1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lines appear above text when scrolling, or when anything is moved on screen.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by improcerous, Jul 12, 2017.

  1. improcerous

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,918 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Looks like ghosting
     
    DeathtoGnomes says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    5,917 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,158
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Looks the same for me on iphone too....but i cant get a screenshot while scrolling
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  4. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,172 (10.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,116
    Always been like this or did it just start? Could just be that it's old.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,971 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,945
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Well, sadly, you told us absolutely nothing about this device. Could be a tablet or smart phone - who knows. With the airplane icon, I can only assume it is not a notebook. We also don't know how long this has been going on, as erocker noted.

    At this point all I can suggest is to reboot and see what happens.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. improcerous

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Its my desktop. I took the picture with my phone. Sorry for not making this clear.
     
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,313 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,134
    I used to have the same problem till I moved on to a 144Hz monitor... Now it's smooth as budder ;)
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,079 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,845
    Location:
    Rochester area
    bad vga cable would be my first guess
     
  9. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,971 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,945
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Cables don't just go bad though they can be physically damaged, or come loose losing contact or allow dirt between the contacts.

    I would try a different monitor and see if the problem appears there too. If it does, the problem is in the computer. If not, the problem was with the old monitor. If you don't have another monitor, most modern TVs support computer inputs.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. improcerous

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Messages:
    10 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is a TV, running from a VGA Input because the VGA TO HDMI converter wouldn’t work. I’ll see if I can find a different cable and see if it fixes it.
     
  11. opojare New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Messages:
    9 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Try enable or disable smooth-scrolling and hardware-acceleration in browser setting if its have any effect?
     
  12. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,644 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,126
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    My 4k monitor "glitches" like this too, I always assumed it was because of an older gpu... Didn't have 4k when I bought it lol... idk?
     
  13. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,971 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,945
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Did it ever look right/work correctly?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. vega22

    vega22

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,321 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    610
    i would check the tv settings. it should have a setting which works with the analogue input better than that.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Norton

    Norton Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11,925 (5.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34,115
    Location:
    USA
    Is the problem happening to the system listed in your System Specs?

    [​IMG]




    If so, it's likely normal since that video card isn't very powerful- running 1920x1080 is a pretty tall order for it
     
    P4-630 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar There is Always Moar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7,079 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,845
    Location:
    Rochester area
    the 8500gt is more then capable of displaying a webpage at 1080p ....
     
  17. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,971 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,945
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Huh? Sorry, but no it isn't.

    The 8500GT can support 1920 x 1200 and even 2560 x 1600 via dual link DVI. And up to and including 2048 x 1536 at 85hz in analog mode.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,692 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,156
    Location:
    Rīga, Latvia
    It is the G86. It is the affected GPU from the nvidia failure gate... not only mobiles were affected, desktops too, only those were better cooled thus they have survived longer.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,971 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,945
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    That depends on who you listen too. There were lots of reports of problems but all those reports trace back to the same The Inquirer article. NVIDIA denies it affects desktops and instead claimed it only affected certain notebook configurations. And Ars Technica could not find any evidence to suggest NVIDIA was not correct. If it really was the problem The Inquirer claimed, it would have been independently verified by other sources.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,692 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,156
    Location:
    Rīga, Latvia
    Bill, the amount of those chips I had to replace during that era is really BS?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,926 (9.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,476
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    its just ghosting/motion blur, a lot of TV's suffer from that (i assume this is from the TV in his specs)

    even my 4k samsung had it until i tuned it in.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Komshija

    Komshija

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    561 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    Croatia
    Try different cable, make sure that everything is connected properly and that connectors are clean. If you overclocked your monitor to a higher refresh rate, put it back to factory/stock.
    I had a flickering issue because I modified a few things and thus created issues with my previous Crimson driver. I fixed the problem by installing other GPU driver. I'm not saying that GPU driver is causing your problems, but trying another driver and preforming a clean (driver) install wouldn't hurt.
     
  23. Bill_Bright

    Bill_Bright

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,971 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,945
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    If you worked in the service center of a Toyota dealer, you might get the impression Toyotas are lousy cars because you see nothing but broken down Toyotas all day. Just because you saw a lot of bad chips, that does not imply all boards/cards using those chips needed replacing.

    I am not denying there was a problem. I am just saying there was only one report (by The Inquirer) that went viral blowing the problem way out of proportion. If it was really as bad and widespread as The Inquirer (and apparently you) want us to believe, other IT press sources would have verified it, instead of just repeating what one source said.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,692 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,156
    Location:
    Rīga, Latvia
    I am not an official for PC hardware repair, I take requests from friends and and their friends often. It was a plague.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,899 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,705
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    IF it was an Exaggerated Problem Stemming from one press Source as you say
    Then how come Nvidia issued itself and through its partners a replacement/repair program
    Apple as one of Nvidia partners were Authorised to Repair/replace out of warranty Problem cards

    Obligatory google ref
    https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=N...t=firefox-b&gfe_rd=cr&ei=BuFsWdSMGpLVXrm1rdAF
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)