• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

LG Flatron W2361V Blurring when in motion ?

Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#1
Ok I recently bought this 23" LG 1080p monitor and although initially happy with its size and image clarity on static images I did notice some blurring when gaming. I wrote it off as having to adjust from my smaller CRT screen but alas it seems it is really bothering me now. When I camera pan in a game it just blurs everything in motion apart from the game character/object being controlled. It's the horizontal motion predominantly as opposed to vertical that is affected the most.

I have tried -

VGA Cable
DVI-d Cable
Turning off the monitors RTC - Response Time Compensation
Using ATI LCD Overdrive ( had no effect)


Nothing has worked so far:(


It's that bad, I feel I had a better gaming experience with my old 17"CRT. At least when you moved the image held its resolution :( This new monitor looks fine when static images are displayed but thats no good for gaming is it??

Any ideas or any help from anybody would be much appreciated :)
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#2
how many games did you try, Might be specificaly related to one game?

does it blur in movies as well?


dont really have much expiriance in this department, but i thort those questions might help.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#3
I have tried ALOT of games and it's not exclusive to any one of them,it is also made worse when the game has motion blur built into so I have tried turning that off and it still remains. With movies it does blur on the faster action sequences especially with panning and horizontal movement.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.42/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#5
Very odd as it has apparently got a 2ms response time,which is pretty good.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#6
Very odd as it has apparently got a 2ms response time,which is pretty good.
Exactly:mad: It's very annoying and starting to hurt my eyes as I try to adjust my focus even though it's the monitor that is causing the blur. I have had LCD monitors in the past and i dont remember having this issue with them. I'm at a loss really and need to sort it as i love my games :)
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#7
i dont think this is somthing that HDMI would fix, especialy if DVI dosnt fix it.


HDMI is really just DVI + Audio.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#9
Maybe a dumb question but are you sure you have it set at its optimal resolution and refresh rate ? :confused:
Yep 1920x1080 @60........um, looks like I'm going to have to return this thing doesn't it? Gutted as its so nice having a bigger wider screen but smoothness in gaming is a must for me.

Just hooked the CRT back up and although colour, size and sharpness suffers.....movement of images is flawless and crystal clear.

How much is it for a widescreen CRT with a higher res than 1280x1024?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,018
#10
Yep 1920x1080 @60........um, looks like I'm going to have to return this thing doesn't it? Gutted as its so nice having a bigger wider screen but smoothness in gaming is a must for me.

Just hooked the CRT back up and although colour, size and sharpness suffers.....movement of images is flawless and crystal clear.

How much is it for a widescreen CRT with a higher res than 1280x1024?
Just get another LCD could be a one off issue, I wouldnt recommend buying a CRT, for starters you cant buy them new anyway so you will have no warranty and I dont think there are any widescreen CRT monitors. As I said if it is a problem its just one of those things, try again and see how you go
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,954 (1.04/day)
Likes
936
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#11
Hi!

Return it and try to get a new good one.
I have the very same monitor running on Full-HD with DVI and I have no blur whatsoever.
So it must some problem with the monitor's refresh rate.

CRT widescreen monitors must be very expensive and hard to get (if there are any existing).

If it helps, I'm running my setup with Catalyst like this:
Resolution - 1920x1080 @ 60Hz
3D Refresh Override - Off
GPU Scaling - Off
Reduce DVI frequency on high-res displays - Off
Alternate DVI operational mode - Off
AVIVO - Default
HDTV Support - Default (nothing selected)
LCD Override - Off
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#12
Hi!

Return it and try to get a new good one.
I have the very same monitor running on Full-HD with DVI and I have no blur whatsoever.
So it must some problem with the monitor's refresh rate.

CRT widescreen monitors must be very expensive and hard to get (if there are any existing).

If it helps, I'm running my setup with Catalyst like this:
Resolution - 1920x1080 @ 60Hz
3D Refresh Override - Off
GPU Scaling - Off
Reduce DVI frequency on high-res displays - Off
Alternate DVI operational mode - Off
AVIVO - Default
HDTV Support - Default (nothing selected)
LCD Override - Off
Where is the 3D refresh override option? How is your screen connected - vga, dvi or hdmi?

Also, could you look in your service menu and see the information it tells you as that would be a great help - turn monitor off, hold the menu button and turn monitor back on whilst still holding the menu key.

Let me know what it says, thanks :)
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,954 (1.04/day)
Likes
936
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#13
My screen is connected via DVI.

The 3D refresh override option is in the Display Options in the Catalyst.

My Service Menu reports the following:

CLEAR ETI > NO
AUTO COLOR > NO
AGING > OFF
PANEL > LGD230 1080
NVRAM INIT > NO
HPD TIME > 500

The rest is the version of the screen, I guess, which is 2.00, and below are the color attributes...nothing there interesting...

I forgot to say I installed the forte Manager and the display drivers form the LG website...although I didn't notice any difference after I installed the drivers. You should try it, if you haven't already.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,663 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,244
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#14
Ok I recently bought this 23" LG 1080p monitor and although initially happy with its size and image clarity on static images I did notice some blurring when gaming. I wrote it off as having to adjust from my smaller CRT screen but alas it seems it is really bothering me now. When I camera pan in a game it just blurs everything in motion apart from the game character/object being controlled. It's the horizontal motion predominantly as opposed to vertical that is affected the most.

I have tried -

VGA Cable
DVI-d Cable
Turning off the monitors RTC - Response Time Compensation
Using ATI LCD Overdrive ( had no effect)


Nothing has worked so far:(


It's that bad, I feel I had a better gaming experience with my old 17"CRT. At least when you moved the image held its resolution :( This new monitor looks fine when static images are displayed but thats no good for gaming is it??

