• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lenovo ThinkPad Edge Refresh Gets AMD Kabini Inside

Over_Lord

News Editor
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
764 (0.20/day)
Location
Hyderabad
System Name BAH! - - tHE ECo FReAK
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 1.15V
Motherboard ASUS 785G EVO
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair Titanium 4GB DDR3 1600MHz C9
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850 @ 1.049v
Storage Seagate 7200.12 500GB
Display(s) BenQ G2220HD
Case Cooler Master Elite 334
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VX550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
According to a couple of new listings in Austria and Germany, Lenovo is preparing to launch a refresh of the ThinkPad Edge. This time round, the internals will pack AMD hardware. More specifically, the CPU will be based on AMD's Jaguar architecture, part of the company's Kabini platform. The listing reveals a Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E145 powered by a 1.4GHz dual-core E1-2500 AMD APU, which is a 15W TDP part and packs AMD's Radeon HD 8240 IGP (128 compute units) clocked at 400MHz. You get a 11.6" 1366 x 768 display, 4 GB of RAM and 500 gigs of storage. The display is said to have a matte finish, doing away with any glare issues whatsoever. Connectivity is covered by two USB 3.0 ports, WiFi 802.11n and Bluetooth 4.0. There's no info regarding weight, battery rating or expected battery life yet. We do know the expected final price, to lie between the range of ?460 to ?505 as per retailer listings. According to the report, stocks will land in a couple of weeks.



View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,983 (3.06/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC Pro
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Core GC500
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Yay Thinkpads! The older Edges are pretty damned good.
 

Over_Lord

News Editor
Joined
Oct 13, 2010
Messages
764 (0.20/day)
Location
Hyderabad
System Name BAH! - - tHE ECo FReAK
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 1.15V
Motherboard ASUS 785G EVO
Cooling Stock
Memory Corsair Titanium 4GB DDR3 1600MHz C9
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850 @ 1.049v
Storage Seagate 7200.12 500GB
Display(s) BenQ G2220HD
Case Cooler Master Elite 334
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VX550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Yay Thinkpads! The older Edges are pretty damned good.

I just LOVE thinkpads. They get the essential things write, comfortable to use and good displays. None of that "good looks" and stuff bothers me if the laptop ain't comfortable to use, doesn't have a great keyboard (ThinkPad keyboards are amazing!), etc.
 

zallkool

New Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
cool

i bought a thinkpad x131e a few weeks ago with an ivybridge cpu

its really amazing
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2013
Messages
895 (0.29/day)
Kabini will provide good performance and long battery life.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,983 (3.06/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC Pro
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Core GC500
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Kabini will provide good performance and long battery life.

I'm sort of hoping for an Intel version (with HD4xxx graphics).
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,616 (0.53/day)
now, are we actually going to get these in the US, or are we going to get passed over like the edge e435 and the previous 11 inch edges?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,983 (3.06/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC Pro
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Core GC500
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
now, are we actually going to get these in the US, or are we going to get passed over like the edge e435 and the previous 11 inch edges?

You didn't get them? My sister have the Edge 135, and I sort of fell in love with it.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,657 (0.88/day)
Location
Washington, US
System Name Rainbow
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k
Motherboard MSI MPG Z390M GAMING EDGE AC
Cooling Corsair H115i, 2x Noctua NF-A14 industrialPPC-3000 PWM
Memory G. Skill TridentZ RGB 4x8GB (F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT MECH OC
Storage 2x Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST Deskstar 4TB 7.2K
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Xigmatek Aquila
Power Supply Seasonic 760W SS-760XP
Mouse Razer Deathadder 2013
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K95
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 4 trillion points in GmailMark, over 144 FPS 2K Facebook Scrolling (Extreme Quality preset)
As much as I like AMD, I have a E-1200 (Dual 1.2 GHz) at work and it's just not.. what's the word I'm looking for. Fast. Anything GPU is great, but anything single-threaded (complicated AJAX webpages) just dies.

E-mail, light web, youtube, light gaming (which I promise I've never tested on my work computer), etc. Does okay for all that, but trying to get any actual work done.. just doesn't happen.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,616 (0.53/day)
You didn't get them? My sister have the Edge 135, and I sort of fell in love with it.
nope. the american lenovo page only sells the 431, 531, and 535. we dont get the 14 inch amd laptops or anything from the 100 series.

EDIT: While we didnt get the edge 130, we did get the lenovo x131e with windows. while it seems to be more aimed at school children, with a large tough top cover, it appears to be nearly identical in construction and specs.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
573 (0.12/day)
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
As much as I like AMD, I have a E-1200 (Dual 1.2 GHz) at work and it's just not.. what's the word I'm looking for. Fast. Anything GPU is great, but anything single-threaded (complicated AJAX webpages) just dies.

E-mail, light web, youtube, light gaming (which I promise I've never tested on my work computer), etc. Does okay for all that, but trying to get any actual work done.. just doesn't happen.

the E-1200 is a bad choice for work, its kinda an intel atom on steroids with a much better IGP. I own an A6-3400 (1.4Ghz) quad core llano based laptop, which is much faster than E1-1200 and E2, while virtualization and gaming is very good for the price I paid, single threaded applications run kinda slower than anything I ever had. I have however, superb battery life for tea time while reading docs and doing excel.

Now Kabini is a different story, it should be faster and have better battery life than these ones
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,182 (1.08/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
I have a x131e with the AMD E2-1800 1.7GHz and its a great little laptop. What makes this laptop seem slow is that the amount of bloat ware that is installed. Once you cut it all down with a nice fresh install and on a SSD the system should run very snappy, which i plan to do in the near future. Also i can get up to 9.5hrs of battery life out of this even with all the bloat ware, and play some games on it like Dota 2, Torchlight 2 etc.

What id like to know is this new CPU going to be as good or worse then what im currently running? it seems to have everything that ive got now apart from the difference in CPU Arch.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,983 (3.06/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC Pro
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Core GC500
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
I have a x131e with the AMD E2-1800 1.7GHz and its a great little laptop. What makes this laptop seem slow is that the amount of bloat ware that is installed. Once you cut it all down with a nice fresh install and on a SSD the system should run very snappy, which i plan to do in the near future. Also i can get up to 9.5hrs of battery life out of this even with all the bloat ware, and play some games on it like Dota 2, Torchlight 2 etc.

My sister complains her Edge 135 (which has the same CPU) is slow. I might suggest that actually.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,182 (1.08/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
My sister complains her Edge 135 (which has the same CPU) is slow. I might suggest that actually.

Yea get rid of all the crap ware and see what happens? My x131e is using 90+ Processors just at idle which is about 40 to much.

Id like to install some faster Memory (1333 to 1600 or above) to to make it perform even better (Faster RAM = Better FPS in games with any APU) , but in the BIOS I cant change anything :confused:
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
573 (0.12/day)
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
Yea get rid of all the crap ware and see what happens? My x131e is using 90+ Processors just at idle which is about 40 to much.

Id like to install some faster Memory (1333 to 1600 or above) to to make it perform even better (Faster RAM = Better FPS in games with any APU) , but in the BIOS I cant change anything :confused:

You can't change mem speed in a laptop, not on regular laptops at least.

Crapware is a problem, but also, when my customers tell me their system is running slow, I look if there are 2 antivirus or more. I also take a look at the energy icon at control panel and see if they switched to minimum performance. And of course, a classic, when a system hangs for some seconds, with the hard drive led turned on completely, i check the hard drive for bad sectors
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,616 (0.53/day)
Yea get rid of all the crap ware and see what happens? My x131e is using 90+ Processors just at idle which is about 40 to much.

Id like to install some faster Memory (1333 to 1600 or above) to to make it perform even better (Faster RAM = Better FPS in games with any APU) , but in the BIOS I cant change anything :confused:

you have to replace the meory inside the laptop itself. the x131e has 2 memory slots, so id pick up a 2x4GB 1600 mhz memory kit off of newegg and install it. about $50-60 bucks. or more if you get a low voltage kit.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,616 (0.53/day)
I wonder if we will get one of these with the a6-5200? quad core, same gpu, 25 watt.that would be awesome in an 11 inch form factor.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,182 (1.08/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
you have to replace the meory inside the laptop itself. the x131e has 2 memory slots, so id pick up a 2x4GB 1600 mhz memory kit off of newegg and install it. about $50-60 bucks. or more if you get a low voltage kit.

Yea I know and that's what i was going to do, but i just realized that the memory in this laptop is already 1600MHz but is running at 1333, 1 4GB stick. How do i get it to run at 1600? I cant change shit in the BIOS :cry:
 
Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
785 (0.24/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Waterfall | Iris
Processor Ryzen 5 1400 @ 3,5 GHz | i3-6157U
Motherboard ASUS X370-PRO | Acer laptop
Cooling Custom Watercooling | Stock laptop
Memory 4*8GB Various at 2133MHz | 2*4GB 2133MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) 2*R9 380 with WC blocks | Iris 550
Storage Intel 660 1TB + Crucial BX100 500GB | SK Hynix 256GB SSD + 640GB WD Blue
Display(s) U24E850R+U2515H | Internal 15,6"
Case Be Quiet! Dark Base 900 | Laptop
Audio Device(s) Monitor + Xenyx Q802USB | Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W | 65W 19V Power brick
Mouse Logitech M330 | Low end Logitech
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown |
Software Gentoo + Windows 10 Pro | Fedora
Yea I know and that's what i was going to do, but i just realized that the memory in this laptop is already 1600MHz but is running at 1333, 1 4GB stick. How do i get it to run at 1600? I cant change shit in the BIOS :cry:

The highest officially supported memory frequency for the E2-1800 is 1333. So you probably won't get it higher than that.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,182 (1.08/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
The highest officially supported memory frequency for the E2-1800 is 1333. So you probably won't get it higher than that.

Yea i noticed that, then why in the world would they put 1600MHz memory in from factory? :confused:
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
1,616 (0.53/day)
Yea i noticed that, then why in the world would they put 1600MHz memory in from factory? :confused:

simpler to just order all 1600 mhz memory rather than specifically order 1333 for these smaller machines?
although, this would be solved if lenovo put the a6-5200 in one of these laptops.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
573 (0.12/day)
System Name Epsilon
Processor A12-9800E 35watts
Motherboard MSI Grenade AM4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB DDR4 2400 Kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon R7 (IGP / APU)
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1
Display(s) AOC 29" Ultra wide
Case Generic
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 380w
Software Windows 10
simpler to just order all 1600 mhz memory rather than specifically order 1333 for these smaller machines?
although, this would be solved if lenovo put the a6-5200 in one of these laptops.

they should, the A6-5200 is very interesting,
The choice for 1600Mhz memory could be also because of failure rate, most likely a 1600 mhz memory with a failed cell will work ok set to 1333 speed, I believe. On the other hand, a 1600mhz module could work better than a regular 1333Mhz by lowering cas latency and setting it to 1333Mhz. You get a slightly speedier 1333Mhz memory, It will depend on their choice in the factory bios, who knows...
 
Top