• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Lets talk Amd Vs Intel platform longevity

Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#26
Sure, AMD says no new mobo for future CPU's, but the S939 was also not supposed to die so quickly as well. I wouldn't hold my breath that AM2 will last much if at all into K8L.
they moved from 939 because ddr is dead, ddr2 is a the future, it had 2 years and MANY MANY MANY cores/chip revisions.

and AM2 may not last "much past k8l" but am3 chips will run in am2 boards, amd has made it clear this is set in stone, am3 chips will support ddr3 and ddr2, just not on the same board ad the same time(tho i would bet you asrock and ecs make boards that let you use ddr2 till u deside to buy ddr3 ;) )

again, amd designed am2 to last, am3 is just goning to be a move to ddr3, nothing amd folks need worrie about really.

there will be an am2+ socket that supports ht3 specs, BUT you dont NEED ht3 to use these chips, as any overclocker can tell you lowering the HT from 2000 to even 1200 dosnt effect perf even in high end dual core overclocks at 3+gz, ht3 is future proofing for even more complex cores, but new chips will work in older boards and be OFFICALY SUPPORTED doing such.
barcelona is k8l, beyond k8l there are other cores planned for am2/am3(im guessing they will just remove a pin to make am3 sockets not accept am2 chips, eather way, sall good, im happy, 3-5 years without being FORCED to get a new board(though in 3 years i may reaplace the board if overclocking requiers it) but the board will still beable to take new chips and would likely endup in a backup system :D

EDIT: as a friend of mine just said, think of am2 as amd doing you a favor and keeping you from having to buy extreamly expencive ddr1 ram now that companys are stoping production on it and moving to ddr2/3/4
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#27
traditionally amd sockets lasted longer, but the on board memory controllers have stopped that for now as 754 was superseded(not dropped mind) by 939 which give credit took dual cores when they arrived, but was dropped to get ddr2 support(am2)

intel on the other hand have done better recently with the 775 taking dual cores when they arrived, THEN taking a new chip architechture when that arrived not on all 775 boards mind you

as always with these 2 companies, swings and roundabouts
 

AshenSugar

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#28
ah but am2 support am3 cpu's, and am3 cpus will support ddr2 and 3 on the same chip :p

754 has 1 memory controler, or one that works, many 754 chips are just 940/939 chips that had 1 bad memory controler, and 754 is out living 939 because amd had to make the move to ddr2(its cheaper now then ddr1)

775 orignal boards didnt take dual core en large, pent-d chips wouldnt work in many of the boards we tryed to put them in, even with a bios update.

775 also has a 3rd revision for conroe and it looks to be a 4th revision soon for the 6*50 chips due to a buss speed change(1333).
pentium-d is not dual core, its twin core, 2 p4's on the same socket, same is true for intels "quad core" its really twin dual cores on one socket.

amd could have made x2's for 754, and infact have for the laptop market, but they already planed to move to m2/am2 and combine their value and mainstrem/extream stream sockets, am2 now support sempron(low end) athlon64 x1 and x2 (mainstream) opteron(server/high end) and FX (extream) chips, and will have new chips and cores comming out for 3-5 years thanks to amd keeping am2 support in am3 chips!!!

intel has changed sockets to many times on socketT/775 sure its got the same number of pins but older boards are blocked from running newer chips!!!!
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#29
on socket a i believe there was a morgan core duron, and i maybe wrong but i thought fx51's didnt have sse3 wheras 3700's did?
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#30
oops, you meant the754 3700 i was thinking of the 939 one, silly me
 

verndewd

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
41
Likes
0
#31
The whole premise of this thread is flawed and poorly assembled.
1 desktop only
2 compatible sockets to chips
3 socket f
4 am3 support was changed to am2+
5.by my count amd is only under by about 2 on desktops if you factor compatibility in.
on the verge of fud.But if you wanted to you could clean up the crap.


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_AMD_microprocessors

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_microprocessors

6. you missed a whole lot. like a massive amount from socket 1 through 8
a whole slew of slots.
identifying4/8/16/32/64 bit procs as a target for the chart.

smells like amd fanboy spirit.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#32
thanks dan, you gave me 2 new sockets to list in IRC today
slot2
and
603

thanks again, and no crying about the facts, if you want to make a socket list to counter me your welcome to do it, please feel free to do as i have with the fist post, list amd and intel head to head socket for socket, you dont want to do that tho, because you dont want to admit intel forced a lot of stupid pointless socket changes.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#33
The whole premise of this thread is flawed and poorly assembled.
1 desktop only
2 compatible sockets to chips
3 socket f
4 am3 support was changed to am2+
5.by my count amd is only under by about 2 on desktops if you factor compatibility in.
on the verge of fud.But if you wanted to you could clean up the crap.


http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_AMD_microprocessors

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_microprocessors

6. you missed a whole lot. like a massive amount from socket 1 through 8
a whole slew of slots.
identifying4/8/16/32/64 bit procs as a target for the chart.

smells like amd fanboy spirit.
first of all, this isnt about OLD sockets this was in the same modern period of time, if we wanted to go back far enought we could list 8080,8086,8088 and so on, this was done because intel fanboi's kept saying intel dosnt change sockets as much as amd, go in the same time period, and yes i need to add socketF and am2+ and am2 will support am3 chips, amd still holds to that currently.
am2+ only brings split volts for each cpu core and higher HT version, neither effect home user performance and are only carryfovers from socketF server side products. but thanks for the reminder to add socketF and am2+

oh and note that intel and amd used the same sockets till intel left socket7 to make slot1, so older stuff DOSNT MATTER THEY ALL HAVE THE SAME SOCKETS
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#34
On a "sort of related note", regarding longevity...

My brother served in IRAQ for nearly 4 years, & he told me that guys who had INTEL based laptops often 'fried up' in the desert heat, & guys w/ AMD ones kept on keeping on...

If this counts for anything in the way of longevity.

APK
 
Last edited:

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#35
I, and yesI am an AMD fanboy and I admit, anywho, I Would have thought the PEntium Ms and stuff would keep kicking. Ive used XP-M laptops and pentium m (centrino,etc) laptops and the intel ones have been faster and better to me. Ive yet to see and use a Turion/TurionX2 or a CoreDuo TXXXX. Thanks for that info Alec.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#36
pentium-m is against normal turion, turion x2 is against c2d in laptops its a crapshoot whats better, really just get whats the best deal for the use of the lappy, if its for gaing amd is normaly better because it comes with ati video, intel normaly come with intel onboard that SUCKS to be kind.

and alot of those intel laptops would have been p4 based, HORRID units hot slow and power hungery.
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista
#37
you forgot to add the brisbanne series to the am2 core list ;)
the chipset limitation on intel cpu's was one of the things that made me buy amd, now i have a great mobo, when i want a new cpu probabily am3, i don't wan't a new mobo :)
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
1,998
Likes
0
Location
ashentech.com
Processor Athlon64 3500+(2.2gz)@2.94gz(3.03gz)
Motherboard Biostar Tforce550 (RMA) (m2n-sli delux)
Cooling PIB cooler
Memory 2gb ocz 533 +1gb samsung 533 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) x1900xtx 512mb+zalman vf900 cooler(kicks stock coolers arse)
Storage 80gb,200gb,250gb,160gb
Display(s) 20.1 in dell 2001fp + KDS visual sensations 19"
Case Codegen briza seirse
Audio Device(s) ADI SoundMax HD audio onboard,using Ket's driver pack
Power Supply FSP 400watt SAGA seirse w/noise killer
Software Windows 2003 ent server as workstation(kills xp in perf and stab)
#39
thx pt updated :)

and thats why i went amd not c2d, and because it dosnt matter for gaming a 3500+@3gz is plenty for gaming :D
 

verndewd

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
41
Likes
0
#40
I, and yesI am an AMD fanboy and I admit, anywho, I Would have thought the PEntium Ms and stuff would keep kicking. Ive used XP-M laptops and pentium m (centrino,etc) laptops and the intel ones have been faster and better to me. Ive yet to see and use a Turion/TurionX2 or a CoreDuo TXXXX. Thanks for that info Alec.
I am an AMD user,and it has always been so,since before the sun burnt the crap out of men,before life emerged from the spitting pools of the gods.

Just not a fanboy :nutkick: :pimp: