• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lenovo Workstations Owners Club

Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
300 (0.12/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name T5500 with 2x X5670; 2x intel P35 mbo with X3360; 2x intel Q33 mbo with Q9550S/Q9400S & laptops
Welcome all Lenovo workstation owners!

Stated thread goals:
  1. Information and support for Lenovo workstations
  2. Upgrading and software support
  3. Links to used Lenovo workstations and parts
  4. Post pics of builds and setup

Here's my 50 cents worth:
- Recently ordered myself a C30 system, with dual deca-core Xeons, 32GB RAM, SSD & (slow) Quadro 2000.
- Will post pictures, when it comes (hopefully by Christmas).
- Yes, have been using Lenovo workstation on work (P510, which is not so powerful, but with Quadro 4000). So those are quite reliable for work in Rimac Automobili.
- & already planning to substitute card for fasted one, as I use GPU for calculations in BOINC.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
300 (0.12/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name T5500 with 2x X5670; 2x intel P35 mbo with X3360; 2x intel Q33 mbo with Q9550S/Q9400S & laptops
After successful using of laptops T60, T61 & T570 and also workstation at work P510 - got myself a C30 for home.
C30 came with dual deca-core Xeons E5-2650L v2, yes those are scheduled for uprade.

So got myself PCI WiFi card not to draw the cables around the house. Can't understand why all new WiFi cards are supposed to be PCIe x1 or USB - that's just stupid.

Unfortunately, have a problem with Lenovo C30, which I didn't find how to settle:
  • CPU-0 slot is overheating even with new Arctic cooling MX-4 paste
  • Seems that CPU-0 fan is working on idle only & can't seem to get it to spin up with temp
  • Even newest BIOS didn't help!!!
If anybody has some clue, please post sthg.

Also, searching for C30 compatible GPU cards to be used in a system. Anybody got some idea, about that?

Some pics:

- only half of threads are being used.


- protection for BOINC calcs is with Tthrottle


- problem is with fan on assy under number 12. Has anybody got some idea?
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
5,296 (1.17/day)
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Nvidia RTX2060 6GB
Storage 2TB Samsung 860 EVO SSD//2TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Linux Mint 19.3
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
W530 here w an i7 4c8t
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
3,338 (0.73/day)
Location
Portugal
Monitoring thread as this could turn to an interesting thread to handle a lot of the Lenovo's shortcomings when it comes to hardware.

So got myself PCI WiFi card not to draw the cables around the house. Can't understand why all new WiFi cards are supposed to be PCIe x1 or USB - that's just stupid.
PCI has been out the door since around 2008~2009, when manufacturers started not adding it to the boards.
Also considering bandwidth, for newer Wi-Fi norms, PCI wouldn't cut with with a shared and mastered bus, you're just better off with PCI-e x1.

Unfortunately, have a problem with Lenovo C30, which I didn't find how to settle:
  • CPU-0 slot is overheating even with new Arctic cooling MX-4 paste
  • Seems that CPU-0 fan is working on idle only & can't seem to get it to spin up with temp
  • Even newest BIOS didn't help!!!
If anybody has some clue, please post sthg.

Also, searching for C30 compatible GPU cards to be used in a system. Anybody got some idea, about that?
May you post a print of the cooling configuration from UEFI, please?
The fan being PWM, either the "silent" option is selected (which was possible for office room workstations like this one) or the fan is going out, not being able to rev-up.
Speaking of which, when you turn it on, do both CPU fans ramp-up to maximum?

Regarding the graphics cards, the C30 should take any PCI-e 3.0 x16 card, 75W or more if the PSU does have the required 6~8-pin PCI-e plug.
For the "assured compatibility" cards, just head to the specs page or fetch the PSREF for it. :)
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
300 (0.12/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name T5500 with 2x X5670; 2x intel P35 mbo with X3360; 2x intel Q33 mbo with Q9550S/Q9400S & laptops
Monitoring thread as this could turn to an interesting thread to handle a lot of the Lenovo's shortcomings when it comes to hardware.

PCI has been out the door since around 2008~2009, when manufacturers started not adding it to the boards.
Also considering bandwidth, for newer Wi-Fi norms, PCI wouldn't cut with with a shared and mastered bus, you're just better off with PCI-e x1.

May you post a print of the cooling configuration from UEFI, please?
The fan being PWM, either the "silent" option is selected (which was possible for office room workstations like this one) or the fan is going out, not being able to rev-up.
Speaking of which, when you turn it on, do both CPU fans ramp-up to maximum?