Any ideas or any help from anybody would be much appreciated :)
Unfortunately, there's nothing you can do. It's the basic nature of LCDs to do this, regardless that other people on here think they don't see it. It's because of their sample-and-hold characteristic, rather than the instantaneous illumination characteristic of a scanning dot that a CRT uses. At least they don't flicker annoyingly like CRTs :) (Even a CRT run at 100Hz flickers and even though you can't detect it consciously, you still get eyestrain from it).

It doesn't matter how low the millisecond response rate is, you still get it; just a bit less with some monitors and less still if run at 120Hz.

The only way to currently get rid of it, is to use an LCD monitor with nvidia's 3D Vision turned on. The 3D glasses completely eliminate the blurring and ghosting (due to their shutter operation) and the performance then is as good as a CRT, or better.

I know all this, because I've got 3D Vision, came across the same problem and investigated it. Needless to say, I'm very disappointed. LCD displays are a big backwards step in this respect.

In this one respect, CRTs are vastly superior and is why I've kept several old CRTs just for gaming, since they're not being made any more.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
2,954 (1.04/day)
Likes
936
Location
Portugal
System Name _JP_'s Daily Driver
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-C12P SE14 + NM-AM4 + NF-P14r
Memory 2x 8GB G.Skill Trident Z (F4-3200C16D-16GTZB)(Hynix)
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 280X Gaming
Storage HyperX Savage 240GB + KC300 240GB + 750EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2361V 23'' FHD
Case NOX Blaze
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Microsoft Comfort Mouse 4500
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard (PS/2)
Software Windows 10 x86-64 (1703)
#15
I kinda noticed something in the beginning...but I rarely notice any blur now.

I used a 17'' CRT for 8 years and when I switched to LCDs it was different, but the slight blur i saw, I though it was natural and that it came with the technology...so I ignored it...since almost all LCDs I use do this...

In fact I noticed it more in my LG screen than in my laptop screen. I really cannot see any blur there.

Actually I am having more trouble getting the contrast/brightness right, with the LCD screens.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#17
One more thing, my monitor keeps reverting to 59HZ rather than 60HZ, I'm on Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit. Any fix for this as it seems to always revert straight away after I have just tried to change it?
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,663 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,244
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#18
One more thing, my monitor keeps reverting to 59HZ rather than 60HZ, I'm on Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit. Any fix for this as it seems to always revert straight away after I have just tried to change it?
That's definitely a driver issue. I don't really know why it's doing it unfortunately, but have you got the latest driver and Windows patches on? Latest chipset drivers too, but in my experience, they don't make all that much difference. Computer usually works the same even without them.

I came across this forum post googling while writing this post, which might have the answer:

http://www.overclock.net/windows/515256-windows-7-59hz-60hz-workaround-fix.html
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
1,172 (0.31/day)
Likes
148
Location
UK
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 3.40GHz (400x8.5)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Rev 1.1
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Memory 2x Crucial Ballistix DDR2 2GB 4:5 @ 500MHz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 560Ti 1GB TOP Edition
Storage Crucial M4 128GB SSD + WD Black 500GB WD5001AALS
Display(s) Samsung P2370HD @ 1920x1080 60Hz
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24-bit w/ Creative Inspire T6060 5.1 200W
Power Supply CoolerMaster Silent Pro Gold 600w
Software Windows 7 Professional Edition SP1 64-bit
#20
thanks for this - been looking at LG 23" monitors too, not sure if this is something specific about LG monitors?

i base that on the fact that ive used a HannsG 19" LCD that worked fine . also used a Samsung 40" LCD that never blurred.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,135
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#21
Have you looked at any other LCD monitors in shops to see if it's you or the monitor? I did have a LCD monitor once that was defective and had excessive ghosting, so it could be that.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2008
Messages
2,563 (0.73/day)
Likes
396
Location
Kettering,Northants. UK
System Name Crap System
#22
UPDATE

Ok so I returned the LG and downgraded resolution to 1680x1050 with a 20" DELL monitor. Pleased to report that the blurring is a non issue now so either something was up with the monitor or the size of the display was emphasizing the effect caused by LCD's (relative to how close I am sitting to it)

Also because it's only a 20", 1680x1050 looks just as pin sharp to me in games as the higher resolution monitor looked so I really don't feel like I'm losing out.

I'm probably now looking to sell my HD 4870X2 and get a nice HD 5770 for this resolution. Any suggestions on a very quiet, high performing edition of this card would be greatly appreciated :)
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,663 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,244
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#23
I wouldn't downgrade your graphics card, because games become ever more demanding, unless you really want DX11 capability for the handful of games that support it... which will likely run with a poor frame rate on a 5770 (remember 60fps is the minimum you need for smooth gameplay). Also, there's always cases where tough scenes in a games will render slowly even at a lower resolution, so you can never have too much CPU & GPU power in your rig when it comes to games. It's probably a good idea to stretch for a 5870, if you can afford it.

Also, I'm curious why the motion blur has become a non-issue for you, as all LCDs do it to some extent or other?

I agree that the lower resolution will look just fine too - it did on my Samsung 2233RZ at 1680x1050.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#24
To bad you change for smaller screen , i wouldn't do that...

Anyways my first one i bought was 23".6 Asus & the letters was never clear no matter what i did , i exchange for a 24" Samsung (only $15.xx more) & this one is great sharp , clear & really nice colors

Samsung is the way to go now in LCD they make good quality screen

One thing that people didn't mention since you only had problem with games is that , did you tried turning V-Sync on or off in your games?

But i guess it is to late for that now...:ohwell: