• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Lexar Media Unveils Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR3 Memory for Enthusiasts and Gamers

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
Lexar Media announced today the immediate availability of Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC3-10600 (DDR3-1333MHz) high-performance, low-latency memory modules. These modules are the first Crucial DDR3 Tracers, and as such they incorporate the company's proprietary activity-indicating Light-Emitting Diodes (LED). These new modules feature a black printed circuit board (PCB) and black integrated heat spreaders, as well as an additional eight blue ground-effects LEDs that emit constantly, when the system is running. Crucial is shipping now the Ballistix Tracer DDR3 memory in single 1GB ($54.99) and 2GB ($99.99) modules, as well as in 2GB ($109.99) and 4GB ($199.99) kits. All Tracer DDR3 parts operate at 1333MHz with CL6-6-6-20 latencies and 1.8V.

Show full news post
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (4.16/day)
Likes
2,977
Location
Republic of Texas
#2
damn... more space ship lights huh? i liked my tracers for about a week and then they just bugged me to death.

i wouldnt take that speed/timings for a lowly POS set of ram though.... these sticks should do 1600mhz @ 7-7-7-20 and 1800mhz @ 8-8-8-24 and 2000mhz @ 9-9-9-27. but thats just typical timings. at $109 for a 2x1gb set thats pretty sweet.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,824 (1.01/day)
Likes
263
Location
Netherlands
System Name Xeon platform
Processor Intel Xeon W5580 3,20ghz 2x
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case Jonsbo case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair Powersupply CMPSU-1000HXEU 1000W, Modular
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15212
#3
bad voltage!
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#5
This News Release is BAD MARKETING policy by Lexar. We all know that we need low voltages and the Lexar doesnt fit what we need.

>> Lexar has tarnished their brand image. We know Lexar doesnt cut the mustard... therefore we will all wait until a brand can deliver. Even when Lexar DOES reduce voltage, the precedent was set. They gave themselves a "volts too high" name.

Own goal :nutkick:

Lexar needs to FIRE their PR agency. Read this DRIVEL:
These modules are the world's first high-performance DDR3 memory modules to incorporate activity-indicating Light-Emitting Diodes (LED).
"world's first" again. LOL. Enough!

... to incorporate activity-indicating LEDs. OMG. Let's hope "activity indicating" equals WARNING BEFORE VOLTAGE DAMAGE, not just "flash while we work", "dont flash after we've blown your CPU memory controller" :nutkick:
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
1,198 (0.28/day)
Likes
130
Location
FL
System Name Iam-a-computah
Processor 7700k @5 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Auros z270x
Cooling Custom water loop, x2 280 radiators
Memory 16gb Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 TI FE 11gb WC
Storage SSD: 256gb Samsung 840pro & HHD: WD black 2T
Display(s) Dell 34" UW screen
Case Full tower NZXT
Audio Device(s) Creative x-FI
Power Supply EVGA super NOVA 1300wtt
Keyboard G710
Software W 10
#6
Ew to the LED color combination......:shadedshu
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#7
We are finally seeing the proper latencies but the voltage is still a tad to high. For example:
IMO all DDR3 1600 should have a voltage between 1.55V at CL6. If they can't do that yet keep investing in R&D until they figure it out!
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2008
Messages
1,092 (0.31/day)
Likes
127
Processor Core i7 3930K / Core i7 5820K
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe / Asus X99-A
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
Memory 32GB DDR3 1600 (8x4GB)
Video Card(s) GTX 670
Storage Corsair Force Series 3 120GB SSD (2x) Samsung 840 500GB SSD
Display(s) Asus VE276Q, VE278Q and VK278Q triple 27” 1920x1080
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650W
Software Windows 8 Pro 64bit
#8
Well I’m sure someone will like the LEDs but its not something that interests me in the least. Again, if something doesn’t make the system go faster its basically irrelevant to me and something I most certainly wont pay extra for. And of course there’s the high voltage,….

I’d rather buy some cheap Patriot 1GB DDR3-1333MHz (PC3-10600) 1.5v modules I came across at newegg for $34.99.

Right now I’m not sure how far you can OC an Core i7 anyway (especially if high volt RAM makes it go boom) so I don’t know if its worth spending extra.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
I dont see the problem with the voltage? I mean sheesh im running DDR400 at 2.7v :laugh: I dont see the problem with ram thats capable of 1333 at 1.8. Most of the people complaining about high voltages probably wont even get the new Bloomfield anyways.
 