Regarding the graphics cards, the C30 should take any PCI-e 3.0 x16 card, 75W or more if the PSU does have the required 6~8-pin PCI-e plug.
For the "assured compatibility" cards, just head to the specs page or fetch the PSREF for it. :)
You're right about the Lenovo shortcomings, as they do keep sthg as a special recipe. :kookoo:

Are you saying that PCI WiFi card can't handle the 54Mbps connection & would bottleneck? :wtf:

There's no SILENT option in BIOS, checked it up. Those option is on more modern workstation, like P510 I have on work.
All fans turn on, when the station starts. Can't check the speed of them, but the smaller fan does speed up to get the CPU cooled.
Here's the picture from Tthrottle program I use for BOINC throttling:


Regarding PCIe, yes that can take any.
But C30 is slim tower, so not all card can fit in it. The limit is the bend on metal bracket for case - that's the top the the card.
So not all card fit in & that's why I ask the question.

& no, the C30 also has 6+2pins with 6pin options for PCIe cards. So it can run plenty of powerful cards.
But can those fit in? :confused:
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
300 (0.12/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name T5500 with 2x X5670; 2x intel P35 mbo with X3360; 2x intel Q33 mbo with Q9550S/Q9400S & laptops
After advertising defective product, got myself a replacement C30. On this one, everything works just fine:


Only thing is, the Quadro K2000 was too slow for my use.
So for $100 on local marketplace got myself a Quadro K2200, which is almost ~3x faster (according to this page).

So GPUgrid.net (which is down), Asteroids@home (which is down) & Einstein@home can work better.
Also, writing you this as WUs are going on GPU. No hick ups, while Q2000 was just too slow with all calcs going on.

Maybe there's some future in using this Lenovo after all. :D
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
300 (0.12/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name T5500 with 2x X5670; 2x intel P35 mbo with X3360; 2x intel Q33 mbo with Q9550S/Q9400S & laptops
Recently got a hold of Lenovo ThinkStations M73/E73, for a donation - more written about here.

They are interesting piece of work, especially those i5 ones.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
300 (0.12/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name T5500 with 2x X5670; 2x intel P35 mbo with X3360; 2x intel Q33 mbo with Q9550S/Q9400S & laptops
One thing I love about these WorkStations, as you can get one tool to do everything that Windows Update didn't do.
Just launch it, make a scan & update the drivers needed.

Kid could do this! :cool:
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
2,625 (0.42/day)
Location
Canada
System Name PCGR
Processor Intel 10500 ES
Motherboard MSI Z490 Gaming Plus
Cooling Snowman MT4 Dual Fan
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RX 6800XT Gaming OC
Storage 1x 1tb ADATA XPG 8200 Pro NVME | 1x 1TB WD Blue HDD
Display(s) BenQ 24" 1080P
Case MSI MPG 110M
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Cooler Master 550W MWE 80+ Gold
Software Windows 10 64bit Pro
Might as well add me to the list. Lenovo P500

I am hoping to replace the CPU with a 10 core or higher model. Seen it on ebay for some ES chips.

I also plan to buy 2 more 8GB sticks. To make it Quad Channel.

This is mostly my nas and plex server. Since it is also sporting a RTX 3070, I have it mining as well.

I also seen another used one for $400 CAD, I am waiting for it to go on sale which will eventually do, so I can pick it up for spare parts (PSU, mobo and its side panel. Since parts for it are expensive).
 

Attachments

  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 110
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    4.1 MB · Views: 132
  • specs.png
    specs.png
    58 KB · Views: 105
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
300 (0.12/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name T5500 with 2x X5670; 2x intel P35 mbo with X3360; 2x intel Q33 mbo with Q9550S/Q9400S & laptops
Having a question about C30 & its cooling. Does anybody have issues that as soon as temp go over 27°C, the CPU1 (2nd processor in line), goes up to 85°C when you are doing 100% on crunching (like I do on WCG, check here).

This is supposed how C30 is being made:

So 1 small fan & one bigger - behind it.

