• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Linux Internet Servers Block Out Vista Users in Sweden

Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#1
Some Internet service providers (ISPs) in Europe use Linux machines to distribute service. A small-town company in Sweden did just that. However, this led to a problem when the servers met Windows Vista customers. The ISP blames a bug in Windows Vista for the inability of Vista users to connect to the internet (possibly related to Vista sending out Internet Packet requests in IPv4 and IPv6 at the same time?).

Microsoft says they would probably be able to fix the problem if Lund officials would get in touch with them.

Source: The Inquirer
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,732 (6.36/day)
Likes
7,645
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#2
lol leave it to microsoft :roll:


though i bet the ISP has not updated software which lead to this problem as well
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
1,455 (0.33/day)
Likes
43
Location
The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
Processor custom dupont risk chip cpu prototype
Motherboard custom ibm x5 solid state carbon mainboard
Cooling industrial technologies prototype dupont custom heat transfer unit
Memory 6x 2gig prototype ecc hnc ddr4
Video Card(s) prototype low energy version nvidia 9 series unnumberd card
Storage 1tb solid state hdd
Display(s) 44 inch samsung plasma screen tv/monitor
Case custom ibm mobile home server case
Audio Device(s) custom Yamaha sound processing processor in spm format
Power Supply 1200watt deli cord custom made dupont type psu
Software sun unix/windows type v
#3
though i bet the ISP has not updated software which lead to this problem as well
it isn't up to the company to make sure new software is compatible with their hardware its upto M$ to make sure their software is legacy software compatible, if i were the isp i wouldn't assist M$ one bit because no doubt the problem is down to M$ trying to force a new software for purchase on the isp to make the M$ software compatible, if the shoe was on the other foot M$ wouldn't care because customer demand would force them to pay M$ for the assistance to upgrade their hardware or software.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.57/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#4
Uhm...fix it anyway?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.89/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#5
it isn't up to the company to make sure new software is compatible with their hardware its upto M$ to make sure their software is legacy software compatible, if i were the isp i wouldn't assist M$ one bit because no doubt the problem is down to M$ trying to force a new software for purchase on the isp to make the M$ software compatible, if the shoe was on the other foot M$ wouldn't care because customer demand would force them to pay M$ for the assistance to upgrade their hardware or software.
I'm right there with you... Microsoft plays that game where they make everything only run right for them.... So you have vista too ****in bad. Call Microsoft customer service!

Down with the evil!

Heh I should write my websites to send you to an error screen if you run vista :)
Not really but....
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2006
Messages
100 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
System Name Hell PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4820k @ 4'50GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X79-UD3 BIOS F17
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 4x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 770 Direct CU II @ 1306/3746
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SATA III, Seagate 1'5TB SATA II, Seagate 2TB SATA III
Display(s) Acer V243HAObd
Case Thermaltake Overseer RX-1
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC898 HD 7.1
Power Supply Nox Pulsar Blue 750w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 x64
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Ice Storm: 176205 3Dmark Cloud Gate: 25357 3Dmark Fire Strike: 7760
#6
Actually, if a company provides the ISP service, and it is unable to serve Vista customers, it's a problem of the company, for not having tested it, or not warning that untested software could behave this way. And having up to date servers is also their trouble, not the customers or Microsoft one (specially when the servers don't use Microsoft software). Just bashing Microsoft for every thing that happens is just sad...
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.89/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#7
Actually, if a company provides the ISP service, and it is unable to serve Vista customers, it's a problem of the company, for not having tested it, or not warning that untested software could behave this way. And having up to date servers is also their trouble, not the customers or Microsoft one (specially when the servers don't use Microsoft software). Just bashing Microsoft for every thing that happens is just sad...
No its Microsofts problem for not writing legacy code.... This is a standard and its not one Microsoft follows... Remember is their stupid asses that said ".NET" is the international standard and walked out of an international meeting about writing standards....

What a joke... Not blaming Microsoft, it's their own fault and they know it as well as anyone else.


*********
Besides one of the biggest thing I see major love to get it in the rear by Microsoft guys say is-
Well its in the terms of agreement that blah blah blah blah

Well the ISP has their Terms of Agreement also which states not guaranteed service and check to make sure "your" system is compatible.
*So on their side its the customers problem*
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.07/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#8
I love how you're yelling at Microsoft for not having backwards-compatible stuff, when being backwards-compatible is the only reason they haven't completely scrapped Windows and started something new.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,689 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,362
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#9
I'll bet my left eye that sever 2003 is also affected then:eek::confused::eek:
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.89/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10
I'll bet my left eye that sever 2003 is also affected then:eek::confused::eek:
Probably not.... Microsoft generally writes their server software correctly *minus .Net* simply because big corporations would "sue" the crap out of them if they didn't.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,689 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,362
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#11
I'm not 4 sure but doesnt server 2003 use IPv4 and IPv6 ? I actually thought thats where it was first.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#12
Hahaha. WEll and truely deserving of dilligaf. :D
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
Just another example of Linux Bigotry!

These people are like termites, eating their way thru the Internet infrastructure and even society itself.

And the really sad thing is that they seem to think that their beloved OS is SO GREAT that everyone should be using it!

Well, which of the 2,000+ versions of Linux are they harping about now?

LMFAO

VV
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,419 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,556
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
No its Microsofts problem for not writing legacy code.... This is a standard and its not one Microsoft follows... Remember is their stupid asses that said ".NET" is the international standard and walked out of an international meeting about writing standards....

What a joke... Not blaming Microsoft, it's their own fault and they know it as well as anyone else.
The problem most likely comes down to the fact that Vista uses IPv6 and sends requests out in IPv6 AND IPv4. IPv6 is not a Microsoft standard, Microsoft is providing backwards compatibility by still including IPv4 support.

The fault is the IPS's. Their servers should be updated to work with IPv6, an International NON-MICRSOFT standard.

I'm not 4 sure but doesnt server 2003 use IPv4 and IPv6 ? I actually thought thats where it was first.
IPv6 is available in Server 2003, but not by default. So it is probably only affect if you enable IPv6 support, which most do not do. Sever 2008 is probably affect though, as it uses the same TCP/IP stack as Vista.