• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

LG Monitor White Screen

Status
Not open for further replies.

yincloud

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have a LG Flatron E2340T with a white Screen.
When I turn it on it flashes once and then shows white screen, sometimes monitor does work, but thats random - sometimes when I turn it on, sometimes when its on for a while.
My PC detects that monitor when I plug it.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,637
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#3
fixing an LCD screen is not an exact science. Check for leaky or bloated caps or obvious stuff overheating. You could try a new Decon board or main board but there is no guarantee. Obviously the back light works

I have the W2340V
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.68/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#4
Post your system specs. Could be a GPU problem. Try the monitor on another computer.
 

yincloud

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
Post your system specs. Could be a GPU problem. Try the monitor on another computer.
Its not a PC related problem, since the monitor worked from time to time and when I unplug DVI cable its still displays white picture, monitor doesnt show that its disconnected.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,314 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,723
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#6
I thought LG LCD's were warranted for 3 years ?.. Unless it is passed that time just thought i say..

And still should try the LCD on another system.
 

yincloud

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#7
I thought LG LCD's were warranted for 3 years ?.. Unless it is passed that time just thought i say..

And still should try the LCD on another system.
I have tried monitor on different systems before and result is the same.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,880 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,413
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#8
Then it's time to open it up and see if you can find some damage. As Jetser said: "Check for leaky or bloated caps or obvious stuff overheating."
 

yincloud

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#9
Then it's time to open it up and see if you can find some damage. As Jetser said: "Check for leaky or bloated caps or obvious stuff overheating."
I would do that but this monitor doesnt have any screws...

 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
494 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
Location
Hesperus IV
System Name Salvaged
Processor AMD Phenom II X6, 1055T
Motherboard MSI (cant remember model..)
Cooling Antec Kühler + extra fans (Antec, Zalman, Coolermaster, Generic brand)
Memory 8Gb (2 x 4Gb)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD6870
Storage Samsung 1TB, 320 Seagate, 250 Samsung
Display(s) LG Electronics
Case ANTEC Sonata III 500 (found/salvaged + modified)
Audio Device(s) 8Ch + Harman Kardon 2.1 (modified, electronics in JVC wood speakers)
Power Supply It's made in Denmark, never seen a PSU made there..
Software Win7 X64 Ultimate
#10
Hi, I have the same brand, but different model (E2250T). If I recall correctly, you have to pry open the sides. Just be careful, because without the proper tools, it's easy to "slip" and damage the components on the inside.

Do not ever use metal objects, such as a screwdriver when trying to pry it open - it can damage the entire screen if it slips!

My stand is different also, so I can't verify if your screen shall be opened up the same way (I have a front bezel on the screen that needs to be removed first).

If you search the net (Google?), I think you might even find your own service manual, but be careful, many crap links can be found leading to a 'dead end'.

Also, how is the inverter for the screen? I had to get a new one, since the first one was broken - I bought mine second hand however.


I'll try and see if I can find my Service Manual again, but I think your screen opens up the same way as mine..
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#11
The last time this happened at work, a white screen was caused by a member of staff putting a van der graaf generator next to the pc and monitor. Then again, i assume you dont have one of those lying around?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,637
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#12
O it comes apart. Take a screwdriver and put tape over the end and try to work your way around the bezel. Thats if your dont see any plugs where screws may be
 

yincloud

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#13
Hi, I have the same brand, but different model (E2250T). If I recall correctly, you have to pry open the sides. Just be careful, because without the proper tools, it's easy to "slip" and damage the components on the inside.

Do not ever use metal objects, such as a screwdriver when trying to pry it open - it can damage the entire screen if it slips!

My stand is different also, so I can't verify if your screen shall be opened up the same way (I have a front bezel on the screen that needs to be removed first).

If you search the net (Google?), I think you might even find your own service manual, but be careful, many crap links can be found leading to a 'dead end'.

Also, how is the inverter for the screen? I had to get a new one, since the first one was broken - I bought mine second hand however.


I'll try and see if I can find my Service Manual again, but I think your screen opens up the same way as mine..
What can I even use to pry open my monitor other than a screw driver?

The last time this happened at work, a white screen was caused by a member of staff putting a van der graaf generator next to the pc and monitor. Then again, i assume you dont have one of those lying around?
No, I don't. The first time I got a white screen was after it was turned off for about ~8 hours, It started to work again by pressing down the side of the monitor.

EDIT: Soo just now after pressing down random spots again on my monitor it started to work again, but im sure its temporary since I got the monitor working like this few times already.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,293 (0.39/day)
Likes
570
Processor 3930K
Motherboard Asus X79 DELUXE
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB 2133 G skillz
Video Card(s) Asus 2 X 780TI DCII OC
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
#14
Open the monitor up after unplugging the power cord, you can use your fingernails if there not naweded off.
after you have opened it clean any dust out of it, re seat all ribbon cables. if you can see the inverter board and PSU check the caps.carefully for leakage. you may need to use a manifying glass to examine the top and bottum of the caps. After re seating all connectors, with out closing it up, plug it in see if its working now. Make sure NOT to touch the boards inside the monitor while it has power.
if it works close it up. if not you will need to replace something inside of it, or dump it on Flee Bay and get a new one........
goOd luck!!!
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
750 (0.41/day)
Likes
430
System Name Chaos
Processor Intel Core i5 4590K @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower MAX AC
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i30 + MX4
Memory 2x4 GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2400 GT/s CL11
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor X, 800/1400 @ 1.075V/1.45V
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD + 1 TB WD Green (Idle timer off) + 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Dell U2515H
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-380GB
Mouse CM Storm Recon
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro (MX Red)
#15
White screen = TFT matrix in off (default) position + pure backlight on full blast. This can only mean one thing, since your PC detects (via plug n play) your monitor: your flat/ribbon cable, going from the MCU board to the panel has come out of the connector. Once you properly re-seat it, your monitor should spring back to life. There is a minor chance that something else is wrong in addition to this, but try reconnecting the ribbon cable first, then if it doesn't help, post pictures of the inverter/power board and the MCU board, so that we may help further.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#16
^+1 Above. Also, open the monitor chassis with a credit card like thing. That won't cause any damage. :)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
494 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
Location
Hesperus IV
System Name Salvaged
Processor AMD Phenom II X6, 1055T
Motherboard MSI (cant remember model..)
Cooling Antec Kühler + extra fans (Antec, Zalman, Coolermaster, Generic brand)
Memory 8Gb (2 x 4Gb)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD6870
Storage Samsung 1TB, 320 Seagate, 250 Samsung
Display(s) LG Electronics
Case ANTEC Sonata III 500 (found/salvaged + modified)
Audio Device(s) 8Ch + Harman Kardon 2.1 (modified, electronics in JVC wood speakers)
Power Supply It's made in Denmark, never seen a PSU made there..
Software Win7 X64 Ultimate
#17
What can I even use to pry open my monitor other than a screw driver?



No, I don't. The first time I got a white screen was after it was turned off for about ~8 hours, It started to work again by pressing down the side of the monitor.

EDIT: Soo just now after pressing down random spots again on my monitor it started to work again, but im sure its temporary since I got the monitor working like this few times already.
I used a plectrum actually.. But as an other member said, even a credit card or similar might work. Mine was not glued, had a double adhesive tape. However, when you start to get some sides up, perhaps you could use, as said by another forum member, a screwdriver with tape covering the edge.

Just be careful.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.33/day)
Likes
153
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
#18
I have seen the same issue in a few laptops and it was the LCD panel had failed. But check all the capacitors and connections first. If that doesnt work you must be able to get a cheap replacement panel off of ebay once you get the model number of the panel.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#20
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#22
Just to double check, open all the connectors, clean the PCB with Iso-propyl alcohol and reconnect all cables.
 

yincloud

New Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
9 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#23
Yeah, it looks like the the white thin cable was disconnected, I couldn't notice it at first cause it was covered by that duck tape and I was hesitant to remove the tape.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.49/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#24
All the best then. :)
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#25
check the circuitry connected to the LCD matrix. something is wrong there. might be loose connections since you say that its working once or twice.

black tape doesnt necessarily mean someone had opened it before, many companies use tape and glue nowadays to keep assembling costs down and assembling time down.

those tapes are specially coated with carbon/something to form a sort of seal from electric fields. so its a good idea to keep the tapes and reuse them again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.