But noticed there are some cases with 2 of the smaller ones fitted:

Has anybody tried out this configuration?
Is it any better, from the original? (note, both coolers are 130W CPU certified)

If someone has done some checking, maybe he/she can share the data/experience for everyone?
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
300 (0.12/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name T5500 with 2x X5670; 2x intel P35 mbo with X3360; 2x intel Q33 mbo with Q9550S/Q9400S & laptops
Just got some nice update, a fresh keyboard for my C30. Check it out:
1629133974257.png

What do you think?
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
300 (0.12/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name T5500 with 2x X5670; 2x intel P35 mbo with X3360; 2x intel Q33 mbo with Q9550S/Q9400S & laptops
As my new~used 1650 SUPER would not fit C30.

So needed to moved 1650 OC into C30, alongside 730:
IMG_9595.jpg


& it fits perfectly:
IMG_9596.jpg


Lets crunch some more data! :peace:
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
300 (0.12/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name T5500 with 2x X5670; 2x intel P35 mbo with X3360; 2x intel Q33 mbo with Q9550S/Q9400S & laptops
Installed 16GB upper from CPUs, no problem.
Installed another 16GB under CPUs & the CPUs started to go to 90°C. :banghead:

So, repasted them with fresh paste. The temps. got down to 80°C. :peace:

OK, that is just what happens. Enjoy.
 

BigBoi6969

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2022
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Hello guys.
I have lenovo p510 and i am currently planing to add a more powerful GPU (2060 or maybe a 3060) when I could find them at a reasonable price.
It has the 650 power supply but it doesn't have the dual drop aux power cable.
So in order to put one of these i have two options:
1.-Buy the 850 w power supply and buy the dual drop aux power cable. Which is like 300 dollars for the PSU and 200 for the cable.Which is almost what I paid for the computer.
And then buy some Sata to PCIe 6 pin adapters to power the card. And I personally don't like this way.
2.-I have to find a way to add a second PSU to power just the GPU but because the PSU powers the motherboard through a card like conector I dont know how to do it.
If anyone has any idea on how to do it please.
I'll add photos later if you guys ask.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
20,663 (6.12/day)
Location
USA
Recently joined this club. I bought small form factor system, model M58P-6137A2U.
Lenovo-M58P-6137A2U.jpg

It's a socket 775 based system. Came with a C2D E8400, 2GB of RAM and a 500GB HDD. I upgraded it to a Q9550, 4GB and left the 500GB as it is a good performer. Also bought a Radeon R7-250 on Ebay as the Intel IGP was just not enough for running what I had in mind for it. It has become my dedicated Windows XP retro machine and it is doing very well as such. Cost was a total of $200, money well spent IMHO.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2019
Messages
382 (0.29/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Ryzen
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory Kingston HyperX Predator DDR4 3200MHz 2x8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ Radeon RX 6700 XT GAMING OC
Storage Adata XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Gigabyte G27QC
Case NZXT H510 Flow
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis Prime
Power Supply Corsair RM650x Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard HyperX Alloy FPS Cherry MX Blue
Software Windows 11 Pro, Kubuntu
The innards of my work ThinkStation P410 below. Absolute trooper of a machine. I upgraded the Broadwell E5-1620 v4 to the 6-core E5-1650 v4 last year. I've got a couple of SSD's running on PCIE expansion cards + a SATA SSD + a mechanical spinner. No GPU as I just remote to it to do my heavy lifting over RDP.

I added the "official" Lenovo front intake fan to the case as well to make sure it's getting the airflow it needs.

p410.jpeg
 

Dondi

New Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2022
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
Proud C30 owner. Just joined to see if there are any viable upgrade paths to freshen-up the Workstation. Dual Xeon E5-2630 0 2.3 GHz, 128 Gb RAM, nVidia Quadro 2000 with Tesla C2075 Accelerator Card

1656666755040.png

Would love to update CPU, SSDs and/or GPU if-possible. Figured I'd ask here first, but I'm pretty-sure I am already at "the ceiling" hardware-wise. Looking to refresh it in order to pursue Virtual Production-type stuff; Unreal Engine 5, Maya, Blender, DiVinci, etc.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Messages
300 (0.12/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name T5500 with 2x X5670; 2x intel P35 mbo with X3360; 2x intel Q33 mbo with Q9550S/Q9400S & laptops
I have upgraded to Quadro K2000, then to K2200, then to GTX 1650 dual fan (no extra power).
Also running 2x Quadro M2000 for hashing or BOINC purposes.

About Tesla's, have tested K20 & GRID K2 inside the C30, both should work! :cool:

Considering CPUs, haven't made upgrade from E5-2650L v2.
But have upgraded to S30 cooler on 2nd CPU, which also needed to remove a lock from handle. But it is worth it!
 
Top