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
993 (0.24/day)
Likes
31
Location
Los Angeles...U.S.A
Processor i7 920
Motherboard EVGA X58
Cooling eight 120mm fans, Swiftech GTZ cpu block, 3 120mm radiator, MCP655 pump, primochill tubing
Memory 6 gig G-Skill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 285's (SLI)
Storage 500GB Western Digital
Display(s) 3 Asus 23 in inchers
Case Lian Li A77B
Audio Device(s) on board 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 1000
Software win 7 64
#10
I dont see the problem with the voltage? I mean sheesh im running DDR400 at 2.7v :laugh: I dont see the problem with ram thats capable of 1333 at 1.8. Most of the people complaining about high voltages probably wont even get the new Bloomfield anyways.
That's all well and good, BUT from my understanding most of the new upcoming Intel platforms require 1.5 to 1.65 volt ram...so why chance it? I don't know about you but if I've paid my hard earned cash for parts...I expect the parts to be compatable...If the trend is for lower voltages, then then these companies should produce it...What is the point of all these diff DDR3 modules if the high-end guy can't use but 2 or 3 of 'em?? Me? I'll be sticking with good ol' DDR2....All of the voltage and no fancy-pants light show. So I guess no Nehelem for me...Going AMD anyway...I'll leave the headahes of the newer Intel stuff for you professionals...lol
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 24, 2008
Messages
1,092 (0.31/day)
Likes
127
Processor Core i7 3930K / Core i7 5820K
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Deluxe / Asus X99-A
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Plus
Memory 32GB DDR3 1600 (8x4GB)
Video Card(s) GTX 670
Storage Corsair Force Series 3 120GB SSD (2x) Samsung 840 500GB SSD
Display(s) Asus VE276Q, VE278Q and VK278Q triple 27” 1920x1080
Case Antec P180
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650W
Software Windows 8 Pro 64bit
#11
I have a Core 2 Quad Q6600 on a Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R motherboard that can supports both DDR2 and DDR3. I was thinking of buying some DDR3 now and running it through its paces to see how I like it. The added benefit of that is I can just install the DDR3 in an X58 board when they become available and hit the ground running with a Core i7 920.

I’ve been second guessing this move for a lot of reasons but I’m fairly sure I’ll be going through with it when the hardware ships,…just as long as retailers don’t jack up the price of the hardware’s MSRP too much.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#12
I dont see the problem with the voltage? I mean sheesh im running DDR400 at 2.7v :laugh: I dont see the problem with ram thats capable of 1333 at 1.8. Most of the people complaining about high voltages probably wont even get the new Bloomfield anyways.
A 1 gig 1333MHz stick (bottom of the barrel DDR3 speed) at 1.8V is 0.3V higher then JEDEC of 1.5V. 4Gigs of DDR2 1066MHz ram at 2.0V which is 0.2V higher then JEDEC of 1.8V. How is this innovation? Why would anyone spend their money on this when voltage requirements from JEDEC are higher then DDR2? This is just one reason why DDR3 hasn't taken off.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#13
surely the LED lights contribute to this needing more voltage?
 

_jM

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
1,453 (0.42/day)
Likes
167
Location
Ocala,FL
System Name The money pit v.2 (v.1 is the wife!)
Processor Core2Quad-Q9550@3.9ghz/1860mhzFSB @1.344v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus II Formula = best damn P45 OCer out there!
Cooling CoolerMster V8-- Custom WC system on the way! =]
Memory 8GB DOMINATORS @1100mhz 5-5-5-18
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 280
Storage 150GB WesternDigital Velociraptor OS Drive/1 WD 500AAKS for Storage
Display(s) SAMSUNG 2243SWX 22" LCD
Case Cooler Master Cosmos S w/custom lighting and cable management
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium (Fatality edition) - paired with RAZER Barracuda's
Power Supply CORSAIR HX1000W modular PSU
Software Windows 7 RC 7100--eats vista for breakfast lunch and dinner!
Benchmark Scores Coming to a theater near you!
#14
damn... more space ship lights huh? i liked my tracers for about a week and then they just bugged me to death.
I agree.. hell i got tired of the LEDs in my OCZ ram cooler so i cut the leads to the LEDs.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
211 (0.06/day)
Likes
62
Location
Orange County, Southern California
System Name AEROPLEX rev. 4.5
Processor Intel Core i7 4820K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Dark
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) G.Skill DDR3 2200MHz CL9 (F3-17600CL9D-8GBXLD)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC
Storage Mushkin Scorpion Deluxe 240GB PCI-E 3.0 SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung Curved 1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02
Power Supply SilverStone Strider 1500W
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
You guys need to chill about the "memory needs to be under 1.65v," because look what I found out:

I just received news from Micron's engineering department that they're still finalizing the specs of the Ballistix Tracer DDR3 modules for the X58 platform. This means that we will see even more Ballistix later down the line, once Intel finalizes the specs:




by the way, here's a sneak peek of the modules running in dual channel. courtesy of K404 at the XtremeSystems forums. ;)

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,252 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,825
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#16
LEDs look cool for the case modder, but if your into overclocking the Regular Ballistix i believe do clock higher because of the less voltage required, and also LEDs do warm up, as on my Current Machine I had tracers and they burned the Ramslot Plastic where it changed Color (ground effect lights) the ramslots were green but you can see purple spots in the slots where the LEDs were positioned.