myke66 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    one more picture, just to show what i was talking about..

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)